We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,376)
Filter reviews
3,376 results
Traveller rating
2,537
639
127
45
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,537
639
127
45
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews quiche wine and cheese historic hotel local historian civil war broughton street claw foot tub wood floors modern amenities within walking distance southern hospitality fourth floor balcony room rooms are small valet parking high ceilings location was perfect
Filter
Updating list...
463 - 468 of 3,376 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Highly recommend the Marshall House, a beautifully restored hotel. My room on the fourth floor was well appointed and most comfortable. Much enjoyed hearing about the history of the hotel (by a local expert) during the wine and cheese arranged for the night I checked in. Wonderful, solicitous staff. Special thanks to Tonya and Kamisha.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank NewToToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you NewtoToronto! I'll be sure to share with the staff you mention. They will be thrilled! Happy Holidays, Hugh / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

wondering and very welcoming staff. Lovely hotel and we received complementary upgrade to a suite. This was our 3rd time in Savannah but 1at time at Marshall House. Will definitely stay there again!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Three times a charm! Thank you trying us Suzan. We are so grateful to hear you will be with us again! See you then, Hugh / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We spent 3 nights in this historic hotel. The staff was exceptional. They were there to make our stay memorable and they did! If you want to stay in a place that is modern this isn't the place for you. The hotel has all the charm you would expect from an old building. The wine and cheese nights were great. Twice we listened to a great harper. We also had a historian tell us about the history of the building. The Marshall House is located within walking distance of many of the sights. The hotel took our car when we arrived and we got it back when we left. We never felt the need to get it out. The breakfast buffet was excellent. Would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you Ann!

I'm so happy to hear you took advantage of our complimentary refreshments and entertainment in the Marshall House Library. Kristin King on the harp is quite entertaining and she has a very wide repertoire -- she's now playing Christmas Music. Her talent, combined with the transformation of the lobby with holiday decorations, is really putting us all in the Christmas spirit!

Happy Travels,
Hugh / Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We recently spent a weekend at the Marshall House. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The rooms, though not particularly large were very comfortable. The walk to all of the attractions, river front, etc. that Savannah has to offer was very easy. We did not eat at the hotel, so I cannot comment on that.
My only complaint is that there is not really any insulation between the rooms. We could hear every toilet flush throughout the night. The AC was very loud too. Neither of these issues detracted from our stay - just something to think about if you are a light sleeper.
The staff was very courteous and willing to help out with all of our needs.
All in all we had a good stay and would likely consider the Marshall House again.

Room Tip: Probably not on the street side - lots of traffic noise
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chezsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Dear Chezsteven,

I will be meeting our staff today to see if we can determine which room you were in. I've been here quite some time and I've never heard anyone say they can hear "every toilet flush." That's disturbing. As a historic hotel we are not going to typically have overly large rooms though many are quite spacious.

We are glad to hear you are considering us again and hope you enjoy the holidays.

Best,
Hugh / Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017

We stayed 3 nights for my mom's 80th birthday. The hotel is centrally located so we could walk to most everything. If you get a chance to hear the history of the hotel one evening with the historian, it is well worth your time. Everybody at the hotel was so friendly and helpful. It is one of the best experiences I have ever had with customer service in a hotel. We had the buffet breakfast every morning which was delicious with a nice variety. Arnita took care of us every morning. She spoiled us and made us feel like family. She is a gem.
This was our first time to Savannah. We had a wonderful time and I am hopeful to return. I would not consider staying anywhere else but the Marshall House. Thank you for making this a special birthday experience for my mom!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank docrelaxation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAV_HISTORIC_INN, General Manager at The Marshall House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Thank you Doc,

Arnita's hospitality is a great part of our team at Marshall House. When we heard it was your Mom's 80th birthday we are so proud to know you chose us for this memorable event. Make many more great memories this holiday season!

Best,
Hugh / GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews