We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome historic venue”

The Senator Theatre
Ranked #75 of 229 things to do in Baltimore
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Listed in the National Register of Historic Places, The Senator opened on October 5th, 1939 as a single screen movie house. It is a historic Art-Deco movie theatre designed by John J. Zink. The Senator reopened on Thursday, October 10th, 2013 with 4 screens, including the restored and renovated original auditorium.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome historic venue”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Beautiful old fashioned movie theater (the mens lounge is way groovy) with nice BIG screen. The main downside is that seats are pretty historic as well-anything over 2 hours and my back is not happy.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank IAxilrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
345 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“I Never Understood the Hype about This Place”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This place was interesting because it had an interior that some of us remember from our youth (one big screen in a sizable room, with some ornate and warm decor features). It was also was imbedded in a neighborhood, rather than part of a distinct shopping/entertainment complex. Otherwise, it was never a big draw for me as a regular destination, but I could see it fitting in well as part of an evening out that included dinner at one of the nearby restaurants, whatever film that is showing, and then perhaps drinks at a nearby bar.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank westernfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Show time”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Wonderful old building, great movie house, wish they could move it to Bel Air so more people would go, not a great location to drive to but worth it when you get there, too far for us

Helpful?
Thank Brandy2010BelAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastern Shore, MD
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great theatre experience”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

The Senator has seen better days and is desperate need of some much needed repairs. The paint is peeling in spots, the wood accents on the wall looked water damaged and overall has a dingy feel. That said, we went and saw "Incredibly Close and Extremely Loud," last night had a great theatre experience. The screen is HUGE and the sound is great. There were very few people there (<20) and we felt that we had the place to ourselves. We'll be back.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EasternShoreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baltimore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Old Fashioned Movies”
Reviewed 10 January 2012

old fashioned theatre with a great big screen and comfortable seats. movies the way it used to be.

Helpful?
1 Thank 5pepers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Senator Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Senator Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing