We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light Crisp Battered Fish and Golden Fries”

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Light Crisp Battered Fish and Golden Fries”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

I can't say much more than what has been said in the past. By far the best fish and chips I have ever had! The boat is "dry docked" in a parking lot at 17th and Duane. We ate there today, February, and although there isn't indoor seating, it was warm enough today to eat outside.

Albacore tuna is used and the batter is very light, crisp and somehow seems devoid of any grease! How is that possible, I may never know. $8 for 3 good sized pieces of fish and $10 for 5 pieces, both served with a good helping of chips. If people complain about those prices for grat quality fish and chips, they should just stay home and eat fish sticks.

They have a large assortment of hot sauces. Add oen of these to the tartar sauce for some extra pizazz!

Top all of this off with the most friendly service possible and this place is as good as it gets for what it is; a boat in a parking lot serving fish and chips!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank PDXWindJammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    145
    47
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips anywhere”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Awesome tuna fish & chips and the setting is quite unique. Just remember that they don't have indoor seating. They do have some picnic tables (but they fill up quickly!) so you can use those during the summer or bring it with you.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TacomaTraveler77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lacey, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in town.”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

It may seem a little dicey to get your grub from an old boat on the street. FEAR NOT! It is seriously delicious. For your safety, I've done quality control many times. I'm still alive :) This place frequently has a line in the summer, and there is good reason! There is not too much seating (the only downside).

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank madroy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in a long time.”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Tuna fish and chips that are amazing, washed down with a sprite and some decent fries. The only thing that could make it better would be fresh cut fries and this place would be off the charts.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
el prado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips you will ever have”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

It's true. I grew up 40 miles down the road from Astoria and have eaten fresh seafood all my life. Nobody serves fish and chips like the Bowpicker. The only downside is the fact that you have to eat in your car if the weather is crap. Which it is most of the year on the Oregon Coast.... I never let that stop me when I'm in town-- this tuna is to die for.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sniraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing