We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,960)
Filter reviews
1,960 results
Traveller rating
826
656
263
129
86
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
656
263
129
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviews moon pie rc cola krispy kreme donuts retro feel retro motel free popcorn great retro retro theme historic district fun place to stay within walking distance close to downtown downtown savannah bed was comfortable walked everywhere river street definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
226 - 231 of 1,960 reviews
Reviewed 26 November 2017

Upon arrival, the first shock was the ridiculous parking charge. Checking the small print it was there, if I'd spotted in advance I would not have booked this hotel. Wonder how many guests walk there?!

On the second night this left a bitter taste again as we returned back late (20h00) from a day out to find all parking spaces taken, and all cars had the voucher in the window. As we had paid for a voucher upon arrival this meant that the hotel had oversold the spaces.

Aside from the parking, the room was functional. The bathroom has to be the smallest I've EVER seen, even smaller than a London city centre hotel and that's saying something!

The rooms were colourful and functional and beds were comfortable. The window had blinds instead of curtains, but they worked well.

Breakfast was Krispy Kreme donuts, which sounded great and is probably what prompted us to book, but after a couple of days we were both craving a 'normal' breakfast.

Old town was a 10 minute walk, other hotels would have been closer but it was lovely to see Savannah.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank chris0241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us. I'm sorry the parking wasn't clearer for you. You'll be pleased to know that the bathrooms are all completely redone, are much brighter and feel bigger with the switch from the old tubs to showers!

regards,

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017

I LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. It was everything I expected and MORE. I had been wanting to go here for years and got the chance on a trip through to FL. I didn't want to leave at all. Perfect for retro loving couples. Room was nice and quiet even with a full hotel that night. Staff was super friendly and kind. I will be staying again any time I'm going that way! This is my hotel of choice.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

You're our people! Thank you for staying!

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2017 via mobile

Clean, peaceful and good location for the tours. Confortable bed and pillows. Fun ambiance at the hotel with music of the 50 and 60. Popcorn at the lobby, and you have a whoopie pies and rc cola in your rooms. Breakfast is coffee and donuts only, but very very good donuts.

Date of stay: March 2017
1  Thank 994judithc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for staying. I'm thrilled you loved your Moonpie on your pillow!

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

Everything was good and clean!! Short walk to the citycentre!
Next to the Tourist bus stop! Next to Tourist office. Perfect breakfast with Donuts! I will come again. During the day there was allways music in the air!

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2018

Thank you for staying with us! Please come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017 via mobile

Nice hotel. It was nice to be able to walk to things. They provided cola and moon pies upon arrival, which the kids really enjoyed. The staff at the front desk were very nice and helpful. It was a great stay for the reasonable price and it was easy to locate.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank RHarer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbirdmanager, General Manager at The Thunderbird Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2018

Thank you for staying with us. So glad you loved the moonpie on the pillow!

Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews