We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“May Wedding”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Savannah, Georgia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bobby787
Oxford, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“May Wedding”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Bob and the Whitman team did a fabulous job of exceeding all expectations we had. We stayed for 3 nights and they catered our rehearsal dinner and our reception (delicious food). It was an ease working with Bob and very pleasurable. For those looking for a beautiful, intimate wedding venue look no further than The Whitman. The rooms were beautiful and we were able to have about 20 people stay at the house!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: House, location, great food
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelsea B
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Great spot for a charity event”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

"The Whitman Mansion is absolutely beautiful! Warm, friendly staff matched the impeccable atmosphere/surroundings and delicious food. The staff went above and beyond to ensure everyone was comfortable and satisfied at our Whitman Wednesday event benefiting the Alzheimer's Association."

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beth M
Savannah, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Classy Event Space and Amazing Southern Hospitality!”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Our Savannah-based group held a private dinner event at The Whitman on a weekday evening in July, including many long-time Savannah residents who had been eager to get their first peek inside The Whitman. We were awestruck by the splendid, first-class renovations that have been made to this elegant Savannah mansion, located at a convenient and prime spot opposite the world-famous Forsyth Park Fountains. General Manager Bob Vardzel welcomed our group, Owner Steve Buckner described the history of the mansion and led us on a wonderful house tour, and then our group of 40 people enjoyed our "casual" summer dinner party of cedar-plank poached salmon with grilled vegetables, pulled pork BBQ sliders, pasta/salads, and an assortment of delicious desserts, accompanied by fruited waters and teas. Steve, Bob, and their staff had prepared the meal on-site for us that afternoon, and the quality and flavor of our dinner surpassed anything a catering service could have provided. Our group was delighted by the entire experience, and we highly recommend The Whitman for other group dinners or private events.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Interacting with the Owner and General Manager
Liked least: No complaints at all - Everything was perfect!
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Msweitz
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“The BEST accommodations. Perfect .”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We rented The Whitman House so that we could stay with our family who were attending our son's wedding. We also held the rehearsal dinner at the house. Bob, the manager, catered the dinner. The food was wonderful; well prepared, gourmet quality, and well priced.
The groomsmen dressed for the wedding there,
We had 50 guests for the rehearsal dinner. It was very comfortable .
The house was spotlessly clean, and they provide too many amenities to list.
It is well located to walk the historic district and the city.
You will not be disappointed if you stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katelyn S
Athens, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Historic elegance combined with southern charm”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I attended the wedding of my future sister-in-law at The Whitman, and my first impression upon arrival immediately surpassed my expectations. My fiance and I were the first guests to arrive, and we were greeted with a smiling face and an offering of refreshments, which was much appreciated after the four hour drive from Athens, GA.

The staff at The Whitman is a combination of talented hosts, chefs, bartenders, concierges, designers, wedding planners, and friends. I've never seen 4 people learn to be so versatile in their jobs while maintaining a cool, calm demeanor and making events come together flawlessly.

Hearing about the renovation process was both intriguing and exciting. It seems they really did think of everything you would want in a historic home, right down to a secret room perfect for an afternoon nap. They have maximized storage, restored once-forgotten porches and balconies, and put great thought into the little details, like the decorative hinges on every door.

The location was perfect, situated directly across the street from a lush park full of life. This allowed guests to walk around the block, play a game of bocce ball, and also acted as a gorgeous backdrop for photos. If a nightlife is what you desire, the downtown area along the Savannah River is just a 20 minute walk straight down Whitaker Street. There you will find plenty of delicious food, a variety of bars, and great sight-seeing.

I can safely say the entire weekend was a huge success. I left Sunday with a full belly and a full heart.

How helpful were the directions to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing