We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Birthday Surprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 57 Brooklyn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Birthday Surprise”
Reviewed 22 March 2012

My bf and I are really busy with work and school, so he surprised me with a "staycation" at Akwaaba, and I must say, I was very pleasantly surprised! The host was extremely welcoming, (sorry, I'm bad with names) she gave us a nice tour of the property and left her phone number with us in case we had any additional questions. She also took the time to sit with us and go over some of the restaurants in the area. We ended up going to the Italian restaurant around the corner for dinner, don't pay attention to the outside of the restaurant...its nice inside and the food is great! When we came back from dinner, they had the room set up with candles and a warm bubble bath! So Great! The next day, we had a great breakfast with their own Akwaaba tea (comes in different flavors), homemade waffles topped with fresh fruit, scrambled eggs with cheese, and turkey sausage (they do not serve pork or beef). I do love my bacon, but the breakfast was great nonetheless. I could go on and on, but the point is...You need to check this place out! Can't wait to go back in the summer :)

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank triplover11234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    243
    36
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
48
150
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Satellite Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We came up to Brooklyn from Florida to visit our son who lives in the neighborhood. What we came home with was new family from Akwaaba! We will definitely be returning. How could we not... with the ambiance, the relaxed home setting, cozy fireplace in the parlor, homemade cookies and lemonade iced tea, the down to earth people, and certainly the breakfasts! Oh, and the bubble bath jacuzzi in "Jumping The Broom"! :o

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The accommodations were beautiful, the service was impeccable, the food was delicious...it was everything we had hoped for and more!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JillPenaloza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My girlfriend and I recently enjoyed our third stay at Akwaaba, and the home away from home atmosphere keeps us coming back. The staff is always very accomodating of various check in times, and dietary restrictions, and they always welcome us as family every time we stay. We stayed in the "Jumping the Broom" suite this time, and between the beautiful stained glass and the great hot tub, it is by far our favorite room at the Akwaaba so far. The personal touches are beyond compare, and after three stays, we are still in awe at the fact that no matter what time we return in the evening, there is always a candlelit bath at the perfect temperature awaiting us :-). The neighborhood surrounding the Akwaaba is also surprisingly quiet, and full of hidden culinary delights. We definitely recommend Akwaaba if you are looking for a unique and relaxing stay in New York.

Room Tip: Our favorite room so far is the "Jumping the Broom" suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MighelJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I went to stay at the brooklyn location for diffrent occassions all in one but mainly my birthday myself n my husband and we just enjoyed every bit of it it was just so homey relaxin beautiful..just awsome..cant wait to go bac

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikkiredz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brooklyn hotels
1.6 km away
The Brooklyn
The Brooklyn
#9 of 72 in Brooklyn
227 reviews
6.4 km away
The Box House Hotel
The Box House Hotel
#3 of 72 in Brooklyn
998 reviews
4.8 km away
NU Hotel
NU Hotel
#14 of 72 in Brooklyn
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Henry Norman Hotel
Henry Norman Hotel
#2 of 72 in Brooklyn
637 reviews
2.8 km away
The Condor Hotel
The Condor Hotel
#11 of 72 in Brooklyn
1,004 reviews
4.6 km away
Hampton Inn Brooklyn/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Brooklyn

Been to Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast

Property: Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast
Address: 347 Macdonough St, Brooklyn, NY 11233-1012
Region: United States > New York > Brooklyn
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Brooklyn
Price range (per night): $287 - $327
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Akwaaba, where we spoil you with old-fashioned graciousness and modern-day amenities. Check in to our 1860 Victorian Mansion and leave renewed and refreshed -- just 15 minutes away from Manhattan. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Akwaaba Mansion Hotel Brooklyn
Akwaaba Mansion Bed And Breakfast
Akwaaba Mansion Bed & Breakfast Brooklyn, New York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing