We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed almost everywhere in Glacier. This is the best!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Great Northern Resort
Certificate of Excellence
De Witt Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Stayed almost everywhere in Glacier. This is the best!”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

My family lived in Conrad Mt which is not far from the park...and we have been to Glacier many many times( can never get enough of paradise). We've stayed at great northern twice and it has been my favorite place to stay in Glacier. Not only does it give you that comforting cabin feel, but it is also modern! Most places in Glacier are not all that modern. YOU WILL LOVE IT! Great location great rafting AMAZING cabin!. Bring your family they will love it! There is also a big hot tub for those cold days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IowaLeanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    31
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
110
42
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kongens Lyngby, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

stayed here on 7th Oct 2011. got the 2 Bears cabin. We reached there later than the pre-arranged time with the owner. Was surprised that the owner was not around, however, she stuck the key and a note to the cabin on the office door. But she came to the cabin around the evening and checked out on us and gave us some info of the area. Coz the resort was away from the village.

The cabin was great. however the cooking utensils were not that great. there was a man-made fireplace in the cabin and it was awesome coz that day was raining and it was really cold. with the fireplace it warmed up the entire cabin.

In the morn, we woke up to a terrific scenery outside the cabin.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gin_st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

I believe this was either the third or fourth time staying at this property. The difference this time though was a change in ownership.

Starting with our arrival, when we got there at 700PM on a Friday night in late August, no one was available to check us in. Thank goodness our daughter was ahead of us or we could not have gotten into the room. Next, when I followed the instructions for contacting the night person (to get a key), there was no one on the property.

The following day, we had no maid service or even my garbage taken out. Again, when I followed the process, no one one from management was available.

The following day, I again tried to contact the owner and they were still not available - I was told by a very junior person from the whitewater company that the owner had approved giving us complimentary glass of whiskey from their distillery. Since I don't drink whiskey this was a rather empty apology for never being available or providing the service they had charged for.

While the cabin was fine, the ownership is definately not on the property. Additionally, I was quite surprised that I never really got an apology or explanation for why they were never available. Bottom line - for $300 a night, things should work and people should be available

Very disappointed

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jay F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GreatNorthernRaft, Owner at Great Northern Resort, responded to this review, 8 October 2011
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. Our September office hours are 8am to 6pm 7 days a week.

Your daughter checked in during office hours, so had already been given keys to your shared rental cabin.

We had a fill-in housekeeper for one day of your stay who did forget to service your cabin. As soon as we found out what had happened, we offered you a free whitewater rafting trip, as well as a coupon to have a drink at a lovely distillery down the road.

We apologize for your bad experience and will make sure the stay-over incident does not happen again, our guests' comfort is our first priority.

Sincerely,

Great Northern Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

After we stayed at the Glacier run properties in the park we were relieved we had found Great Northern. The cabins while older share no walls so they are completely quiet. Small kitchen was handy for breakfast and we grilled out with our own grill one day after a tired day of hiking. The staff were friendly and there was a campfire, sing a log with s'mores one night. Literally a minute from West Glacier park. We also did the 1/2 day raft trip with dinner. It was great fun and well organized. The food was shockingly amazing.

Highly recommend compared to the more expensive and lower quality hotels/motels in the area and in the park.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

2 Bears cabin was great, plenty of room for 4. The view of the mountains was beautiful. The cabin was very cute and everything was in good shape. Lots of big fluffy bath towels. No problem cooking, kitchen was well equiped. No oven, but the burners worked fine and the gas grill was great. Also had toaster, microwave and coffee pot. It was quiet and relaxing. The train and street noise were minimal. Stop in Columbia Falls to grocery shop. The closer store in Hungry Horse is very limited.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank shaoyang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
2.1 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
354 reviews
2.2 km away
Belton Chalet
Belton Chalet
#3 of 6 in West Glacier
327 reviews
26.4 km away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.8 km away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
565 reviews
26.0 km away
The Firebrand Hotel
The Firebrand Hotel
#7 of 17 in Whitefish
144 reviews
0.7 km away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around West Glacier

Been to Great Northern Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Northern Resort

Property: Great Northern Resort
Address: 12127 Highway 2 East, West Glacier, MT 59936
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 Speciality Lodging in West Glacier
Price range (per night): $216 - $559
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Great Northern Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Great Northern Resort, we offer 5 log cabins in different floorplans and 14 beautiful guest rooms in our brand new lodge, modeled after the Glacier Park Chalets. We aim to provide the perfect base camp for exploring the beautiful Glacier National Park. Enhance the quality of your Montana adventure vacation by staying in a custom made log cabin designed especially for you, or enjoying the shade on the wrap around deck on our lodge! Resort activities include whitewater rafting trips and fishing trips, yoga; as well as inflatable paddle board, inflatable kayaks and bicycle rentals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Hotels.com so you can book your Great Northern Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Northern Hotel West Glacier
Great Northern Whitewater Hotel
Great Northern Resort West Glacier, Montana

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing