We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,598)
Filter reviews
1,598 results
Traveller rating
747
461
190
118
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
747
461
190
118
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river street cotton warehouse front desk historic hotel fifth floor a river view room rocking chairs cotton exchange complimentary wine small balcony turn down service free happy hour parking garage four poster bed hardwood floors perfect location container ships
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 1,598 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a 5 night stay and found staff to be very helpful and polite. it's close to many nice restaurants and historic sites in walking distance. the only downside is that parking is off site which means you drag your luggage from a parking garage a block away. it's $15 a day there to park. we might have chosen another hotel had we known but otherwise very happy with our stay here. our room was large and balcony overlooking the river but way too small and no chairs to sit. would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LottoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you were displeased with the our parking arrangements. As with most historic districts, parking is quite limited; fortunately our historic preservation foundation protects the destruction of our city's beautiful buildings from being replaced by more parking garages. We do, however pay the City of Savannah close to $10,000 per month to provide our guests with parking at a very reasonable cost of $15 per night, unlike neighboring hotels charging $25-$30 per night. We have parking in front of the hotel to unload your luggage with our bellman at the curb so you do not have to drag your luggage to the hotel from the garage.
When our two hundred year old building was built, it was a working cotton warehouse; the balconies were not used for leisure but for workers to oversee the cotton being loaded onto the ships. Since we are not only in a historic district, but on the National Historic Registry, thankfully we cannot make any external changes to it's original construction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We were given a room that you had to take (2) elevators to get to the 3rd floor. (Up to the 4th floor & then back down to the 3rd) Room needed an up date (Seemed dirty & smelly). First, had to argue with a girl on the front desk just to get a mini refrigerator. (After she sent (2) worker to check. On check out requested a cart twice (2) hours before the original check out time of 11:00 & still had to go down to the front desk. Girl at the front desk found a need to tell me the bell hop was in the bathroom & that "people" need to be patience. Ask her to go ahead & check me out of the room & she totally ignored me & walked off to fill the coffee pot in the lobby. Did not enjoy the restaurant Tubby's for breakfast. The location was great but there are other hotels on the strip that would have been nicer & had a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wtadams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for your review. Due to the building being constructed 200 years ago, before elevators; when it was modernized and converted into a hotel there were some things that couldn't be changed when connecting floors and elevators, however that's part of the our historic charm & what makes us more unique than most other hotels on River Street and in the Historic District. If you were unhappy with your room, we hope you told someone so it could be rectified during your stay with us. All the restaurants in our building are independently owned and operated, hopefully you told them as well of your displeasure with them. Regarding the lack of a swimming pool, again, being that this was a working cotton warehouse when constructed 200 years ago, pools weren't even a thought. We are on the National Historic Register, so unable to make any physical changes to our historic building. We're happy you appreciated our unsurpassed location though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to stay at the River Street Inn. The front desk could not do enough for you. The bell hops were so kind and gracious. The location was perfect with secure parking across the street. The large windows and small terrace overlooking the traffic on the river was fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We always appreciate knowing our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Assessing only the hotel and its facilities, I would consider the hotel to be very good. It is the friendly staff and its location right on River street that make it excellent. I stay in a lot of hotels and generally know the difference between happy staff and those who are pretending to be happy. The folks here are genuinely nice. There is a tourist trolley stop right outside the front door, while the back door, four floors below, exits right onto river street. No need to navigate tall, rickety steps or slippery cobble stones. This is a major plus for folks with mobility issues.

The rooms are lovely, if slightly dated. Fixtures are well made and the bed is comfortable. My only complaint is one common to far too many hotels. If you have an excellent hotel room, don't do it the disservice of including a substandard coffee maker. It would almost be preferable to not include a coffee maker or to provide instant coffee.

Parking is in a paid public lot about one block away, but there is a short term, loading-unloading zone in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the river, it's much prettier than looking into the local part of town.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for your review. We have already ordered and are awaiting delivery of our brand new cuisinart in room coffee makers; you were just a week earlier than their arrival. You'll be able to enjoy them when you come back to visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2016 via mobile

Lots of fun staying in an old hotel right on the river. Once you park (in a city deck a block away), you can walk to plenty of dining, bars, and shopping. Our room was very comfortable with in room fridge. The outside hotel doors were not locked at night like they wrre supposed to be. At 2:30 am, no one was manning the front desk and a homeless man walked right in. The hotel has resident ghosts, and true to form, the bedside lamp flickered all night long very faintly. This did not happen in daylight. The wine and cheese happy hour was very basic. Fun visit for one night.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank GR8TravLs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review. We are investigating the situation you referred to regarding unlocked doors and unmanned lobby. Our front desk and lobby are manned 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Perhaps the person was in the office behind the Front Desk. The doors, also are to be locked, which is why we have key card only access for after hours security. We don't know what transpired on this particular night, but are looking into it. We appreciate your calling it to our attention. We're happy you took advantage of our 5-6:30pm complimentary guest reception. We hope to be your host again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews