We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 November 2017

This is a strange situation. Upon registering for a room that I had reserved months earlier, the young man at the front desk welcomed me by saying that there was construction going on from 6am to 6pm Monday through Friday, and he would be happy to cancel my reservation if I had a problem with that. He went on to say that my room confirmation from Best Western alerted me to the situation. This was Veterans Day weekend and the city was pretty much sold out. We were there for a wedding and had no idea what this guy was talking about. With little choice, I took whatever room the guy assigned me. I immediately called Best Western corporate, they too had no idea what was going on at the hotel, as they were never informed. They said that the confirmation could not have informed us about the construction, as they didn't know about it. The Best Western Customer Service Rep had a difficult time hearing me on the phone due to the insane construction going on outside my door in the rear of the hotel. She called the hotel on my behalf since we were not alerted to the issue, leaving me on hold. When she came back to me, she too was puzzled as her call was interrupted due to "telephone problems" at that time. She promised to escalate the issue. I then returned to the front desk, demanded to see the General Manager/Owner and was told they were out of town through the next week. Convenient. The manager on duty came out, and all I can assume is that since Best Western corporate had called on my behalf before the "phone problems," she quickly switched our room to a room in front of the hotel. The noise problem was not an issue in the front. The hotel was pretty much as promised otherwise, BUT, being lied to and then strong armed makes this the worst lodging experience I have had in my 58 years. STAY AWAY. This hotel is simply not an honorable establishment. I want to point out that the construction was to a building behind the hotel, and the hotel was dealing with a serious issue that wasn't their doing, BUT, strong arming a traveler new to the city is NOT the way to deal with it. I have never before reviewed a hotel since my experiences have mostly been good, but this callous and deceitful way of dealing with an issue could not go unreported.

Room Tip: Stay in front of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 1,511 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2017

We were quoted a price by phone which was not honored at check in. Rather than waste more time trying to find another place, we stayed at the BW. We were basically called liars by the clerk when he was processing our check in. We will be very wary of BW in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank terrypK55PJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017 via mobile

Had a great time in Savannah although the hotel was not the best here. There were no towels in the room, to open the door you'd depend on the mercy of the key card sensor who sporadically let us wait outside. Also, the toilet would not flush right.
Nevertheless, they have a cool concierge lady who gave us many great ideas to make our stay a great experience.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pascal O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

Be warned that construction is going on at this location at the time of this writing (Nov 2017). However, we always had a parking spot. The breakfast choices are fantastic. Lots of fresh hot foods to eat in addition to standard breakfast fare of cereal, yogurt, etc. Very nice staff.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank rustinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

There was hair in the bathroom floor, toilet seat and tub in our room. The staff seemed like they did not want to be there and if you asked them a question, it seemed like you were bothering them. We checked in in the evening and in the morning we were woken up by VERY loud construction noises that started at 6am. Our room was located right tenedor to them.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank valC2233IC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 116 in Savannah
932 reviews
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $152 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing