We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
108
2
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
2
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sourdough cabin chena river chena hot springs northern lights larger cabin fire pit heated floors winter wonderland dog sledding aurora viewing grocery stores and restaurants short drive mother nature perfect place to stay bed was very comfortable stayed nights bruce
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2016 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit in the Riverbend Cabin in Fairbanks. We stayed 1 week and had a wonderful time.
Arriving at our little cabin (the Sourdough) was like coming home. The hosts Debi and Bruce did everything to make us feel so good. The welcoming fresh flowers in the cabin, the vegetables from the own garden and of course the selfbaked cake, it can' t get any better.
The cabin is a very cozy, comfortable and clean place. Everything is decorated with taste and love. Nothing is missing!
Internet works terrific.
The two hosts provided us with knowledge about the area.
And the nature around is unbeatable: eagle, beaver and even moose could be seen almost from our porch.
It's difficult to leave this place.
We just made one mistake: we only stayed one week. Next time - and there will be a next time for sure - we have to stay longer.
So Debi and Bruce, thank you for another great experience to stay at your wonderful place!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
2  Thank NRWandGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2016 via mobile

Word of advice to the owners of the place: if you don't want to be reached at hours you wish to remain undisturbed, utilize this wonderful thing we call a VOICEMAIL. It's really not difficult to redirect calls.

I was extremely excited to inquire about the place because of all the amazing reviews. I was too tired to even think of what to say to the very rude lady who answered the phone. I have called numerous places in my life at weird hours of the day; I either received a very tired but still pleasant hello or reached their voicemail. Those are excellent businesses.

I'm bummed to not have had the opportunity to stay here, but I wouldn't want to pay a business ran by grumpy people.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank exaggeratedsmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverbendLogCabins, Owner at Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2016

This review was just brought to our attention by returning guests staying in one of our cabins. They said they were shocked by the review because “it certainly has never been our experience”! It’s terribly sad that someone who has never stayed in one of our cabins can go on this website and demean our business. As this person stated, they were “extremely excited to inquire about the place because of all the amazing reviews”. These amazing reviews are a result of our love of people and hard work at providing an excellent experience for our guests. These amazing reviews certainly are not a result of our being grumpy! We would hope that anyone reading this review would please read the other reviews guests have posted about our character and how much they enjoyed their stay. Many guests have become cherished friends and many return year after year. Inquiries coming in after 10 p.m. and before 6 a.m. ARE routed to our voicemail. We have no recall of talking to this person. Perhaps they reached a different number? If in fact they did talk to one of us and felt they were not treated with respect, we are truly sorry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2016

Great location, everything you can think of doing in Fairbanks area is just a short drive away. Debi & Bruce gave us lots of helpful advices on planning our trip. Bruce made sure the fire pit is ready for us to use every night. The cabin itself is very cute and cozy. During our 4-day stay, many times we had the thought not to step out. It's just too comfortable which I can't complain :D

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank norridev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2016

If you're planning a trip to Fairbanks, I can't imagine a better place to stay than Riverbend Cottages. Located on the banks of the Chena River, you really get the feel of rural Alaska, while only a short drive from downtown Fairbanks. This was our 3rd trip, each in March, and we couldn't have been happier. March is a great time to see the northern lights, the days are getting longer and the chance of clear skies is good.

The owners, Bruce and Debi, are wonderful – true Alaskans. The Sourdough and Chinook cabins are charming, comfortable and clean. Both have an upstairs bedroom with a balcony, and in the Sourdough Cabin, you can actually lie in bed and watch the northern lights. The Chinook Cabin has two bedrooms, which are separated by an accordion door. This would be perfect for a family or two couples who don't need a lot of privacy. Each cabin has a small kitchen and we usually cook breakfast and dinner at "home" and then have lunch in town.

If the northern lights are what you're after, you don't need to go anywhere. You can see them from your balcony, you can sit around the fire pit with a glass of wine, or you can walk out onto the frozen Chena River for a 360 degree view. If the lights are out, you'll be able to see them from Riverbend without having to drive anywhere.

In addition to the northern lights, there is a lot to do in Fairbanks during March. The World Ice Art Championship is amazing to see and usually runs from late February to the end of March. There are usually dog mushing or skijoring events at the Jeff Studdert Racing Grounds, which are great fun to watch. The GCI Open North American Championship dog sled race occurs one weekend during March as well. There are also several interesting museums, but be sure to check their winter schedule.

Overall, Fairbanks is a great place and I can't imagine anywhere better to stay than at Riverbend Cottages with Bruce and Debi. We've already booked our 4th visit, this time in late August!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GeneBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2016

Do you have viewing the Aurora Borealis on your bucket list? You can't do better than to go to Fairbanks, Alaska in March. And once there, the Riverbend Log Cabins is a great base for exploring Alaska during the day and viewing the Aurora at night. Located outside of Fairbanks near North Pole, Debi and Bruce offer two cozy log cabins plus lots of answers to questions about where to go and what to see in Alaska. The location is ideal, a relatively short drive from stores and restaurants in Fairbanks, Fox and North Pole, yet in the country where there are few lights, little traffic, and the occasional Moose in the yard.

We drove to Denali, spent a few hours dog sledding, went to the museum at the University of Alaska - Fairbanks, and visited the displays at the International Ice Carving Championships which are held each February through March. I was interested in trying my hand at ice fishing and Debi suggested renting an ice hut at a state lake located near Fairbanks. I was able to book the hut ($20 for the day) and acquire licenses online and Bruce set me up with a bucket of fishing equipment and some wood for the stove in the hut. What a fabulous experience to drive out on a frozen lake (30+ inch ice), fire up the stove, and break through the few inches of ice that had formed in the hole since the last user to drop a fishing line.

Skies were clear on 2 of the 4 nights we stayed in the cabin and we were treated to fantastic aurora displays from the front porch. But walking 40 yards out to the frozen Chena River gave us full views of the Northern Lights from horizon to horizon. The aurora displays are very dynamic and any one evening they may shift and flow and increase and decrease in intensity over the span of a few hours. Some people chase the displays to a variety of locations overnight, and I'm sure the views from a mountain ridge are very nice. But at Riverbend you can wait for the display by looking out the cabin door and going to the river to enjoy one of natures great spectacles just out in the back yard, so to speak.

Staying in the Sourdough Cabin at Riverbend was a wonderful experience. It is clean, comfortable, functional, and will not disappoint. Debi and Bruce are great hosts.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bmelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews