We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and nice atmosphere”
Review of Carruthers

Carruthers
Ranked #21 of 110 Restaurants in Astoria
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 October 2018

The jumbo prawns and grits were excellent and the butternut squash fritter spectacular. Nice wine list and a great atmosphere in one of the beautiful old buildings in Down town Astoria.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Z4449ELmikem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Building with old character, bright windows, beautiful bar area, eating area bright, interesting inventive food that’s well prepared, nice servers

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank jishenker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018

this place is wonderful its fine dinning food is local and fresh presentation is fabulous service is good staff is great full bar with a great fireplace to sit around for dessert and drinks the food is great not real kid friendly adult atmosphere we really enjoy this place and there people that work here David the bartender is great love this place but not cheap

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank mgobludrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

We went in late for a quick nibble and a couple of cocktails.

I had a Buffalo Trace Manhattan and he had a dirty gin martini. His was the best he'd every had, and mine was excellent also.

On the side from the bar menu we had halibut cheeks and mussels. Both were divine and priced exceptionally well.

We sat in the corner on the leather tufted couches in front of the electric fire. We lounged and ate slowly, and the staff were very attentive to our every need.

Couldn't have been more please with the experience and quality. Can't wait to come back again!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AudK24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

Traveled on July 4 and ended up in Astoria at lunchtime. Was glad we found this place open.

Well-appointed interior.
Friendly service, though it took a little while to get our food. We chalked this up to perhaps being short-staffed on a holiday. Whatever.
Prices are reasonable.

We had Greek pasta salad, chicken posole soup, and a burger and fries. All were good. I couldn't finish the salad and took half of it with me and had it for dinner.

Desserts on display looked really good, but we were too full to try them.

I'd go back if ever in Astoria again.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geobird24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Carruthers also viewed

 
Astoria, Oregon Coast
Astoria, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Carruthers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing