We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice choice in a great city”
Review of Andaz Savannah

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Andaz Savannah
Ranked #11 of 113 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice choice in a great city”
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Our room wasn't ready when we arrived (at 4 pm), so we were left to set up shop in the lobby for a wait. Once we got a room, things went well. The staff was pleasant, if inefficient, and we enjoyed the relaxed feel of the place. Rooms are described as suites, which they are not, of course, a strange form of marketing that is creeping into the lexicon. The basic problem here was the noise. The best rooms, including ours, faced the square, but there were loud outdoor bands at night from that direction. Most rooms, however, faced south (a giant construction site with generators and constant noise in the daytime) or north (view blocked by a building). The tiny pool only gets sun for a few hours a day, as it is surrounded by buildings. The gym was nice. The restaurant is limited, but there's no reason to go there, as there are so many choices within a few blocks. Parking is expensive anywhere in downtown Savannah, and this is no exception. The Bohemian Hotel or the Hyatt are both a couple of blocks away, but have the advantage of being on the river, so you can watch ships go by, and they don't have the noise problems. The Bohemian is generally pricier and has eccentric decor, while the Hyatt has a clean modernist decor but tends to attract tour groups. One advantage of Avia is that, because of its size, it hasn't been overtaken by group travel.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the construction site (South side of hotel)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jack_3B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pedro P, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for your feedback which helps us improve on our customer relations, clearly we fell short during your visit and apologize for your room not being available upon your arrival. We sincerly hope that you will visit us again on your next visit to Savannah.

Regards

Pedro Perez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,064
    653
    168
    54
    17
See reviews for
541
1,560
90
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Our one night stay at the Avia was excellent -- friendly, competent, quick staff coupled with a stylish and very clean room. A gem in an old city where there arent a lot of choices if you want newer and not gilded. Ellie at the front desk was particularly notable for excellent customer service. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank business_traveler008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon B, General Manager at Andaz Savannah, responded to this review, 2 April 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback about your experience at the AVIA. We value your patronage and insightful comments and thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. Please know that we will pass along your comments to Ellie, so that she may also enjoy your comments. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a fantastic hotel. It's in a great location, the staff is excellent and the property itself fantastic. The rooms are really interesting and decorated in a very cool style. Get an L suite that overlooks the square with small balcony. Excellent. The staff filled every request we had even the need for a "box fan" to recreate the sound we sleep to at home. The only small - and i say very small nice to have would have been a nice firm pillow. Walk one block and eat at Alligator Soul and Jazz'd. Both excellent. Get the shrimp and Grits. Breakfast at the Grey Goose street side and close the night at the local pub the RAIL - a real dive. Overall maybe our best overall stay.

Room Tip: There is major construction happening on an office building just next door across the street. Make s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BurlingtonWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012 via mobile

Contemporary and chic! From the bar to the rooms. i just love it! And sitting by the bar with friends during cocktail hour with a few tapas is lovely. Their decor is nice and there's a piano in the lobby also. Again, very chic!

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LoAnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton Manors, Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

Great bar. Instead of nuts or Chex Mix, they put out stops of candied bacon! The hotel is nicer than most in that area. The location is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimBennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 113 in Savannah
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,569 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andaz Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andaz Savannah

Property: Andaz Savannah
Address: 14 Barnard Street, Savannah, GA 31401-2521
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#2 Family Hotel in Savannah
#2 Business Hotel in Savannah
#6 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price range (per night): $237 - $560
Hotel Class:4 star — Andaz Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savannah, Georgia has a whole new hotel experience. With its artful decor, relaxed urban vibe and new South sophistication, Andaz Savannah offers a bold new sleek style and a sophisticated attitude to historic Savannah. Experience a fashionable urban escape across from Ellis Square shopping, nightlife and entertainment at Andaz Savannah.When you're ready to get down to relaxation, our 151 ultra-modern guestrooms and suites are sanctuaries of calming repose. Each of our Savannah, Georgia hotel rooms feature sophisticated textures, a modern color palette, large windows, and surprising decor elements, resulting in a stylish haven of city-chic comfort. Delight in thoughtful in-room details such as king-sized beds cloaked in fine linens, walk-in showers and 42" flat screen televisions - details which make Andaz the most captivating of Savannah, Georgia hotels.For the very best in in Savannah dining, join us for dinner at 22 Square. Our very own "Market to Table" restaurant will delight our guests in the local flavor of the city. Our Chef has gone to great lengths to source out ingredients from local farmers and producers to ensure seasonality and freshness. Our bar at 22 Square takes you back to the "Art of the Cocktail" with hand-crafted cocktails made from fresh fruit juices,homemade syrups and tonics and artisanal liquors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Andaz Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avia Savannah Hotel Savannah
Avia Hotel Savannah
Savannah Avia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing