We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
108
2
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
2
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sourdough cabin chena river chena hot springs northern lights larger cabin fire pit heated floors winter wonderland dog sledding aurora viewing grocery stores and restaurants short drive mother nature perfect place to stay bed was very comfortable stayed nights bruce
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Thank you very much for everything while we stayed at your Cabin.
aurora and your kindness....everything was wonderful and we were very grateful.
We will return to your Cabin again.
We are considering the plan next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minoru Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our stay at riverbend was superb. We came to have rest, relaxation, and enjoy the beauty of nature. The Chinook cabin has everything needed to provide a comfortable stay. We were able to cook our meals, watch the northern lights at night, and enjoy the peaceful setting on the Chena river. The owners are close by and are available if needed. We were greeted by a warm welcome and enjoyed their hospitality. Our stay was a month in mid Sept.-mid Oct., a perfect time to be in AK. We loved being close to Fairbanks and the North Pole. We hiked, fished for trout, rode a riverboat, went to Chena hot springs, saw local museums, took a stained glass class, dined at several local restaurants, and went to the movies. The cabin is the perfect location to everything. We want to give special thanks to our wonderful owners for all the things they did for us to ensure we had the perfect vacation. We will hold this trip to AK close to our hearts with the fondest memories of Riverbend.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Starrlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiverbendCabins, Owner at Riverbend Log Cabins & Cottage Rentals, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2013

We so enjoyed both of you! We got a kick out of both your 'independent spirits' - always ready to get outdoors to go fishing, hiking, exploring and searching out all the wonderful things to experience in Alaska's Interior. When you were leaving, we felt like we were staying goodbye to old friends! Thank you for staying in touch and a huge thanks for such a glowing review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I along with a longtime couple spent 5 nights in the Chinook log cabin just a couple hundred feet from the Chena River. We booked this VRBO so we could explore Alaska prior to meeting up with a Land/Sea Cruise in Fairbanks. The stay was fantastic. We cooked a hardy breakfast and then drove off to explore the country side as well as the town of Fairbanks.

Debi and Bruce were the best of hosts. They live year round in their nearby log home and really are able to live off the land. Their smoke house is impressive. Bruce is a hunter, fisherman, and quite a gardener. He worked hard every day chopping and splitting wood for the long winter cold, yet was available to visit with us on the Alaskan lifestyle. It is hard for someone who lives in Houston, TX to appreciate how difficult it is to live in such cold and darkness in the winters.

Bruce and Debi's son was getting married the same weekend we stayed in their cabin. Debi provided beautiful flower arrangements for the wedding from her garden.

We read some of the nice reviews from some of the other visitors and I agree on what was said. Molly (the black part lab pup) was as playful as could be. She followed us on our walked along the river and loved to fetch sticks thrown into the river.

We picked wild raspberries and helped ourselves to the garden. Fresh yellow squash, cucumbers, tomatoes, and english peas were fantastic.

The only thing that was negative was the mosquitoes late in the evening and early morning. A good repellant is a must.

Thank you Bruce and Debi for a wonderful stay. Hope to make it back to Fairbanks another time. If we do, we will be sure to look you up.

Room Tip: Master bedroom is up stairs. The second bedroom is small and located next to the Master. The beds in both rooms are very comfortable including the feather pillows.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a great 5-day stay in the Chinook cabin! The property is beautiful, great log architecture, nearby river right at the backyard, and the cabin featured all the advertised amenities (wifi, kitchen, jetted tub, etc). However, it's the un-advertised touches that really made it special... fresh flowers, spotlessly clean, a personal welcome left by our hosts for us, etc. Also, the cabins are conveniently located between Fairbanks and North Pole, just minutes by car from whatever convenience you'd need.

Describing the cabin only gives the physical picture though. What really brings this vacation spot to life are the owners. Bruce is amazingly talented as a craftsman, and Debi (and her son) are both artistic to boot. They are effusively pleasant [as is their dog Molly], and showed us every possible courtesy and pleasantry that one could hope for!

Thank you for a fantastic week!

--Mike & Lois

Room Tip: The Chinook cabin has multiple beds and two bathrooms, a convenience for space and privacy even if it's just two people travelling, as we were.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalteseFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Thank you Debi and Bruce for a wonderful retreat. Your cottages (log cabins) are absolutely beautiful and we could not have asked for more. Miss Molly was a real treat for us and touched our hearts with her playfull antics. We hardily recommend this as a primary destination for all travelers who wish to experience a real Alaskan retreat in a beautiful, peaceful, and comfortable setting wilderness setting. We literally melted into the soft pillow topped beds each night. The walks along the river, with all their wilderness splendor, were a delight. Debi, your taste in decorations are outstanding! We look forward to our next visit in March of 2014.

Room Tip: Choose any cabin....and you have made an excellent choice!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews