We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Staff and Location Location Location”
Review of The Marshall House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marshall House
Ranked #4 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
North Andover, MA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Staff and Location Location Location”
Reviewed 13 April 2012

If you are looking for the best place to stay in Savannah look no further. The Marshall House has it all. It is within easy walking distance to all the major sites. If you chose not to walk there is free public transportation available. The breakfast was very good and the evening wine and cheese reception was nice after a full day of sight seeing.
Rooms were small but adequate and really had a historical feel. My only complaint was the tub. It was a claw footed tub original to the building. It was high and very difficult to get in and out of. There are only 14 of them in the buiding so when I return (and I will) I will make sure that I get a shower instead.
I have saved the best for last....the STAFF !!! From the valet that greeted you curbside to the Gals that took care of your room and everyone in between they were the best.
You were always greeted with a big smile from everyone , and the front desk went out of their way to make your stay with them the best. We were there over St Patricks Day when the hotel was sold out and we were always treated like we were the only people there. The staff was always on their game, never frazzled.
Tips for dinning, Vic's on the River and the Pink House.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying near the elevator. The doors to the rooms are not tight due to the historical f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,966
    561
    115
    42
    25
See reviews for
504
1,484
103
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed three nights in April. I would absolutely recommend the Marshall House and will stay here next time as well. The location was perfect. We parked the car on day one and didn't see it again until we left. Everything was in walking distance, from Starbucks to all of the squares and shopping. The staff was awesome! The doormen remembered us and welcomed us back with open doors every time we stopped back for a break. The turndown service was nice with a small treat and the next days weather forecast on our bed waiting for our return each night. The rates were decent and par for the area.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Creek, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights here in between Augusta and visiting family in Florida. It was excellent in every respect. Comfortable, well appointed room and beautiful, welcoming public areas. Locations excellent, and the staff, from the doorman to the manger, friendly and knowledgeable.

My only suggestion is that they add a fresh cooked to order egg option to the breakfast buffer.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Odysseusaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marin, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We spent Easter weekend in Savannah. Had never been there before, but loved it! The Marshall House had a lot to do with our enjoyment of Savannah. Not only is the hotel in a great location, a pleasure to the eyes and steeped in Savannah's history, but the hotel desk staff recommended wonderful restaurants (Crystal Beer Parlor and the Old Pink House) and a great walking tour (Savannah Walks).

If we have the pleasure of returning to Savannah one day, we will definitely stay at the Marshall House. Thank you, Mary Marshall ;-)

Room Tip: Stay on the fourth floor. The hotel faces Broughton Street and it can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cirriped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

it is a great little hotel right in the middle of everything. The breakfast was very nice - the best quiche I've ever had. I'll be back.

Room Tip: room 202 has a terrible view but otherwise it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAtoNCgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
River Street Inn
River Street Inn
#25 of 113 in Savannah
1,284 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Planters Inn on Reynolds Square
Downtown
East Bay Inn
East Bay Inn
#10 of 113 in Savannah
1,219 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marshall House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marshall House

Property: The Marshall House
Address: 123 East Broughton Street, Savannah, GA 31401-3303
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Savannah
#4 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#9 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): $197 - $403
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Marshall House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marshall House, voted Best of Savannah 2016, is one of the most unique hotels in Savannah. Room rates include complimentary WiFi and a weekday wine and cheese reception. The hotel's 68 guest rooms offer an authentic historic Savannah experience with modern conveniences. Coastal Living magazine named The Marshall House among its top 20 favorite lodgings, the Travel Channel featured The Marshall House on its "Great Hotels" program, and Expedia awarded the hotel with the Expedia Select honor. Winner of multiple "Best of Savannah" awards. Located on Broughton Street, amid great shopping and dining. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Marshall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marshall House Hotel Savannah
Marshall Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing