We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free and very moving!”

John F. Kennedy National Historic Site
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Brookline
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This was our second visit. Both times we took a friend from out-of-town. First of all, these are your tax dollars at work! Second, who doesn’t like the Kennedy’s? Even right-wingers might enjoy the history of some one-percenters. Different tour guides tell it differently, which keeps it fresh.

You go to the back door to sign in at the gift shop. Then you meet on the front porch for a 20 min tour. Then you go down a back staircase to see a short movie. Back in the gift shop are lots of fun items, many for kids. The whole experience is manageable and fun. We had no trouble parking on the street. NOTE: this is not an activity for the mobility impaired.

Date of experience: June 2018
2  Thank LTPratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"early years"
in 8 reviews
"tour guide"
in 7 reviews
"childhood home"
in 7 reviews
"park ranger"
in 9 reviews
"early childhood"
in 6 reviews
"tree lined street"
in 5 reviews
"quiet street"
in 5 reviews
"short video"
in 4 reviews
"free of charge"
in 4 reviews
"gift shop"
in 6 reviews
"nice tour"
in 3 reviews
"master bedroom"
in 3 reviews
"their lives"
in 3 reviews
"off the beaten path"
in 3 reviews
"front of the house"
in 3 reviews
"the kitchen"
in 3 reviews
"coolidge corner"
in 12 reviews
Filter

11 - 15 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2018

There is no shortage of things to do in Boston, and while I wouldn't consider this site 'must-do', it definitely exceeded my expectations. The home is small and was only home to JFK for his first 4ish years, but I thought the tour was very interesting.. if not for history on JFK, but a richer background on his family. It was also a great peek into a home in the 1910s/1920s and the surrounding neighborhood is filled with beautiful homes. Our tour guide was Genna and she was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. This could have easily been a very dry tour, but she did a great job making the information inviting.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank travelcal033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2018

The tour inside the house of JFK's birth was amazing. I like our tour guide for giving us detailed information about the young lives of the Kennedys in this house, and he tried to evoke questions from us, which was good. Highly recommended place to visit!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank MarivirM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

This house is super cute and such a lovely hidden gem in this unassuming street in lovely Beals Street. It’s small (but not by 1920 standards) and very intimate - you see the room where JFK was born, where the family ate dinner, where they played as children. It’s a lovely house and you get a real feeling of history here. Beacon Street is also a great neighbourhood- lots of cool cafe, shops, bars and everyone is super friendly and helpful.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank SLMHH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2018 via mobile

Super cool spot to stop by and check out. Loved the light post and the doorknob the most! They left everything original, very cool for history buffs!

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank MillerWake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed John F. Kennedy National Historic Site also viewed

 

Been to John F. Kennedy National Historic Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing