We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive”
Review of National Aquarium

National Aquarium
Ranked #19 of 208 things to do in Baltimore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered one of the world's best aquariums, the National Aquarium's mission is to inspire conservation of the world's aquatic treasures. It champions environmental initiatives by engaging with visitors, volunteers, education groups and schools to actively participate in the preservation of the world's natural resources and living systems. The National Aquarium delivers meaningful experiences through its living collection of more than 20,000 animals from more than 800 species of fish, birds, amphibians, reptiles, marine mammals and sharks, as well as through exclusive behind-the-scenes experiences like sleepovers and tours, science-based education programs and hands-on experiences in the field.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This is our 5th time visiting over the last 15 years. We love the aquarium and had a good time but find the tix price exorbitant at $40 per person. As a comparison Mystic Aquarium is cheaper at $37, allows you to buy discounted tix for $31 online, have a combo value tix with the seaport and have free parking.

Our family of 4 spent $187 including parking. Considering the educational aspect of the aquarium, wish the government would subsidize the tix so all folks could have the opportunity to visit.

Date of experience: April 2018
2  Thank kimskim2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,522)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"dolphin show"
in 1,118 reviews
"jellyfish exhibit"
in 182 reviews
"sea life"
in 172 reviews
"australian exhibit"
in 98 reviews
"coral reef"
in 95 reviews
"sea world"
in 66 reviews
"black tip reef"
in 63 reviews
"all ages"
in 260 reviews
"inner harbor"
in 443 reviews
"great exhibits"
in 80 reviews
"behind the scenes"
in 71 reviews
"take your time"
in 64 reviews
"dolphins"
in 1,172 reviews
"rainforest"
in 499 reviews
"tanks"
in 465 reviews
"creatures"
in 178 reviews
"tickets"
in 594 reviews
Filter

430 - 434 of 6,522 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This aquarium is much better than the local aquarium we have in Niagara Falls New York. There are many fish exhibits and very large ones as well.

The dolphin show was awesome, but could have been longer and it did look dirty.

We liked the interactive exhibits with the sting rays and jelly fish, more of these would be great! The in person shows were a bit dry.

We have a 2 and 5 year olds and would visit again.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank dhock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Cute animals but the place was a beat boring. Kids had fun. For the adults was very boring. Dolphin site looks* dirty. Gives a bad felling.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank eyurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corinne W, Public Relations Manager at National Aquarium, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Hello. Thank you for sharing your feedback. We aim to engage, inspire and educate guests of all ages, through daily programming, immersive exhibits and interactive opportunities like animal encounters. I'm disheartened to hear this was not the case for your party. I would love to hear how we can better serve you - feel free to connect with me directly at social@aqua.org. I also wanted to assure you that our dolphins receive the highest level of care and welfare. As part of our plans to move our colony to a sanctuary by the end of 2020, we are growing beneficial algae in their pools to help them adjust to the type of environment they are moving to. So, that bit of "dirt" is actually enriching to them, both physically and mentally! If you'd like to learn more, visit aqua.org/sanctuary. I hope you will give us another chance to impress you on a return visit to Baltimore! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed visiting this aquarium. Plan approximately three hours to tour the entire aquarium. We came when it was an extremely busy time (spring break) and it was difficult to see all the small exhibits as a result. The jellyfish, puffins, and dolphins were awesome to see.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank fraidyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Kids loved it being able to see all the different sea animals up close,we plan on doing it on a regular schedule this summer 2times a month

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank JAYS3595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed National Aquarium also viewed

 

Been to National Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing