We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern hospitality at its best among the staff and its guests”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 April 2012

This was my first trip to Savannah and wanting a cute little B&B experience like the Elliott House in Charleston, I searched online until I found the Eliza Thompson House. Picturesque rooms...check. Soothing outdoor courtyard with running water...check. Wine and cheese hour...check. Coffee and dessert hour...bonus! I was impressed with the friendliness among both the staff and the guests, who had plenty of time to mingle among all of the above events, swapping stories of where to go and what to do next. Kevin was phenomenal, meeting us outside at our arrival to help us with our bags and attending our meter when it turned out to be broken. He was always available to answer our questions, offer a friendly tip, and remember the details of what we'd previously discussed. The location was central to most Savannah activities, allowing you to park your car and leave it except for the occasional visit to Tybee Island or move for street parking. The only thing I would add is for those with allergies, do make sure you bring your allergy meds. It is a city with lots of vegetation and lots of older buildings, so you will find yourself with a stuffy nose from time to time. The Eliza Thompson was a beautiful, relaxing place to make our central base for our long weekend, and I'd definitely stay here again in the future!

Room Tip: Our garden room was very quiet. It did get light from the courtyard, so bring a sleep mask if sensi...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robin01virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
There are newer reviews for Eliza Thompson House Savannah
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

991 - 995 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I am one who reads every review when booking a vacation. I will never stay anywhere else while in Savannah. Everything is perfect: location (close enough to walk, but quiet), food (and they keep coming out with hot food up until the last minute), rooms (while we stayed in the smallest room, it was still roomier than a typical hotel room and so inviting and comfy), and staff! I can't say enough about how helpful the staff was. Ms. Nell at the inn went above and beyond for us during out stay. I can't stress enough for you to stop looking and book the Eliza Thompson House. It was one of the best experiences I've had, and my family travels often. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HopeHEllijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Every aspect of this fine B&B is outstanding. Spotless rooms, and helpful staff. They were eager to answer questions, and make suggestions for dining, and shopping. We love to walk, and enjoyed the stroll to the river, and several restaurants we would have never tried, had it not been for their guidance. We look forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: Can't imagine a bad choice of room.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The Eliza Thompson House was the perfect backdrop for a romantic weekend my boyfriend and I spent in Savannah. The rooms were comfortable, nice breakfast in the courtyard each morning and wine in the study in the evening rounded out the stay nicely but what made this B&B a standout was the staff. The service was stellar. Thanks Eliza Thompson House! We will be back!

Room Tip: 2nd or 3rd Floor off the courtyard are delightful!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I just returned from Savannah. We stayed 3 nights at the Eliza Thompson House. We found every aspect of the Eliza Thompson House to be comfortable, clean and friendly. I can only echo the many positive reviews that so many others have written about. Erin at the front desk is very pleasant and helpful. Nell was only there one night during our stay, but was equally pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the main house, room 130. the room was very large and comfortable. it was also quiet and on the second floor. Breakfast each morning in the court yard was buffet style. We loved sitting in the courtyard and enjoyed breakfast. If you travel to Savannah I would definitely recommend the Eliza Thompson House.

During our stay in Savannah we also went to the Savannah Theater and saw "The Beat Goes On". I would highly recommend this show for an evening of great entertainment and fun. Dont miss it!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 114 in Savannah
1,320 reviews
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#4 of 114 in Savannah
2,806 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#12 of 114 in Savannah
3,107 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#16 of 114 in Savannah
1,382 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eliza Thompson House Savannah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eliza Thompson House Savannah

Address: 5 W Jones St, Savannah, GA 31401-4503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
#3 Romantic Hotel in Savannah
#6 Family Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $207 - $444 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eliza Thompson House Savannah 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eliza Thompson House is an exquisite 1847 bed and breakfast inn located on beautiful Jones Street. Recommended by Conde Nast Johansens and known for superior service, this inn is private, peaceful, and just a short walk from Savannah's most-loved historic attractions. Included in your rate are: complimentary WiFi, breakfast, desserts, and wine & hors d'oeurvres. Very close to Forsyth Park, Clarey's Cafe and Mrs. Wilkes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Eliza Thompson House Savannah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eliza Thompson House Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing