We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and clean appartment, located close to...”
other travellers have booked this property
Floor Through View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Floor Through View
Ebony fireplace surround, painted brick and modern furnishings. Open living plan with door to the backyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Floor Through View
Ebony fireplace surround, painted brick and modern furnishings.
Open living plan with door to the backyard
Glass dining table
Kitchen Entrance
Kitchen with view to the backyard
Full Bathroom with linen closet
Spacious Bedroom with wainscoting, hardwood floors and slate fireplace.
Exposed brick
Backyard
Private Entrance
NYC Marathon 2011
Fall street view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Brooklyn, New York

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Finnish first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Tanja M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful and clean appartment, located close to metro station”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We spent 3 awesome days in NYC, staying in Shirley's appartment. Before the trip she provided very helpful information about how to reach the appartment best from the airport and answered all questions we had very quickly! We payed half of the price in advance, the rest when we arrived at the appartment.
The appartment itself is very nice and cosy: There is one bedroom, one bathroom, a living room with one extra bed and a small kitchen. Everything what we needed was available and the appartment was very clean :-) Around the corner is a supermarket where you can get all kind of food and stuff, there is also a small coffee shop and one of those deli&grocery stores.
Summarizing we had a great stay, and Shirley is a very friendly and helpful host!
Thank you :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohannesH...
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Perfect in every respect!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We stayed in Shirley's apartment for 6 nights and we simply have to agree with all the other reviews: we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt at home from the very first moment! Shirley is a very friendly and accommodating host, the apartment is stylishly furnished and has everything we could possibly need and the Brooklyn location is great. The subway station is just one block away and Brooklyn itself has so much to offer! We will definitely recommend this rental to everybody!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
30 May 2014
I am so sorry that your vacation was ruined.

Mistakes do happen as you rightly agreed and every effort as made on my part to savage your 3 night stay. There was no bait and switch. I could have simply refunded you but instead took time to research comparable listings in our neighborhood for you to choose from. Having booked only the month before I had hoped that you would be understanding of the situation.

I am deeply saddened by this review. My only consolation is to know that this, my only bad review, is from someone who has not actually stay here.

Best regards,
SC
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Tom F
UK
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent quiet location but with lots going on and an easy trip to Manhattan”
Reviewed 26 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 9 nights and it could not have been better for us. It is only about 20 mins into Manhattan with the subway station 1 minute away but we also found so much to do in the local area. The restaurants on Dekalb Ave nearby were friendly and there is a good choice of different foods and prices. The Pratt Institute Sculpture garden is a lovely place to walk to. Choice market and Urban Vintage cafes were less than one minute away (dangerous with all their excellent baked goods!) and the supermarket over the road had everything that we needed. We also got a takeout pizza from Luigi's (only 2 mins away) which was excellent!
The location meant we could really get to know Brooklyn, visiting Williamsburg, Prospect Park, Downtown Brooklyn and Park Slope/Gowanus areas. Brooklyn Flea on a Saturday morning is only a couple of minutes away and had amazing stalls and food. We would also recommend a walk in Brooklyn Bridge Park on a Sunday to the Smorgasburg food market - every possible taste was catered for there (go on an empty stomach!).
The apartment was well equipped and very comfortable to return to after some long days in the city. The bed was comfortable and we slept very well - although the bedroom faced the street it was incredibly quiet at night. We didn't make much use of the kitchen but it had all that was needed. We found the washing facilities that Shirley provided very useful for a longer stay. The TV was great as we even managed to get our Game of Thrones fix through HBO on demand!
Shirley left us to it during our stay but was always on hand if we had any questions. Our communication with her before the stay was very helpful and she returned our deposit very promptly.
Although NYC prices are not cheap, we thought we got good value from the place.
We would strongly recommend Shirley's apartment to anyone - we would love to return some time ourselves!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was perfect for a break from the Manhattan craziness
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for a better experience”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Apartment is well furnished, nicely decorated, and is in a quite neighborhood. Nearby was subway access to 2 diffent lines, fantastic deli, grocery store, and Dough, one of the best donut shops to be found anywhere, was nearby.

Shirley the proprietor was a gracious host and her response time to email and text was phenomenal. I could not have asked for a better experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Response time from the proprietor
Liked least: No closets
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing