We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection At It's Finest”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn
Ranked #4 of 115 Hotels in Savannah
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I were only able to get away for one night to celebrate our anniversary and we are so glad that we chose The Gastonian, as we couldn't have asked for a more perfect stay! From arrival to departure, the staff at the Gastonian were so welcoming, kind and always willing to help. The Inn itself, is very stately and beautiful, and our room, The General Hunter Room, was an equally gorgeous corner room that was clean and had a comfortable bed. The Inn is located on a nice, quiet street and within walking distance to Forsythe Park and downtown shops and restaurants. The afternoon hor dourves were absolutely delicious, and Walter's lemonade was the absolute BEST lemonade I have ever tasted! We chose to have our breakfast in our room and it was delivered hot, and was plentiful and delicious. We were sad when it was time to leave, as we wish we could have just stayed there forever! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Gastonian and can't wait until we can return, hopefully next time for more than one night!

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Ashlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, Guest Relations Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Dear Ashlie,

We could not have asked for a more brilliant description & review of the hotel! Thank you so much for giving us a chance to make your Anniversary visit to Savannah relaxing & a beautiful experience! We also agree, Walter's Lemonade is superb! Let us know if you want the recipe!

Enjoy the Holiday Season & please know you are more than welcome back to the Gastonian at any time!

Best Wishes,

Melody Campbell, Concierge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A home away from home. The sweetest boutique hotel with staff ready to help in any way possible. A sweet spot located walking distance from downtown Savannah. Historical looking rooms. Homemade meals. Great location.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you, Amaya M, for this lovely review. I have to agree with you that we are in the best location in the historic district. We are not front and center, but a 3 block walk will get you there, and the peacefulness of our location is welcomed after a long day.

Please come back to visit with us soon.

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It has been 12 hours since we left and I am already dreaming of going back! The inn has beautiful charm, wonderful employees and delicious food. That lemon cake, ya’ll!!! From the moment we walked in, Courtney and Walter made us feel welcome and comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to meet their guests’ needs and desires. It is also walking distance to everything in downtown Savannah. I love that is close to several local shops and restaurants. The Gastonian will forever be a place I treasure!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Beth H,
Thank you so very much for your review! I can't wait to show the staff because reviews like yours let them know that they are successful in meeting their number one goal, to leave a lasting impression and wishes to return.

Safe travels always and we hope to see you soon!

Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt a wonderful sense of ease. The staff is so welcoming and kind on every level. The food is fantastic. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great location. We definitely got our exercise between the stairs at the inn and walking the beautiful historical district. We will be back !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ZIa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ZIa888,

I appreciate that you have taken time to write a review of the Gastonian. You know, we put all those stairs in and created a lovely walking district just so our visitors can enjoy all of our wonderful food and libations without guilt....haha!

Please come visit us again soon, and tell your friends and family about Gastonian should they travel our way.

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived at 11am knowing it was too early to check in. We were greeted warmly by Mitzi who asked if we would like to leave our luggage. There was water available to drink and we left our car to walk into town. There isn't really a centre to Savannah so the Gastonian was well place for all the places we wanted to go. We only had one day so wanted to do as much as we could walking (not in one of the many tour buses!). When we checked in the room was lovely with a small shared balcony. We think we should have had dressing gowns as there were two empty coat hangers on the side but no matter and maybe slippers too? Walter took us up to our room and explained everything. The best bit was the evening when Walter brought out the wine and freshly made canapés followed by James, the chefs' delicious banana cake and port. Coffee was also available and we were also offered free soft drinks whenever we wanted them. We chose our breakfast the day before and it was served beautifully in the morning with fresh scone to start. James has written a recipe book which I bought and it has some wonderful recipes in. I hope he will send me more to add as he is updating it soon. We were in the main house on the top floor and the door of vacant rooms were left open for us to see. Check out was simple and we will certainly return when we visit again next year with our friends. Thankyou to Mitzi, Angela, Walter, James and all the other staff who made our one night stay perfect.

Room Tip: Top floor main house was good. Corner room on first floor looked bright and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Cara E,
Thank you very much for this lovely review of the Gastonian. It is nice to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. I appreciate all the details you mentioned in your review because so many travelers use reviews to make decisions on where to stay. The staff will be thrilled to see their mentions as well.

We look forward to your return next year!

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Savannah hotels
Downtown
Hamilton-Turner Inn
Hamilton-Turner Inn
#2 of 115 in Savannah
1,373 reviews
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Eliza Thompson House Savannah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Marshall House
The Marshall House
#5 of 115 in Savannah
2,923 reviews
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn

Address: 220 E Gaston St, Savannah, GA 31401-5612
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Savannah > Downtown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Savannah
Price Range: $268 - $514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a classic, elegant residential atmoshpere and unsurpassed service. Private gardens, complimentary cooked-to-order breakfast, complimentary wine and hors'doeuvres reception in the early evening, and complimentary homemade desserts and cordials at night. Other amenities included in your rate are free parking, free wifi and complimentary turndown service. AAA 4-Diamond Award winner and a Diamond Collection Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gastonian Hotel Savannah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing