We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
108
2
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
2
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sourdough cabin chena river chena hot springs northern lights larger cabin fire pit heated floors winter wonderland dog sledding aurora viewing grocery stores and restaurants short drive mother nature perfect place to stay bed was very comfortable stayed nights bruce
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I along with a longtime couple spent 5 nights in the Chinook log cabin just a couple hundred feet from the Chena River. We booked this VRBO so we could explore Alaska prior to meeting up with a Land/Sea Cruise in Fairbanks. The stay was fantastic. We cooked a hardy breakfast and then drove off to explore the country side as well as the town of Fairbanks.

Debi and Bruce were the best of hosts. They live year round in their nearby log home and really are able to live off the land. Their smoke house is impressive. Bruce is a hunter, fisherman, and quite a gardener. He worked hard every day chopping and splitting wood for the long winter cold, yet was available to visit with us on the Alaskan lifestyle. It is hard for someone who lives in Houston, TX to appreciate how difficult it is to live in such cold and darkness in the winters.

Bruce and Debi's son was getting married the same weekend we stayed in their cabin. Debi provided beautiful flower arrangements for the wedding from her garden.

We read some of the nice reviews from some of the other visitors and I agree on what was said. Molly (the black part lab pup) was as playful as could be. She followed us on our walked along the river and loved to fetch sticks thrown into the river.

We picked wild raspberries and helped ourselves to the garden. Fresh yellow squash, cucumbers, tomatoes, and english peas were fantastic.

The only thing that was negative was the mosquitoes late in the evening and early morning. A good repellant is a must.

Thank you Bruce and Debi for a wonderful stay. Hope to make it back to Fairbanks another time. If we do, we will be sure to look you up.

Room Tip: Master bedroom is up stairs. The second bedroom is small and located next to the Master. The beds in both rooms are very comfortable including the feather pillows.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ThomasandKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a great 5-day stay in the Chinook cabin! The property is beautiful, great log architecture, nearby river right at the backyard, and the cabin featured all the advertised amenities (wifi, kitchen, jetted tub, etc). However, it's the un-advertised touches that really made it special... fresh flowers, spotlessly clean, a personal welcome left by our hosts for us, etc. Also, the cabins are conveniently located between Fairbanks and North Pole, just minutes by car from whatever convenience you'd need.

Describing the cabin only gives the physical picture though. What really brings this vacation spot to life are the owners. Bruce is amazingly talented as a craftsman, and Debi (and her son) are both artistic to boot. They are effusively pleasant [as is their dog Molly], and showed us every possible courtesy and pleasantry that one could hope for!

Thank you for a fantastic week!

--Mike & Lois

Room Tip: The Chinook cabin has multiple beds and two bathrooms, a convenience for space and privacy even if it's just two people travelling, as we were.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MalteseFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Thank you Debi and Bruce for a wonderful retreat. Your cottages (log cabins) are absolutely beautiful and we could not have asked for more. Miss Molly was a real treat for us and touched our hearts with her playfull antics. We hardily recommend this as a primary destination for all travelers who wish to experience a real Alaskan retreat in a beautiful, peaceful, and comfortable setting wilderness setting. We literally melted into the soft pillow topped beds each night. The walks along the river, with all their wilderness splendor, were a delight. Debi, your taste in decorations are outstanding! We look forward to our next visit in March of 2014.

Room Tip: Choose any cabin....and you have made an excellent choice!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We had such a blast staying at Debi and Bruce's cozy cabin! The property sits on a gorgeous garden RIGHT next to the Chena river, So peaceful and tucked away. We were able to meet their cute puppy, Molly while picking fresh produce from their well kept garden. Debi and Bruce also insisted us to use their two person kayak!! They dropped us off a little ways up stream in their truck and saw us off to mosey down the river. We saw many beavers, they were so cute!

We highly recommend staying here on this lovely property!
It's an experience you will never forget!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyssa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed in the Sourdough Cabin which is clean and very nice decorated with everything you need for self catering. Perfect location between Fairbanks and Northpole in beautiful and quiet surroundings.

Room Tip: The Sourdough and Chinook cabin mainly differ in their size.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OreoReeses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews