We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
108
2
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
108
2
1
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sourdough cabin chena river chena hot springs northern lights larger cabin fire pit heated floors winter wonderland dog sledding aurora viewing grocery stores and restaurants short drive mother nature perfect place to stay bed was very comfortable stayed nights bruce
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2011

Debi and Bruce were wonderful hosts for our three day stay (we wish we could have stayed longer!). The Sourdough cabin had all the necessities and was very clean. There was free wi-fi, too. It was so peaceful and relaxing. We would love to go back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chrisanddenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Absolutely wonderful Alaskan experience! Secluded, yet close to shopping. Clean, cozy home , and large enough for a very large family. Fully furnished 3 bedroom 2 bath home and everything you need for an extended stay, even a sauna.
Staff is great—friendly, courteous, graciously met every need we had. After being in the area for 6 months and seeing what is available, there simply is nowhere better to stay. We give it five 5 starts; this place has everything you need to experience Alaska to the fullest!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MSMBLM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Riverbend for 2weeks during the dead of winter. We stayed in the Sourdough cabin, and it is lovely. Our hosts Debi and Bruce were so wonderful, and always made sure we we comfortable and warm. On more than one occasion they had to help us out, and really went the extra mile. The sauna is a must to try. If we travel to Alaska again in the summer, we will deffinatley stay with Debi and Bruce in their beautiful cabins again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tahlianagy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2010

What a hidden gem!

As a birthday present I decided to take a trip to see the aurora borealis for my s/o. I did the research, you've got the best chance of seeing it between 11pm-2am on a clear dark night (best times are around september and march).

When we got to the cabin it had a balcony that was PERFECT for this. it made it easy to see the northern lights over the short boreal forest. The property was gorgeous, right on the river! It was also only 15-20 min away from a wonderful brewery/restaurant, which was also a distance outside of town, and then an hour away from the Chena hot springs.

The cabin itself was cozy and warm (they also had a wood burning sauna 40' outside the door). The bed was plush, very soft sheets (some of the best sleep I've gotten in a while)... They also had fresh locally roasted coffee, yum!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbihler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

Sourdough Cabin was perfect for us as we were celebrating our 25th Wedding Anniv and the cabin surpassed all of our expectations! The cabin was a true log cabin and decorated beautifully! The bed was soooooooooo comfortable and the grounds were gorgeous! We picked raspberries off of our deck! Our hosts provided our Gold panning gear and we had a Blast at Pedro Mine site. We enjoyed the Howling Dog Saloon, Silver Gulch Brewery, Chena Pump House Restaurant and Chatanika Lodge for dining and music. The North Pole and Tanana Valley Farmers Market are great stops too for Alaskan souveniers and foods. We LOVED Fairbanks and hope to return again soon! God Bless!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimandNancie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews