We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
108
2
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
2
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sourdough cabin chena river chena hot springs northern lights larger cabin fire pit heated floors winter wonderland dog sledding aurora viewing grocery stores and restaurants short drive mother nature perfect place to stay bed was very comfortable stayed nights bruce
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2016

From the very first moment of contacting Riverbend we were greeted with such helpful friendliness. Nothing was too much trouble. What a super place and by far the best place we stayed during our 5 week and 10,000 kilometer trip around Alaska and the Yukon. We booked Sourdough Cabin for three nights , primarily for my Husband's 70th Birthday celebration this year in September (2016) and we were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived Debi couldn't have been more welcoming. We appreciated so much the little touches in the cosy and most beautifully appointed Sourdough Cabin, fresh tomatoes, fresh flowers, a home baked loaf and even a special birthday card from Debi and Bruce, lovely surprises, especially after a long journey. It was like a real homecoming! Both the cabins are really true to Alaskan style and are the 'real deal', I would love to be there in the snow with the Aurora Borealis dancing above, it must be quite magical. I really did not want to leave our cosy haven and the wonderful hospitality we received. The cabins are close to North Pole where you can meet Santa, Fairbanks with a variety of things to do and of course the famous Cheena River for fishing, the Gold prospecting and the Cheena Hot Springs. We will return and would most happily recommend this place to stay and to your hosts ,the lovely Debi and her Husband Bruce who will make you so welcome. Thank you both so much , is was a truly memorable stay.

Room Tip: Both cabins are exactly as stated on the website.
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolynYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverbendLogCabins, Owner at Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review! We are honored to hear the Sourdough cabin was your favorite accommodation during your Alaska/Yukon tour! We love that our guests appreciate our little Alaskan paradise as much as we do! It was a joy to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again - hopefully in the winter so you can experience the amazing Northern Lights!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

people so friendly met a few off tv including the browns from the programme you can have a host of excursursions even use the alakan railway wave to the offgridders its something out of a movie set in my eyes a must see

Room Tip: what do you need superb the buzz off the pure fresh -10 and beyond is unreal
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Darren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit in the Riverbend Cabin in Fairbanks. We stayed 1 week and had a wonderful time.
Arriving at our little cabin (the Sourdough) was like coming home. The hosts Debi and Bruce did everything to make us feel so good. The welcoming fresh flowers in the cabin, the vegetables from the own garden and of course the selfbaked cake, it can' t get any better.
The cabin is a very cozy, comfortable and clean place. Everything is decorated with taste and love. Nothing is missing!
Internet works terrific.
The two hosts provided us with knowledge about the area.
And the nature around is unbeatable: eagle, beaver and even moose could be seen almost from our porch.
It's difficult to leave this place.
We just made one mistake: we only stayed one week. Next time - and there will be a next time for sure - we have to stay longer.
So Debi and Bruce, thank you for another great experience to stay at your wonderful place!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank NRWandGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Word of advice to the owners of the place: if you don't want to be reached at hours you wish to remain undisturbed, utilize this wonderful thing we call a VOICEMAIL. It's really not difficult to redirect calls.

I was extremely excited to inquire about the place because of all the amazing reviews. I was too tired to even think of what to say to the very rude lady who answered the phone. I have called numerous places in my life at weird hours of the day; I either received a very tired but still pleasant hello or reached their voicemail. Those are excellent businesses.

I'm bummed to not have had the opportunity to stay here, but I wouldn't want to pay a business ran by grumpy people.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank exaggeratedsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverbendLogCabins, Owner at Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

This review was just brought to our attention by returning guests staying in one of our cabins. They said they were shocked by the review because “it certainly has never been our experience”! It’s terribly sad that someone who has never stayed in one of our cabins can go on this website and demean our business. As this person stated, they were “extremely excited to inquire about the place because of all the amazing reviews”. These amazing reviews are a result of our love of people and hard work at providing an excellent experience for our guests. These amazing reviews certainly are not a result of our being grumpy! We would hope that anyone reading this review would please read the other reviews guests have posted about our character and how much they enjoyed their stay. Many guests have become cherished friends and many return year after year. Inquiries coming in after 10 p.m. and before 6 a.m. ARE routed to our voicemail. We have no recall of talking to this person. Perhaps they reached a different number? If in fact they did talk to one of us and felt they were not treated with respect, we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Great location, everything you can think of doing in Fairbanks area is just a short drive away. Debi & Bruce gave us lots of helpful advices on planning our trip. Bruce made sure the fire pit is ready for us to use every night. The cabin itself is very cute and cozy. During our 4-day stay, many times we had the thought not to step out. It's just too comfortable which I can't complain :D

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank norridev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews