We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish and Chips in a long time.”

Bowpicker Fish & Chips
Ranked #1 of 98 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, View, Kids, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout
Portland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Fish and Chips in a long time.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

Tuna fish and chips that are amazing, washed down with a sprite and some decent fries. The only thing that could make it better would be fresh cut fries and this place would be off the charts.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank Gunter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    535
    143
    47
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
el prado
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips you will ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

It's true. I grew up 40 miles down the road from Astoria and have eaten fresh seafood all my life. Nobody serves fish and chips like the Bowpicker. The only downside is the fact that you have to eat in your car if the weather is crap. Which it is most of the year on the Oregon Coast.... I never let that stop me when I'm in town-- this tuna is to die for.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sniraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kennewick, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Fish and Chips!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

The Bowpicker has the BEST fish and chips!! They're so good!! It takes a little while for them to get your order ready, but it's because they make it fresh on the spot for you. It is so worth the wait!! You'll want to get there a little bit before lunch time and right when they open (around 11) because a large line forms!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank K9jenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend WA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“The BEST Fish and Chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

I really don't like fish and chips, but this place looked interesting. It's located in an old bowpicker perched up on a hill off the main highway.

There are a few stairs that lead up to the service window, then you wait on the platform while your food is prepared. We ordered a $10 platter of fish and chips, which was plenty for two people, and oh my gosh was it GOOD! I had never had fish & chips made with fresh tuna before (sounds pretty disgusting, eh?) but I could have easily eaten another portion. Light, crispy, not greasy and served with steak fries. The tartar sauce was super. In fact, the only thing lacking was a side of cole slaw, which might have been on the menu and I didn't see it.

I'm not sure if they are open during the winter, but you must try this place in the summer!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank catglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
194 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Again and again and again..........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

There is nothing like the funkiness of my hometown to keep you returning long after you have moved away. The Bowpicker is a must to return to time and again and you're NEVER disappointed!! Think about it, when was the last time you ordered food from the window of a fishing boat? The tuna is fresh and the chips are crisp! The tuna is cooked to perfection and is light and crispy and literally melts in your mouth.

If you're cruising through Astoria stop and pick up some of the best fish and chips you'll ever taste!! I guarantee it!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gigglebelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bowpicker Fish & Chips also viewed

 

Been to Bowpicker Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing