We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caters to locals”
Review of Columbian Cafe

Columbian Cafe
Ranked #28 of 110 Restaurants in Astoria
Price range: USD 5 - USD 20
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Featuring fresh local seafood and gourmet meat and vegetarian or vegan dishes.. Enjoy a specialty cocktail in the VoodooRoom, a visual homage to New Orleans.Long a favorite of locals and visitors from afar.
Reviewed 17 October 2018

Went because we saw this in 1,000 Places. Food was good but portions small, unless you were a regular seated at the bar. Our e-shot came in a martini glass, theirs was served in water glasses. Our lunch came on lunch plates, theirs on dinner size. My wilted spinach salad came on a bread plate. $7 for a thin layer of spinach sprinkled with some cheese and a few slices of tomato? Stay away unless you can pretend to be a local and sit at the bar. I am beyond disappointed after looking forward to this.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScootersPeople, owner at Columbian Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2018

Sorry you had this experience. A little explanation: different menu items are served on different plates, e-shots are always served in martini glasses unless ordered over ice (I like mine up), the spinach salad starts as a big pile but shrinks down as it steams. Not sure if all the customers were locals that day. That would be unusual. Main thing is you were not happy and I'm very sorry about that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 177 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

We stopped for breakfast, they have a crap/shrimp special just was just okay, since it had tiny shrimp. My Bloody Mary didn’t have much not much flavor. My friends ordered Salmon special she Loved it and my husband ordered Bond Street breakfast and he loved that. Coffee was great and service was great.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank pshart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2018

This place is wonderful farm fresh eggs fresh potato and veggies great breakfast be careful when you go here no cell phones and it is a small place with limited seating but worth the wait love this place

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mgobludrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

This small place is large on flavor. There is only a few booths and stools here and always lines. Reason is the food is outstanding and unique. Made to order and fresh out of the river seafood. You can watch the talented chief prepare your scrumptious meal right in front of you. Service is good but a little slow since all made to order. They also have there own special sauces created to spice up your meal if you like it hotter or sweeter. This little hole in the wall also had many impressive beverages to compliment your meal. I noticed many locals requarly go there due to calling most people by name. The chief is gifted and you must try his delectable creations. Prices are very reasonable and foods superb. Don’t let this little eclectic spot fool you. There is culinary genius happening in this space. Yum

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank JacquesPoosteau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I'm a Portlander, and this place has great food, but I hate lines, so I can't suggest it, lest next time I go there, in another three months, there is a line. Throw yourself to the mercy of the chef. Take a risk. It'll at least taste great! Seriously great chow, great drinks and staff.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Skegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Columbian Cafe also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Columbian Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing