We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD AMBIANCE / ABOVE AVERAGE MEXICAN”
Review of Gran Electrica

Gran Electrica
Ranked #118 of 6,663 Restaurants in Brooklyn
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Mexican food in Dumbo, just next Grimaldi's Pizza
Reviewed 21 May 2018

Gran Electrica had been my go to restaurant for dinner before Theater at near by St Ann’s Warehouse but It’s losing a bit of it’s magic as the competition in the area heats up. I’ve always found the tacos and margaritas a winning combination and deliciously different from the run of the mill so it’s still a solid option if you want Mexican .

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Carolyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2018 via mobile

Noisy, trendy, crowded, yet the staff remains very friendly and smiling.
Delicious South American food, with tasty -hot - new flavors. Try the seafood dishes, they’re out of this world.
Reasonable prices for Dumbo: probably around 30$/head all included.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank jdil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

This place is very small. So small i figured there must be additional seating somewhere. The decor is crisp. Not your typical Mexican restaurant design. Think upscale. The food was not cheap but it was tasty. Guacamole was creamy and flavorful. Caritas and fish tacos also had good flavor. The service was fine. Attentive, unobtrusive and professional. The location is right at the base of the Brooklyn Bridge. But it had a more local vibe. I would not call it a tourist trap by any means. So would I return? I don’t live in New York and it would not merit a return visit, but if I was a local I think this place would be in our regular rotation when we are looking for upscale Mexican fare.

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrGaucho1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018 via mobile

We came in late January being from the neighborhood for the umpteenth time.

Got seated right away, margaritas were delicious and had a selection of tacos.

They never disappoint.

Gracias

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank 206Bennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

The place is nearby the Brooklyn Bridge which is convenient, but the food is ok (don’t expect too much), and the service is ok (we waited 40min at the bar to be sited and had to ask the waitress again since she was placing other group of people before us).

Date of visit: January 2018
Thank Virgile A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gran Electrica also viewed

 

Been to Gran Electrica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing