We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cruise package is a great deal.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
Ranked #51 of 134 Hotels in Jacksonville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We chose this hotel primarily because of location to JAXport and discovered they had a "parking and shuttle package.
When we had checked into our room we found a few ants had moved in because of the tropical storm. When we called to report it they sent Harold from maintenance to get rid of them. He diligently discovered where they came in the room and solved the problem. He also assisted us with the washing machine.
The next morning breakfast was varied and plentiful. They were able to keep it stocked even thought the hotel had a full house. The shuttle was organized and prompt. We discovered Harold was also our shuttle driver. He was able to answer all of our questions and also helped with the loading and unloading.
When we returned to port, the ship was several hours late because of mechanical problems. It did not dock until after 9:30 and we did not disembark until almost 11:00 and we were some of the first passengers off the boat. Harold was there waiting with the shuttle. At the hotel, most of the folks waiting to leave were upset. They need to be upset at Carnival, Not the hotel.
I would recommend this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_t_36582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay and taking advantage of our Park and Shuttle package. As the closest hotel to the JAXPort cruise terminal, we truly believe we are the most sensible and convenient choice for all cruise travelers.
We're also happy to hear that you enjoyed our free breakfast and the excellent service provided to you by Harold. I'll be sure to personally praise Harold for going above and beyond to make your stay better.
We thank you so much for your positive feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (297)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 297 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were staying one night only and thank goodness for that. As I checked in the front desk clerk asked if we'd be interested in saving 10.00 and stay in a smoking room versus the non-smoking room we had reserved. We declined as we had our two year old with us and my husband has bad sinus reactions to cigarette smoke. When we entered our room it was obvious it was a smoking room. It was late and we don't typically complain so we proceeded to get ready to sleep and pulled back the sheets to find not just one hair but MANY hairs. The bathroom tub had soap scum and few lights were functional. We weren't looking for the Ritz by any means but we had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and read the reviews here. We won't ever choose to stay at a Holiday Inn Express again. This is the first review I've written but felt compelled as our experience did not match the others seen on this site for this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Em C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Allow me to personally apologize for the issues you experienced with this hotel. Please understand that all of the issues you experienced are very uncharacteristic of our hotel. If you would, please email me your name and the date of your stay, along with your room number if possible to jaxsn.express@gmail.com so I can attempt to research these issues and make them right for you.
I will also personally address the housekeeping issues with regards to your room with our executive housekeeper to prevent issues such as this from occurring in the future.
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. The shuttle took a little longer than expected to pick us up at the airport but check in was a breeze. We stayed there pre-cruise and had the package that included drop of at the pier and pick up to the airport.

The shuttle in the morning is set up the night before by the staff. It runs fairly smoothly (considering they are on the ships time table and that doesn't always go as scheduled).

The staff was wonderful and the rooms clean. The morning breakfast had a wide variety of both hot & cold choices. We would definitely stay there again.

The only down side is if someone needs to sleep on the sofa sleeper. It did not have the best mattress.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seauonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us! I am very pleased that you chose our hotel and enjoyed our rooms, breakfast, and cruise transportation. It is through comments such as yours that let us know that we are providing the excellent service that the Holiday Inn Express - Blount Island is known for!
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed only one night, so didn't get to check out the facility beyond breakfast, which was standard HIXpress and was good. Very helpful staff on checkin, recommended a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burntweeniesandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAXSN_STAFF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review we always appreciate your time to review our hotel and provide us with feedback. We look forward to being able to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Nice stay before our cruise leaving from Jacksonville port. This hotel is good for this purpose mostly. If you are going to visit the beach, you are decently far away from the beach. The best part about this was the hot breakfast in the morning, buffet style that is free. Good to eat free when you have a family of five! No other hotels are near as close to the port.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aundrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property! We're so glad you enjoyed our free breakfast, value, and complimentary hot breakfast. I am also pleased you were able to take advantage of our cruise package.
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jacksonville hotels
10.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Jacksonville East
7.2 km away
Candlewood Suites East Merril Road
Candlewood Suites East Merril Ro...
#67 of 134 in Jacksonville
84 reviews
11.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jacksonville-Airport
10.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Jacksonville Airport Hotel
10.9 km away
Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport
Hyatt Place Jacksonville Airport
#20 of 134 in Jacksonville
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island

Address: 10148 New Berlin Rd, Jacksonville, FL 32226
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Jacksonville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Jacksonville
#30 Family Hotel in Jacksonville
#30 Romantic Hotel in Jacksonville
Price Range: $149 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are ideally situated just off Route 9A near the picturesque St. Johns River, Jaxport Cruise Ship Terminal and the Jacksonville Airport. As the closest hotel to the Jaxport Carnival Cruise Ship Terminal, our accommodations are the perfect choice for cruise ship travelers.. Our J hotel is minutes from downtown Jacksonville and area attractions like Anheuser-Busch Brewery, Jacksonville Zoo, Kinsley Plantation and Jacksonville Landing. We are just 11 miles from the beautiful Jacksonville Beach.Corporate travelers also find our hotel's location in Jacksonville to be ideal. Trapac, Jacksonville Electric Authority, Atlantic Marine Shipyard and Dry Dock are just a few of the nearby businesses, and we are just 15 miles from the Mayo Clinic. Staying productive has never been easier with the Business Center and free Wi-Fi access. And, we have a 644-sq-ft meeting room that can seat up to 30 people.When staying at this Jacksonville, Florida hotel, you can expect a comfortable stay and great amenities, such as the free, hot breakfast bar, a fitness center, outdoor pool and whirlpool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, Wotif.com, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island Hotel Jacksonville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing