We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay if you want to view the auroras!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fairbanks
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aurora Borealis Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“THE place to stay if you want to view the auroras!!”
Reviewed 16 October 2010

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at this wonderful lodge from 9-12 October. We found out about this place via tripadvisor.

I emailed Mok (one of the owners) to enquire about our stay and on directions (as we were arriving late at night and the lodge is 20 miles outside Fairbanks) and he was very friendly and helpful with instructions on getting to the lodge.

We stayed in one of the lower rooms (the same room pictured on the lodge's website). Room was very comfortable, had a great viewing area and very clean. The heater worked great and warmed the room very well. Kitchen was well supplied and we cooked dinner twice during our stay. Shower has consistent hot water and toilet has a heated seat! There are also radiocalls in the rooms which Mok used to alert us on auroras he has sighted.

TV and internet access are available a few steps away at the main lodge. The nearest restaurants are located in Fox which are about 8-10 miles away from the Lodge.

We were unlucky not to see any auroras on the first 2 nights due to weather but did see a few amazing auroras from our room and the outdoor viewing area on the 3rd night!

If you're serious about viewing the auroras, look no further. I highly recommend the Aurora Borealis Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank candles471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    14
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
47
96
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

So I took my daughters with me on search of the auroura. Mok runs the lodge and is a very nice host. He had snow clothes to rent at a very reasonalble fee. My girls are 20 and 22, so ther three of us stayed in a room with a kitchenette, and brought food to eat in the room, or cook. Their view is unbelieveable. .And, ladies you're going to love the toilet seats, there heated, it's so nice when you are cold. The lodge is just a a short walk away, with hot coffe and tea, more comfortable seating, a beautiful view, and a patio to go out to view the light,s and yes, have you pictures taken with the aurora you saw on your trip. We will always remember our trip to see the auroura borealis, we saw it 4 out of the 5 night we were there.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mcgowengirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Mok, his wife, and Logan are co-owners of this 4 room lodge situated on a hilltop looking North. They take great care to make sure you have an "aurora" experience. There are walkie talkies in the well-appointed rooms that they use to alert you to auroras in the middle of the night. There are huge picture windows through which you can do your viewing, or there's a communal lodge a few feet away with a viewing deck. Mok will take your picture with the aurora framed behind you for a unique memento. The appliances were all new and user-friendly, including the Toto toilet with the heated seat. The beds were very comfy and the couch was a dream. What a wonderful, comforting experience especially since I am an "older" woman travelling alone.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SoCalOma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

This out of the way lodge is the best place in Fairbanks area to see the Northern Lights. It is located about 20 miles North of Fairbanks on a hill side looking north. The rooms are excellent and comfortable. Large picture window with sofa for watching the night sky.
Room has a full stove, microwave, & toaster oven for cooking. Very modern bathroom. Two comfortable beds. Restaurants in Fox, AK are located just down the road. There web site is http://www.auroracabin.com/OvernightEnglishOne.html

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank NCFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fairbanks hotels
30.4 km away
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
Pike's Waterfront Lodge
#2 of 23 in Fairbanks
1,098 reviews
29.1 km away
Best Western Plus Chena River Lodge
27.2 km away
Best Western Plus Pioneer Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Fairbanks
26.0 km away
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
Regency Fairbanks Hotel
#13 of 23 in Fairbanks
275 reviews
26.1 km away
Westmark Fairbanks Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aurora Borealis Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aurora Borealis Lodge

Property: Aurora Borealis Lodge
Address: Cleary Summit Rd., 1906 Ridge Run Rd, Fairbanks, AK 99707
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Fairbanks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Fairbanks
Price range (per night): $263 - $296
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Aurora Borealis Hotel Fairbanks
Aurora Borealis Lodge Fairbanks, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing