We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous experience of history”
Review of Belton Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Belton Chalet
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, NC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous experience of history”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I travelled 8,500 miles over 8 weeks this summer and stayed in a wide variety of places. This trip into history was particularly wonderful: A gracious welcome, a room that might have been exactly the same 100 years ago (original wood floors, earth tones, muslin curtains, somewhat spartan in decor), a huge fireplace in the lobby, and table shuffleboard in the family room downstairs. The restaurant offered excellent choices, and the location couldn't have been more convenient - it is directly across the street from the southwest entrance to Glacier. The old train station across the street has been carefully restored and I even loved the sound of the train coming through. Do yourself a favor - stay here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraWilmington_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    100
    34
    21
    11
See reviews for
65
163
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ct
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The room was clean, the bed comfortable, the en-suite bathroom was modern and clean, the towels plush. Although the room was small, it was more than adequate (we were only there for sleeping at night). No tv, no air conditioning (although there was a small table fan), no phone, no internet service, no ATT cell phone service (although I was able to get a signal at the gas station down the street). This was not a great problem since we were in the room only for sleeping at night. Others were using their cellphones, so I assume that there is Verizon or some other service provider. The biggest drawback was the lack of air-conditioning. Our room had two windows, but even opening them at night did not provide cooler air (even though it was cool outside). The restaurant food was great, the best in the area. DON'T MISS: Logan pass,going to the sun road, Many glacier area, St Mary waterfall, and the many hiking trails. They had a late winter this year and many of the trails were still closed because of the snow. WARNING: if the trail is closed, do not venture beyond. While we were there a 30 year old hiker fell some 600 feet to his death when he ventured onto the closed snow bound Grinnell glacier trail. Lots of flora and fauna (we saw black bear, elk, deer, long horn sheep, mountain goat). BE AWARE: we found out the hard way that they close the going to the sun road at 9 pm. We were in east glacier and had to make a two hour detour around the southern park exterior on small, winding, partially unpaved, dark, two lane roads to get back to west glacier and our hotel. Not at all pleasant. We did some ranger led hikes (OK, but not great) and scenic boat tours (St Mary Lake and the lake at Many glacier) that were ok (although overpriced for what you get) as far as the boat trip itself was concerned, but the commercial guides were less than average and not very personable. Unfortunately, the company (Glacier Park boat Co) is the only game in town

Room Tip: Ask for a room in back to minimize the noise from the train station across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nonamect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Nicely restored property with an authentic and rustic feel. No A/C, t.v., radios, or phones - just like it used to be. Comfortable but small rooms. Shower but no tub in room. Quiet time is suggested every night and morning to keep any noise from other guests to a minimum. A little warm in July, but table fans in rooms and lobby made it bearable. No breakfast available on property but coffee and tea are provided in the morning and muffins/breads are available for purchase. Adjoining restaurant and tap room were wonderful in the afternoon and evening. Game room downstairs with ping-pong, shuffle board table, and a small library.

The constant trains were a little noisy at night with the windows open. The train station is across the street with regular freight and Amtrak service. The hotel was originally built along the railroad route in the early 1900's.

The grounds are well maintained with beautiful plants, flowers and trees. Limited parking until after the restaurant clears out. Desk staff were generally very helpful with info about activities available nearby.

Located just 1/2 mile from entrance to National Park.

Limited (slow) wi-fi available near lobby for an additional cost of $5 for two hours. No room service or fitness center. Spa services available with advance reservations.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DennisFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Kim_P340's review posted a couple of days before now has many complaints. Since we stayed in the Honeymoon Suite also, near the same time, and being somewhat disappointed, we can confirm some of the issues she raised:
1. Trains. Definitely can be heard; we think of them as lullabies.
2. Claw-foot Tub. We didn't even try it.
3. Hot water. We had plenty.
4. Private balcony -- we didn't experience people looking in, but perhaps we were just lucky. It was a concern, and not what we expected, either. It did result in our having to completely draw the curtains on one side of the room. A small, unobtrusive sign of "Private" on a small chain wouldn't be too offensive to other guests. As it is, it was an Unpleasant situation.
5. Other Noise. Wasn't a problem to us; we've stayed in enough older hotels that it was expected.
6. Parking lot. While we always found a space, the real problem is the restaurant (adjoining and owned by the same owners). The food, service and staff is simply outstanding, and we even saw the train station's parking lot full. What a problem to have! But, we agree, the hotel needs to do something about the issue.
7. The staff -- everyone was extremely accommodating to us and pleasant.
OVERALL: We're sorry Kim didn't have an enjoyable stay, particularly on her honeymoon. After some 40 years we found the Belton Chalet enjoyable, quaint, with some issues, but far superior to the over-crowded lodges inside Glacier Nat'l Park. We recommend it, with the caveat that "it isn't a Hilton." If we were to return to Glacier we'd probably stay there again -- just not in the Honeymoon Suite.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

STAY AWAY!!! (this is long but very true... we stayed here July 11-16, 2011) My husband and I chose to stay at the Belton Chalet for our honeymoon despite the warnings about the noise from trains. It turned out the trains were the least of our problems. To put this in perspective, we used to live in a one room 250sq ft. cottage with no TV and a semi-outdoor shower with limited hot water so we are not very picky.

1) The bed in our room was sagging in the middle so I rolled towards the middle. I asked Noreen, the manager, to change out our mattress the first morning we were there. After a day of hiking and exploring we came back and had yet another bad night of sleep. The next day, Noreen informed my husband that the bed was flipped as is their policy, even though I requested for it to be switched out and flipping a bed does not help with sagging. She also did not tell me at the time of my request that their policy was to flip the mattress.

2) We woke the first morning around 7:30am to incredible noise from within the hotel. People talking, hairdryers, doors opening and shutting, people walking through the halls. You can hear everything in this place. This was still the first morning we were there so I asked Noreen if there were morning quiet hours, just like the evening quiet hours. She immediately said yes, quiet hours are 10pm to 10am and that she would make it a point to remind guests of that (interesting that it was not mentioned to us when we checked in, only the evening quiet hours were discussed). Five minutes later (around 9am), we were in our room getting ready to head out for the day and who do we hear talking very loudly with guests in the lobby? Noreen! This was a continual issue throughout our stay. Since it seems impossible to maintain quiet until 10am they shouldn't even advertise that and we would have been much happier.

3) The "honeymoon suite" is advertised as having a clawfoot tub, one of the two things that makes it unique from the rest of the rooms. It has a tub but the pipes don't work. We tried turning the faucet knobs in every direction possible but could not get water to run for more than a minute or two. And, the water wasn't even hot. We were told that there was nothing they could do, the pipes were old and we should try turning the faucet knobs in the other direction (already tried that).

4) The other distinguishing feature of the "honeymoon suite" is a private balcony. Twice while making our reservation I asked the woman if the balcony was accessible from our room. And twice, she said yes. It is not. Our room was on the end of the hallway and the door to the shared balcony was also at the end of the hallway, outside of our room. It was not marked as private so we actually had other guests looking through our windows into our room while I was undressing to take a shower.

5) The parking lot is not large enough to accommodate all guests. Several nights we came back and there was no parking available. They informed us that we could leave our car along the side of the hotel and it would be valet parked and the key would be left behind the front desk in the mailboxes (basically little cubbies). This was not an option for us since the night attendant would routinely leave the front desk and the keys unattended to walk around the property looking for bears.

6) My husband was forced to take two cold showers during our five night stay because there was no hot water.

7) One of the amenities that is listed for this hotel is the Terrace Room with ice machines, a lounge area, a balcony, table tennis and shuffleboard. Two nights in a row the Terrace Room was closed to guests because of private events. I don't think that should be listed as an amenity if private events take priority over guest access.

I only spoke to Noreen the first morning. My husband had several conversations with her. She tried to offer free apps and drinks at the restaurant as compensation but he declined. After she spoke with her boss (not sure who that was), we received a letter in our room making excuses for the issues we had discussed. Noreen made no effort to follow up with us to make sure things were okay. In fact, she ignored us every time we walked through the lobby. When we arrived home, we emailed Christie, the general manager, requesting a partial refund in compensation for the disappointing stay and after a long list of excuses, she basically said that "perhaps we chose the wrong hotel for us". It definitely was wrong since we expected to have hot showers, a comfortable mattress, the amenities they advertised and good service!!

P.S. The general manager also said that the parking has been an issue for over a year and they now have a sign up to designate guest parking. Why did it take them a year to do that??? They also now have a sign up indicating that the balcony is private. Obviously something was wrong long before we showed up.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Kim_P340
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West Glacier
0.3 km away
Glacier Guides Lodge
Glacier Guides Lodge
#1 of 6 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
3.8 km away
Village Inn At Apgar
Village Inn At Apgar
#2 of 6 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 km away
Glacier Outdoor Center
Glacier Outdoor Center
#2 of 13 in West Glacier
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
Meadow Lake Resort
Meadow Lake Resort
#1 of 4 in Columbia Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
8.8 km away
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
Silverwolf Log Chalet Resort
#9 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
6.3 km away
The Great Bear Inn
The Great Bear Inn
#5 of 13 in West Glacier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belton Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belton Chalet

Property: Belton Chalet
Address: 12575 Hwy 2 East, PO Box 206, West Glacier, MT 59936
Region: United States > Montana > West Glacier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in West Glacier
Price range (per night): $213 - $373
Hotel Class:3 star — Belton Chalet 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 1910 National Historic Landmark hotel built by James J. and Louis Hill of the Great Northern Railway. After being closed for fifty years, the property underwent a three-year restoration completed in 1999 and is now a National Historic Landmark. The Belton Chalet was the first chalet built for Glacier Park and the park’s first winter headquarters. Belton Chalet, family owned, once again welcomes guest from across the world. Thank you for being our guest and a part of our history. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Belton Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belton Chalet West Glacier, Montana
Belton Chalet Hotel West Glacier

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing