We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (438)
Filter reviews
438 results
Traveller rating
73
87
115
76
87
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
87
115
76
87
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 438 reviews
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Ended up staying at red roof right next door, go there! Upon entering the hotel about 30 minutes early from check in we are greeted by this Indian man(assuming the owner) and he was a total jerk! It was a Wednesday and he told us no rooms available come back at 3, no offer to pay extra or anything. When we asked him to cancel our reservation he told us we were violating policy. The lobby was trash, assuming breakfast ended at 9 or 10 but the floors were still dirty and you could see into kitchen from outside window where we parked and he had a bunch of dishes stacked haphazardly on the same counter with dirty dishes, no dish mat or drainer. The hotel isn't what it seems in pictures. Overall very bad experience, if that wasn't the owner they need to get new front desk staff, very unpleasant to deal with.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lachinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations in several areas. It's very unlike our front desk staff to be like this. We appreciate your candid feedback and have used it to improve and provide a better experience for our guests. We hope you will give us a chance to change your opinion in the future.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2017 via mobile

Pros:
I really enjoyed our 2nd stay. The rooms are clean and you can smell the bleach on the sheets.The pillows are clean. Everything was clean. The staff was very helpful and professional.

Cons:
The factory smell. It's not the hotels fault, but just beware of the smell.

I looked under the matress covers and the bed did have a few stains, but there were also 3 layers of covering on the bed.

The walls are paper thin. Yp u can hear all the biz of the person's in other rooms.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Tenesha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with feedback from your recent stay. I see that you enjoyed your stay but had a few inconveniences. I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the smell that you've described and being able to hear other guests. I will pass your comments onto the correct team members to ensure that they are corrected. We look forward to serving you once again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2017

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 November 2017

I left my very expensive glasses in my hotel room on our way down to Florida. Amill was very helpful and made sure they were sent back to me ,he sent my glasses back in his own hard case to protect them.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank threenygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. I will make sure we celebrate Amit's excellent customer service among the team!!! We pride ourselves on providing our guests with unforgettable experiences, and we are so happy you received your glasses safe and sound. We would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the area!

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

We traveled with eight people so budget was always a big concern. We found Howard Johnson Express a safe and reasonable alternative to the historic district, which commands more of a premium. The rooms were clean, well-maintained, and suited all of our needs. There is free breakfast with the usual fare: waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, biscuits, juice, coffee, etc. There was nothing to write home about but, again, it was a bargain for eight of us. Free internet is available as well as a community computer in the dining area.

Again, because it is about 12 miles out of the historic areas we were not able to find much local culture. There were mostly chain type places in the immediate area. We drove quite a bit to find something a little more "Georgia."

Just a few more things about the room: iron and ironing board, micro, fridge, reading lamps, friendly service, flat screen with plenty of channels. Ultimately, however, it's a good starting point for any Savannah day-trips you have planned.

Room Tip: You might hear more traffic along Abercorn.
Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson by Wyndham Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear John,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are pleased you found our location satisfactory to your needs and enjoyed your stay. Clean rooms and helpful courteous service are our highest priority. I will ensure our team are reminded of the outstanding job they are doing. We look forward to seeing you again. Again thank you for taking the time to post a review.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews