We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tacos y'all”

Dorado Tacos & Cemitas
Ranked #85 of 208 Restaurants in Brookline
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch
Description: Specializing in Baja California-style fish tacos, real quesadillas, and authentic cemitas, Dorado Tacos features an innovative approach to Mexican street food. Dorado Tacos prepares all its own salsas, dressings, gluten-free marinades, and meat rubs with fresh, seasonal produce and traditional herbs and spices.
Reviewed 9 April 2015

I've only been to Dorado once so far, but I'll definitely be going back. The chorizo and fish taco I had were delicious, as were the chips and guac. Definitely give this place a shot.

Side note: They've got beer

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Thank you so much for this review, Michael! So glad you loved our chorizo and fish taco (not to mention our chips and guac!). We're really looking forward to cooking for you again in the future. Side note: You're awesome.

Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2015

I heard about this place through my fiancee and decided to take a walk there through Allston before ending up in Brookline, it was worth the trip. My first impression of the food was how small the taco's were (these can't be it... can they?), then I opened them up and saw how large the servings of fish were. The nacho's are home made and can be a tad on the spicy side if you order them that way, but at first bite you can taste the difference. My favorite dish (I'm not counting the sangria, which is sweet and dry) is their cemita (the pork is by far the best, the chicken tending to be a tad on the dry side), a sandwich lined on either side by a poppy seed bun over avocado, cheese, onions and an egg.

They do not serve burrito's, ahead of time, so if you are looking for those you are better off eating at some of the other small Mexican food stores around the neighborhood. Expect to wait a bit as well for them to prepare your food (usually around 10-15 minutes when there is no one in the store, longer if there are other patrons) and don't let the size of the portions color your impression of the spot. They do accept credit cards and we've never had to have a minimum purchase amount. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Tim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2015

What an awesome recommendation! It's great to hear you were pleasantly surprised by the amount of fish in each of the tacos, and that the cemita became the star of the show. Thanks for the shout-out, and we're looking forward to having you guys back soon!

Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2014

Sweet little corner eatery with very fresh food. Loved the fish tacos. Wish they had a bigger space as it tends to be very busy.

Thank Lucypower48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2014

There are days we certainly wish the very same thing, Lucy! Eyes on the future. Until that day, it's lovely to hear you find us to be a sweet little corner eatery with very fresh food. Hope to welcome you back for some fish tacos again soon!

Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2014

It was busy on a Sunday night so we waited for a table. We had quesadillas and tacos and they were delicious. Service was super friendly and food was inexpensive. Sangria was good too!

Thank PJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

It all sounds great to us! Thanks for being patient with us on a Saturday night -- I know it can get a little crazy. Be sure to let us know if there's anything you think we can do to improve!

Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

The brunch time quesadilla with scrambled egg, guacamole and home made chorizo was really delicious, accompanied with a side of fresh and crispy patatas smothered in hot sauce could not have been better. The Yellowfin tuna and chorizo tacos were also really flavourful and cooked to perfection. Also a must mention was the refreshing glass of a watermelon and mint drink that was so very refreshing on a warm summers day. A small friendly restaurant that's inexpensive and casual for those peckish moments of the day!

Thank Shyana212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doradotacos, Owner at Dorado Tacos & Cemitas, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Sounds like you got to try a little bit of everything, and we're so glad it all hit the spot, Shyana! A Chorizo Quesadilla with a Watermelon Fresca on the side? Just doesn't get any better than that -- especially when those afternoon munchies set in! We'll hope to see you for round two soon!

Cheers,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dorado Tacos & Cemitas also viewed

 

Been to Dorado Tacos & Cemitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing