We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,681)
Filter reviews
1,682 results
Traveller rating
800
479
195
124
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
800
479
195
124
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviews river street cotton warehouse front desk historic hotel fifth floor happy hour a river view room cotton exchange rocking chairs complimentary wine turn down service small balcony four poster bed parking garage hardwood floors cargo ships restaurants and shops
Filter
Updating list...
706 - 711 of 1,682 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2016

This is the 10th or 11th stay in Savannah for my husband and me. We have stayed in many of the finest hotels. We like to stay on the riverfront the most. I don't know why we never tried the River Street Inn before, but we will definitely be staying here again! Our good experience started when I made my reservations. Ashley assisted me and could not have been nicer. I loved the history of the building, and when I was treated so nicely I knew it would be a good stay. Upon arrival it was a little confusing to find where to pull up for check-in .Once we figured it out , We were delighted to find Ashley working at the front desk. What a warm greeting and reception we received . She told us about all the nice amenities the charming hotel had to offer including afternoon hors d'oeuvres ! We were next greeted by Steven who helped us get our luggage and showed us to our lovely lovely room! We were on the fifth floor and had a small balcony overlooking the river. Cannot say enough nice things about Ashley and Stephen. Both were so professional, kind and helpful! The ambience of our room really brought about the feeling of old Savannah. Watching the ships go by, and the people on the street was wonderful. Unfortunately I became ill, and wasn't able to go out and do much sightseeing in this lovely city. Fortunately we had a beautiful comfortable room to stay in. We can hardly wait to return to Savannah, and again plan to stay at the River Street Inn!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2016

Thank you very much for your kind review and for specifying Ashley and Steven; we're very fortunate to have them. We're thankful to guests like you who appreciate our unique, historic inn. Being in a historic district, parking and signage can be challenging, however we're happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

River Street Inn was a great place to stay. Centrally located to everthing. We had a river view with a balcony, spent many hours just people watching. This was our first trip to Savannah, and we agree it is going to be vacation destination from now on.
We want to especially thank the housekeeping service for they paid attention to every detail.
Thank You River Street Inn, see you next spring!

Room tip: River view is the way to go!
Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danellehartman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review, it's greatly appreciated! Thank you especially for complimenting our housekeepers! We're very proud of our uniqueness and happy you appreciate it as well! We look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Very nice, very sympathetically converted from an old cotton warehouse. Some small touches lacking though - 2 of us staying in a room with a king size bed, but there was only a bedside table on ONE side of the bed (presumably because there was a very narrow gap between the bed and the wall, but they could have had a small table on either side instead of a large one on one side and nothing on the other). We had to ask for the robes which hadn't been put in the room and there was no safe in the room.
Breakfast in the on site restaurant, Hueys, is best avoided! There was no fruit on the menu(!) but they did provide some when asked. However, it was well past its prime. Go instead to Goose Feathers which is about a 5 minutes walk away.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2016

Thank you for your review, we appreciate your opinion and will work to rectify the items you mentioned. We just received our new logo bathrobes and have been supplying the rooms with them this week. All of the restaurants in our buildings are our tenants, not owned or operated by the Inn. There are two other on site restaurants that serve breakfast, Tubby's and Cafe M, perhaps you'll try them on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2016

On our way to Florida, our family decided to do a small day trip in one of our favorite cities, Savannah. Since it was a quick overnight venture, we decided to keep our accommodations simple. When booking, we opted for what was available and booked a room facing the street in the renovated section. The bellhop showed us to our room which was through a series of halls, doorways, and finally an elevator. It was very interesting and odd. As we walked, we noticed how well the hotel has been maintained and enhanced original charm through renovations. Intricate paintings, molding, bookcases, sconces, and brick work graced the walls. When the door opened to our room, we were greeted with the sweet aroma of fresh flowers. The room itself felt more like one found at a bed and breakfast. Completely updated with granite and modern conveniences. The furniture however, was antique in style, but new in build. It was very nice. No noise from other rooms or the street outside could be heard. The bed slept comfortably. The best part was walking throughout the hotel and the welcoming pre dinner cocktail while rocking on the porch. We will stay here again on our next trip to Savannah.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Cehart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. It's always nice to hear, when the unique qualities of our 200 year old building are appreciated! We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2016

We stayed two nights at the River Street Inn on our first visit to Savannah. The hotel was built as a cotton mill in 1817 and you can still see he exposed bricks, wooden beams and what appeared to be original flooring in some areas. It is furnished in either antiques or reproduction pieces which compliment the decor. Simply beautiful! Our room #410, was well appointed and spacious, overlooked the street not the river. The bed was very comfortable. The only complaint we had was the humidity level was very high even with the AC on. It was noticeable when you came around the corner to our wing.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Happy hour every evening of our visit was included with our room rate. Not a lot of choices of wine but it was adequate. We paid $10/day for parking at a garage across the street.
The hotel is situated in the center of everything going on on the river walk, very convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
We left a travel alarm clock in the room and are awaiting a return call as to whether they found it or not. We know we left it there, so hopefully it will turn out ok.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tam753
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marianne G, Director of Sales at River Street Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2016

Thank you for your kind review. We found your alarm clock, have contacted you and returning it. We appreciate your staying with us and look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews