We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“much better than it seemed from the outside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Savannah Historic District
Ranked #56 of 116 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

Don't let the outside put you off

The rooms and bathroom were spotless, a bit small but no too bad

We had a room on the ground level which I normally hate for noise etc, but even though it is on a busy road it was pretty quiet at night, ask for a room at the back for a quieter stay

The bed was super comfy

It was a few minutes stroll to the water front and the historic district

Free WiFi worked well and the room also had wolfgang puck coffee

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
Thank Saral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 543 of 1,511 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
11
Reviewed 5 October 2015 via mobile

There is a reason this place is cheaper than other places around it. They also charge for parking --- stayed one night and were charged for 2 days parking which is absurd. Awful location in a terrible area, just pick elsewhere. If they want to charge me for parking at least make the parking lot feel safe and do something about the absurd number of homeless people around the hotel.

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

This was our first time staying at the Best Western Plus in Savannah Georgia. The hotel is located on W Bay Street, and is located in the historic section, we used our car only once and that was to go to dinner one night, otherwise we walked. Everything really is within walking distance, there is so much to do and see. The staff at the hotel were very very polite and always willing to help out in any way. Our room was very clean, it was located on second floor (street side) and the noise from the street subsided early evening and really was no bother, just alot of people having fun. We would definitely stay at this hotel again!!! Breakfast was simple and tasty and plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Carol093005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2015

Went to visit Savannah's historic district for the first time. Wanted to make sure to be near the action. The Best Western is located very close to the free shuttles that service the historic district so it was a good location.
The good points - very friendly staff and the concierge, Mary was wonderful! Free breakfast and wi-fi are included in the stay. The location was great for access to the historic district as well as River Street, a very busy night place.
The not so good points - being close to River Street, there was street noise to deal with. The room actually had a white noise machine to help, but we just kept the fan running on the a/c to block out noise. Being close to the river, there was the occasional ship horn to deal with. The rooms were not very modern and the service was erratic - one day, no shampoo, but 2 conditioners left. We drank coffee in the room. The next day, coffee was replenished, but no cups were left.
If I were to visit again, I wouldn't rule out the Best Western, but I would explore other options as well.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Beantownguest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2015

The hotel is very close to the River Walk and therefore within walking district of all the sights. It is a large hotel which is very busy and fronts one of the main highways. It is probably best if you can get a room at the back as we did, but inevitably there can be some noise coming from late night revellers leaving the bars on the River Walk. There is of course a parking charge but I considered it to be reasonable for a big city. The breakfast room could be rather busy as the hotel also caters for coach parties. All in all I think this hotel is great value considering its situation.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have no traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrotterSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Savannah - Historic District
Downtown
Quality Inn Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Staybridge Suites Savannah Historic District
Downtown
Courtyard Savannah Downtown/Historic District
Best Western Central Inn
#36 of 116 in Savannah
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Savannah Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Savannah Historic District

Address: 412 W Bay St, Savannah, GA 31401-1115 (Formerly Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Savannah
#36 Business Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: AU$161 - AU$342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Savannah Historic District 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN Savannah Historic District is an inviting hotel with superior amenities, and genuine southern hospitality. Enjoy Savannah's unique southern charm with a generous slice of the local culture. Our fantastic location with close proximity to River Street, City Market, local museums, and historic sites is why many guests choose to stay at this hotel. Limited on-site assigned parking is available for a fee of $20 per day, which is a competitive price for the Historic District. If you're looking to explore the many tours, restaurants and boutiques that welcome Savannah's four-legged visitors then look no further this is a pet friendly hotel accepting "Dogs Only" based on the availability of dog friendly rooms. Each dog friendly room is allowed up to 2 dogs per room with an 80 pound weight limit for an additional $20 per day with a $100 maximum weekly charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Savannah Historic District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Savannah Historic District Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing