We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,122)
Filter reviews
1,122 results
Traveller rating
888
133
47
28
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
888
133
47
28
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshoneymoon suiteother guestschef jamesworking fireplacegarden roomhistoric districtevening dessertbed and breakfastforsyth parkshared balconysouthern hospitalityclawfoot tubthe main housemade to order breakfastquiet streetcarriage househors d'oeuvres
Filter
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 1,122 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

A home away from home. The sweetest boutique hotel with staff ready to help in any way possible. A sweet spot located walking distance from downtown Savannah. Historical looking rooms. Homemade meals. Great location.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Amaya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Thank you, Amaya M, for this lovely review. I have to agree with you that we are in the best location in the historic district. We are not front and center, but a 3 block walk will get you there, and the peacefulness of our location is welcomed after a long day.

Please come back to visit with us soon.

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

It has been 12 hours since we left and I am already dreaming of going back! The inn has beautiful charm, wonderful employees and delicious food. That lemon cake, ya’ll!!! From the moment we walked in, Courtney and Walter made us feel welcome and comfortable. The staff goes out of their way to meet their guests’ needs and desires. It is also walking distance to everything in downtown Savannah. I love that is close to several local shops and restaurants. The Gastonian will forever be a place I treasure!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Beth H,
Thank you so very much for your review! I can't wait to show the staff because reviews like yours let them know that they are successful in meeting their number one goal, to leave a lasting impression and wishes to return.

Safe travels always and we hope to see you soon!

Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we felt a wonderful sense of ease. The staff is so welcoming and kind on every level. The food is fantastic. The room was clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Great location. We definitely got our exercise between the stairs at the inn and walking the beautiful historical district. We will be back !

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ZIa888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear ZIa888,

I appreciate that you have taken time to write a review of the Gastonian. You know, we put all those stairs in and created a lovely walking district just so our visitors can enjoy all of our wonderful food and libations without guilt....haha!

Please come visit us again soon, and tell your friends and family about Gastonian should they travel our way.

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017

We arrived at 11am knowing it was too early to check in. We were greeted warmly by Mitzi who asked if we would like to leave our luggage. There was water available to drink and we left our car to walk into town. There isn't really a centre to Savannah so the Gastonian was well place for all the places we wanted to go. We only had one day so wanted to do as much as we could walking (not in one of the many tour buses!). When we checked in the room was lovely with a small shared balcony. We think we should have had dressing gowns as there were two empty coat hangers on the side but no matter and maybe slippers too? Walter took us up to our room and explained everything. The best bit was the evening when Walter brought out the wine and freshly made canapés followed by James, the chefs' delicious banana cake and port. Coffee was also available and we were also offered free soft drinks whenever we wanted them. We chose our breakfast the day before and it was served beautifully in the morning with fresh scone to start. James has written a recipe book which I bought and it has some wonderful recipes in. I hope he will send me more to add as he is updating it soon. We were in the main house on the top floor and the door of vacant rooms were left open for us to see. Check out was simple and we will certainly return when we visit again next year with our friends. Thankyou to Mitzi, Angela, Walter, James and all the other staff who made our one night stay perfect.

Room Tip: Top floor main house was good. Corner room on first floor looked bright and sunny.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Cara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Cara E,
Thank you very much for this lovely review of the Gastonian. It is nice to hear that you had a wonderful experience with us. I appreciate all the details you mentioned in your review because so many travelers use reviews to make decisions on where to stay. The staff will be thrilled to see their mentions as well.

We look forward to your return next year!

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2017

We stayed here for four nights while visiting Savannah for the first time. It's a gorgeous home with a lovely and friendly staff. Our room, the Eli Whitney, was located right at the top of the stairs, and while small, had a pretty little shared balcony with wrought iron table and chairs. The bed was so comfortable, and we slept very well while there!

Breakfast service is offered every morning, with your choice of the Chef's Special (e.g. waffles with glazed pineapple, cinnamon french toast with peaches) or custom-made eggs, cereal, etc. You can have it served in your room, which is a nice touch, or eat downstairs in the dining room with other guests.

The Gastonian is quite far from the action of downtown Savannah, but it's one block from Forsyth Park and the free DOT shuttle service (7AM to 7PM on weekdays). The inn has parking in the back, but you can also park on the street, and we recommend having a car while in Savannah so you can take day trips to Tybee Island, Hilton Head, etc.

Overall, we would recommend The Gastonian to those who'd like a quiet and peaceful stay away from the hubbub of downtown. The rooms are comfy and unique, and the staff provides the southern charm you would expect.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rpmadison2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gastonian, General Manager at The Gastonian - A Boutique Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear rpmadison2016,
What a lovely review! Thank you for the detail. These reviews are very important to travelers and it is great to get one like this, so everyone knows what type of service to expect at Gastonian. Your review would be a decision maker for me.

Please come back to visit with us again. It may be fun to try another room on your return.

Safe travels always,
Laura Hammond
Innkeeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews