We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been more perfect!”
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Two couples spent the Labor Day Weekend in the 3-bedroomClark Cabin at Belton Chalet, and it couldn't have been more perfect! Comfortable, squeaky clean, coffee maker/refrigerator/mico made having a little breakfast easy. The restaurant was amazing -- Chef Missy is creative and the food delicious! Can't wait to got back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank carolcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
There are newer reviews for Belton Chalet
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

244 - 248 of 335 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

We took our honeymoon at the Belton where we were fortunate to spend a week in the honeymoon suite. The people were friendly and knowledgable about the local area attractions and history. The historic nature of the hotel was what we were looking for and we were not disappointed. The way that the original feel of the hotel has been maintained, while including necessary modern amenities (like heat and running water) was wonderful.
It was wonderful to be so close to Glacier National Park as well.
If you are from a warmer climate (we are from New Mexico) a jacket may be necessary for the evenings which were pleasantly chilly even in mid-July.
There is a train station across the road from the hotel so trains do come through at all hours but we found that they did not really intrude on our overall experience.
The restaurant asociated with the hotel is wonderful. While not the cheapest place in town the food is wonderful and we could not avoid stuffing ourselves when we ate there. They also have a wonderful selection of Montana beer and wines for those looking for a tasty beverage with their meal.
We would definitely recommend the Belton Chalet to anyone looking for a get away in this wonderful part of the world!

Room Tip: The honeymoon suite is the biggest room, has a bath and a pvt balcony. Only one other room has a pvt...
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KenwynC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We had a very pleasant two night stay. The room was smallish, but very clean and comfortable. Having a balcony gave us some extra room in terms of seating. It was a great place to sit and enjoy the sunset. Balcony rooms are on the same side as the tracks so you do have the train noise, but we didn't mind. The restaurant was quite good, and the tap room has a nice selection of local brews as well as a full bar. Breakfast is not available, but you can walk to the restaurant next door for a perfectly good breakfast (try the huckleberry french toast). We would definitely recommend the Belton Chalet for people who enjoy historic properties, and can live with a smaller room and without a TV.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlmob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

The room was small and hot, with no temperature control. Shower and bathroom were very small as well. Sink--outside the bathroom--had separate hot and cold taps, and faucets were in need of repair.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Limmson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The chalet was built in the early 1900's so it can be quite noisy. Be prepared to hear your neighbors doing everything . The walls are thin and the room is very small but to be expected with an old built hotel. Everything was very very clean and new inside the 23 rooms. They gaveit a modern country/mountain feel. We stayed at every lodge in the park and this one was our favorite. Right at the edge of West Glacier. It is close to White Water Rafting, Fishing and all the outdoor adventure stuff on Flathead River. The train goes by all through the night but you hardly notice because you will be so exhausted from the thin mountain air. We ate at the restaurant it was amazing. The elk was superb and they had microbrews on tap. Cute, cozy and the best in the park.

Room Tip: Book far in advance before the summer season
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shlvallejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.3 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
364 reviews
36.3 km away
Izaak Walton Inn
Izaak Walton Inn
#1 of 2 in Essex
576 reviews
3.8 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.2 km away
Kandahar Lodge
Kandahar Lodge
#8 of 17 in Whitefish
323 reviews
1.5 km away
Vista Motel
Vista Motel
#4 of 6 in West Glacier
256 reviews
27.9 km away
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
Lodge at Whitefish Lake
#2 of 17 in Whitefish
1,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around West Glacier

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price Range: $219 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing