We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like Coming Home Every Time”
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
River Street Inn
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2016

This is probably my favorite hotel in the country. I've stayed there many times over the last 20 years and each time I return it's like coming home again. Janice and her staff do everything to make sure your stay is special and perfect. The hotel is located overlooking River Street above Huey's and is close to everything. Parking is located across the street in a public (safe) garage. Upon check in ask for the pass, it costs $15 a day and is worth it because it allows you to come and go as you please. There is also a private elevator that will take you down to River Street (The entrance is located on Bay Street and the Lobby, while on street level with Bay Street, is on the 4th floor)

My room was on the 3rd floor (#329) in the original section and had a french balcony overlooking the river. I love to watch the ships coming up and down the river and the people on River Street below. Each room is different and mine was comfortable and had a historical look to it, with exposed brick, a very comfortable queen bed, writing desk, a nice sitting area, free wi-fi and turn down service.

BTW I love the nautical decor in the rooms. I heard that the company may be removing these...I truly hope not.

The hotel has charm, comfort, historical ties and is a treat to stay in. If you're going to Savannah, Bypass the expensive big name hotels be spoiled at The River Street Inn.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the older section (the side that the front desk is on) and ask for a river view ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2016

We're very happy to know you continue to enjoy our hotel and thank you kindly for your loyal patronage! It's always nice when our guests appreciate our unique qualities as well as our unbeatable location. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 404 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We booked a 5 night stay and found staff to be very helpful and polite. it's close to many nice restaurants and historic sites in walking distance. the only downside is that parking is off site which means you drag your luggage from a parking garage a block away. it's $15 a day there to park. we might have chosen another hotel had we known but otherwise very happy with our stay here. our room was large and balcony overlooking the river but way too small and no chairs to sit. would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LottoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for your review. We're sorry to hear you were displeased with the our parking arrangements. As with most historic districts, parking is quite limited; fortunately our historic preservation foundation protects the destruction of our city's beautiful buildings from being replaced by more parking garages. We do, however pay the City of Savannah close to $10,000 per month to provide our guests with parking at a very reasonable cost of $15 per night, unlike neighboring hotels charging $25-$30 per night. We have parking in front of the hotel to unload your luggage with our bellman at the curb so you do not have to drag your luggage to the hotel from the garage.
When our two hundred year old building was built, it was a working cotton warehouse; the balconies were not used for leisure but for workers to oversee the cotton being loaded onto the ships. Since we are not only in a historic district, but on the National Historic Registry, thankfully we cannot make any external changes to it's original construction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We were given a room that you had to take (2) elevators to get to the 3rd floor. (Up to the 4th floor & then back down to the 3rd) Room needed an up date (Seemed dirty & smelly). First, had to argue with a girl on the front desk just to get a mini refrigerator. (After she sent (2) worker to check. On check out requested a cart twice (2) hours before the original check out time of 11:00 & still had to go down to the front desk. Girl at the front desk found a need to tell me the bell hop was in the bathroom & that "people" need to be patience. Ask her to go ahead & check me out of the room & she totally ignored me & walked off to fill the coffee pot in the lobby. Did not enjoy the restaurant Tubby's for breakfast. The location was great but there are other hotels on the strip that would have been nicer & had a pool.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank wtadams7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Thank you for your review. Due to the building being constructed 200 years ago, before elevators; when it was modernized and converted into a hotel there were some things that couldn't be changed when connecting floors and elevators, however that's part of the our historic charm & what makes us more unique than most other hotels on River Street and in the Historic District. If you were unhappy with your room, we hope you told someone so it could be rectified during your stay with us. All the restaurants in our building are independently owned and operated, hopefully you told them as well of your displeasure with them. Regarding the lack of a swimming pool, again, being that this was a working cotton warehouse when constructed 200 years ago, pools weren't even a thought. We are on the National Historic Register, so unable to make any physical changes to our historic building. We're happy you appreciated our unsurpassed location though!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

I was fortunate to have the opportunity to stay at the River Street Inn. The front desk could not do enough for you. The bell hops were so kind and gracious. The location was perfect with secure parking across the street. The large windows and small terrace overlooking the traffic on the river was fabulous.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review. We always appreciate knowing our guests enjoyed their stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2016

Assessing only the hotel and its facilities, I would consider the hotel to be very good. It is the friendly staff and its location right on River street that make it excellent. I stay in a lot of hotels and generally know the difference between happy staff and those who are pretending to be happy. The folks here are genuinely nice. There is a tourist trolley stop right outside the front door, while the back door, four floors below, exits right onto river street. No need to navigate tall, rickety steps or slippery cobble stones. This is a major plus for folks with mobility issues.

The rooms are lovely, if slightly dated. Fixtures are well made and the bed is comfortable. My only complaint is one common to far too many hotels. If you have an excellent hotel room, don't do it the disservice of including a substandard coffee maker. It would almost be preferable to not include a coffee maker or to provide instant coffee.

Parking is in a paid public lot about one block away, but there is a short term, loading-unloading zone in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: If you can get a view of the river, it's much prettier than looking into the local part of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mgreerrsi, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2016

Thank you for your review. We have already ordered and are awaiting delivery of our brand new cuisinart in room coffee makers; you were just a week earlier than their arrival. You'll be able to enjoy them when you come back to visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#21 of 115 in Savannah
1,168 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,961 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 115 in Savannah
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#31 of 115 in Savannah
3,131 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#8 of 115 in Savannah
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $170 - $367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on River Street. Decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just blocks from Broughton Street shopping district & City Market, cars aren't needed, as all is within walking distance; Valet Parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing