We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA
Ranked #93 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank S2217VKlarrym
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (407)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 407 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ended up staying at red roof right next door, go there! Upon entering the hotel about 30 minutes early from check in we are greeted by this Indian man(assuming the owner) and he was a total jerk! It was a Wednesday and he told us no rooms available come back at 3, no offer to pay extra or anything. When we asked him to cancel our reservation he told us we were violating policy. The lobby was trash, assuming breakfast ended at 9 or 10 but the floors were still dirty and you could see into kitchen from outside window where we parked and he had a bunch of dishes stacked haphazardly on the same counter with dirty dishes, no dish mat or drainer. The hotel isn't what it seems in pictures. Overall very bad experience, if that wasn't the owner they need to get new front desk staff, very unpleasant to deal with.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lachinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We apologize for failing to meet your expectations in several areas. It's very unlike our front desk staff to be like this. We appreciate your candid feedback and have used it to improve and provide a better experience for our guests. We hope you will give us a chance to change your opinion in the future.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pros:
I really enjoyed our 2nd stay. The rooms are clean and you can smell the bleach on the sheets.The pillows are clean. Everything was clean. The staff was very helpful and professional.

Cons:
The factory smell. It's not the hotels fault, but just beware of the smell.

I looked under the matress covers and the bed did have a few stains, but there were also 3 layers of covering on the bed.

The walls are paper thin. Yp u can hear all the biz of the person's in other rooms.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Tenesha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time providing us with feedback from your recent stay. I see that you enjoyed your stay but had a few inconveniences. I would like to start by sincerely apologizing for the smell that you've described and being able to hear other guests. I will pass your comments onto the correct team members to ensure that they are corrected. We look forward to serving you once again in the very near future.

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Vergil L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I left my very expensive glasses in my hotel room on our way down to Florida. Amill was very helpful and made sure they were sent back to me ,he sent my glasses back in his own hard case to protect them.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank threenygirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MasterkeyHospitality, Hotel Marketing Agency at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Valued Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay. I will make sure we celebrate Amit's excellent customer service among the team!!! We pride ourselves on providing our guests with unforgettable experiences, and we are so happy you received your glasses safe and sound. We would like to thank you once again for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the area!

Best Regards,
The Team at Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
0.2 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#95 of 115 in Savannah
101 reviews
15.3 km away
Econo Lodge Midtown
Econo Lodge Midtown
#84 of 115 in Savannah
86 reviews
0.1 km away
Red Roof Inn & Suites Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Super 8 Savannah
Super 8 Savannah
#51 of 115 in Savannah
1,348 reviews
0.5 km away
Comfort Suites Gateway
Comfort Suites Gateway
#61 of 115 in Savannah
353 reviews
15.5 km away
Baymont Inn & Suites Savannah Midtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA

Address: 17003 Abercorn St, Savannah, GA 31419-9787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $76 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Outdoor Pool and Walking Distance To Restaurants Welcome to Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA hotel, near River Street, a great home base for your fun Georgia vacation. With a convenient location off Interstate 95, we put you right in the center of all the most exciting Savannah destinations. Start your day by reading your free newspaper over a free Rise & Dine continental breakfast. Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to scout out attractions and look up Riverfront events from your hotel room. When you return from your long day of sightseeing, relax with a swim in our seasonal, outdoor pool. We offer free parking for your car, bus, truck or RV and kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Handicapped-accessible and non-smoking rooms are available. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS A wide variety of fun destinations are minutes away from our Savannah, GA, hotel. The famous Savannah Riverfront, with all its shops, restaurants, historic buildings and museums is just a 15-minute drive from our hotel. River Street also plays host to many festivals throughout the year, including Tall Ship LYNX, First Saturday and Oktoberfest. Savannah Festival Outlet Center is just one quarter of a mile away for all your shopping needs, or you can hunt for hidden treasure at Keller's Fleamarket, the premier flea market of Georgia. If you are interested in military history, stop by the Mighty 8th Air Force Museum, where you can see battle-tested military aircraft and learn about the Air Force from World War II to today. DINING OPTIONS Many tasty restaurant options can be found nearby, including Cracker Barrel right next door. Our Savannah, GA, hotel is also close by The Shell House, where you can enjoy ocean-fresh seafood, and El Potro Mexican Restaurant, a local favorite. Rachael's 1190 is a fun spot for casual dining, with pool tables, wide-screen TVs and frequent special events. BUSINESS AND EVENT FACILITIES Our hotel in Savannah offers free incoming fax service for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn Savannah GA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Savannah Hotel Savannah
Howard Johnson Savannah
Savannah Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing