We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of River Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
River Street Inn
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2016

We spent three nights at River Street Inn and it was a pleasure from the moment we arrived. The staff were friendly and helpful, especially Herm, Steven and Ashley(? -receptionist). The room was fabulous - spacious and beautiful! We enjoyed the free coffee in the lobby in the mornings, the free wifi in our room, the delicious nightly chocolates on our pillow and the complimentary Happy Hour (wine and hors d'oeuvres) every evening which we had on the verandah overlooking the river was a pleasant surprise. The location was terrific. It was beyond our expectations . It had everything that you expect in a top- notch hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a king-size suite. It was wonderful! Though we had a city view, it was not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank skymark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2016

Thank you so much for your kind review and for complimenting specific employees; we're very lucky to have them!
We appreciate your detailed comments and hope to have you back to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

468 - 472 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2016

This is the 10th or 11th stay in Savannah for my husband and me. We have stayed in many of the finest hotels. We like to stay on the riverfront the most. I don't know why we never tried the River Street Inn before, but we will definitely be staying here again! Our good experience started when I made my reservations. Ashley assisted me and could not have been nicer. I loved the history of the building, and when I was treated so nicely I knew it would be a good stay. Upon arrival it was a little confusing to find where to pull up for check-in .Once we figured it out , We were delighted to find Ashley working at the front desk. What a warm greeting and reception we received . She told us about all the nice amenities the charming hotel had to offer including afternoon hors d'oeuvres ! We were next greeted by Steven who helped us get our luggage and showed us to our lovely lovely room! We were on the fifth floor and had a small balcony overlooking the river. Cannot say enough nice things about Ashley and Stephen. Both were so professional, kind and helpful! The ambience of our room really brought about the feeling of old Savannah. Watching the ships go by, and the people on the street was wonderful. Unfortunately I became ill, and wasn't able to go out and do much sightseeing in this lovely city. Fortunately we had a beautiful comfortable room to stay in. We can hardly wait to return to Savannah, and again plan to stay at the River Street Inn!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review and for specifying Ashley and Steven; we're very fortunate to have them. We're thankful to guests like you who appreciate our unique, historic inn. Being in a historic district, parking and signage can be challenging, however we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

River Street Inn was a great place to stay. Centrally located to everthing. We had a river view with a balcony, spent many hours just people watching. This was our first trip to Savannah, and we agree it is going to be vacation destination from now on.
We want to especially thank the housekeeping service for they paid attention to every detail.
Thank You River Street Inn, see you next spring!

Room Tip: River view is the way to go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danellehartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review, it's greatly appreciated! Thank you especially for complimenting our housekeepers! We're very proud of our uniqueness and happy you appreciate it as well! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Very nice, very sympathetically converted from an old cotton warehouse. Some small touches lacking though - 2 of us staying in a room with a king size bed, but there was only a bedside table on ONE side of the bed (presumably because there was a very narrow gap between the bed and the wall, but they could have had a small table on either side instead of a large one on one side and nothing on the other). We had to ask for the robes which hadn't been put in the room and there was no safe in the room.
Breakfast in the on site restaurant, Hueys, is best avoided! There was no fruit on the menu(!) but they did provide some when asked. However, it was well past its prime. Go instead to Goose Feathers which is about a 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your opinion and will work to rectify the items you mentioned. We just received our new logo bathrobes and have been supplying the rooms with them this week. All of the restaurants in our buildings are our tenants, not owned or operated by the Inn. There are two other on site restaurants that serve breakfast, Tubby's and Cafe M, perhaps you'll try them on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

On our way to Florida, our family decided to do a small day trip in one of our favorite cities, Savannah. Since it was a quick overnight venture, we decided to keep our accommodations simple. When booking, we opted for what was available and booked a room facing the street in the renovated section. The bellhop showed us to our room which was through a series of halls, doorways, and finally an elevator. It was very interesting and odd. As we walked, we noticed how well the hotel has been maintained and enhanced original charm through renovations. Intricate paintings, molding, bookcases, sconces, and brick work graced the walls. When the door opened to our room, we were greeted with the sweet aroma of fresh flowers. The room itself felt more like one found at a bed and breakfast. Completely updated with granite and modern conveniences. The furniture however, was antique in style, but new in build. It was very nice. No noise from other rooms or the street outside could be heard. The bed slept comfortably. The best part was walking throughout the hotel and the welcoming pre dinner cocktail while rocking on the porch. We will stay here again on our next trip to Savannah.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cehart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. It's always nice to hear, when the unique qualities of our 200 year old building are appreciated! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 116 in Savannah
2,997 reviews
Downtown
Cotton Sail Hotel
Cotton Sail Hotel
#20 of 116 in Savannah
1,178 reviews
Downtown
Planters Inn
Planters Inn
#19 of 116 in Savannah
2,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hyatt Regency Savannah
Hyatt Regency Savannah
#30 of 116 in Savannah
3,148 reviews
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#9 of 116 in Savannah
1,351 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Street Inn

Address: 124 E Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1202
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
Price Range: $173 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — River Street Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of cobble and ballast stones in 1817, as a cotton warehouse, our converted, historic hotel overlooks the Savannah River, right on River Street. Decorated with period furnishings, four poster beds, oriental rugs, hardwood floors and exposed brick walls, maintaining its historic charm. Located just blocks from Broughton Street shopping district & City Market, cars aren't needed, as all is within walking distance; Valet Parking is provided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your River Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Street Savannah
River Street Hotel Savannah
River Street Inn Savannah Ga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing