We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
171
73
34
16
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
171
73
34
16
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cruise terminal cruise package pancake maker front desk cinnamon rolls shuttle service continental breakfast the hotel offers biscuits and gravy great place to stay rooms are large staying at this hotel one night stay hie ihg mattress musty
Filter
Updating list...
217 - 222 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We were staying one night only and thank goodness for that. As I checked in the front desk clerk asked if we'd be interested in saving 10.00 and stay in a smoking room versus the non-smoking room we had reserved. We declined as we had our two year old with us and my husband has bad sinus reactions to cigarette smoke. When we entered our room it was obvious it was a smoking room. It was late and we don't typically complain so we proceeded to get ready to sleep and pulled back the sheets to find not just one hair but MANY hairs. The bathroom tub had soap scum and few lights were functional. We weren't looking for the Ritz by any means but we had never stayed at a Holiday Inn Express and read the reviews here. We won't ever choose to stay at a Holiday Inn Express again. This is the first review I've written but felt compelled as our experience did not match the others seen on this site for this hotel.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank Em C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Allow me to personally apologize for the issues you experienced with this hotel. Please understand that all of the issues you experienced are very uncharacteristic of our hotel. If you would, please email me your name and the date of your stay, along with your room number if possible to jaxsn.express@gmail.com so I can attempt to research these issues and make them right for you.
I will also personally address the housekeeping issues with regards to your room with our executive housekeeper to prevent issues such as this from occurring in the future.
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We really enjoyed this hotel. The shuttle took a little longer than expected to pick us up at the airport but check in was a breeze. We stayed there pre-cruise and had the package that included drop of at the pier and pick up to the airport.

The shuttle in the morning is set up the night before by the staff. It runs fairly smoothly (considering they are on the ships time table and that doesn't always go as scheduled).

The staff was wonderful and the rooms clean. The morning breakfast had a wide variety of both hot & cold choices. We would definitely stay there again.

The only down side is if someone needs to sleep on the sofa sleeper. It did not have the best mattress.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seauonboard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for your positive comments regarding your stay with us! I am very pleased that you chose our hotel and enjoyed our rooms, breakfast, and cruise transportation. It is through comments such as yours that let us know that we are providing the excellent service that the Holiday Inn Express - Blount Island is known for!
Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed only one night, so didn't get to check out the facility beyond breakfast, which was standard HIXpress and was good. Very helpful staff on checkin, recommended a good restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burntweeniesandwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JAXSN_STAFF, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jacksonville - Blount Island, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful review we always appreciate your time to review our hotel and provide us with feedback. We look forward to being able to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Nice stay before our cruise leaving from Jacksonville port. This hotel is good for this purpose mostly. If you are going to visit the beach, you are decently far away from the beach. The best part about this was the hot breakfast in the morning, buffet style that is free. Good to eat free when you have a family of five! No other hotels are near as close to the port.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aundrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 27 June 2012

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our property! We're so glad you enjoyed our free breakfast, value, and complimentary hot breakfast. I am also pleased you were able to take advantage of our cruise package.
Thank you so much for your kind feedback and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Sincerely,
Lillian Reed
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel is as most Holiday Inn Expresses are: clean, new(ish).

No frills at this one. Nothing fancy. I was even upgraded to a King Suite after a short power outage----mother nature, not hotels fault. The SUITE was just a bigger room. Kind of pretentious to put "King Suite" on a plaque on the door. I would expect grandour, or at least more upgraded amenities. Nope. None to be found here. Just a little bigger room with a king bed. Ho hum.
Worth a stay anyway as long as you don't expect white glove service (even though the staff was apologetic about the power outage).

Pillows were a bit hard and lumpy. I'd bring my own next time.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank garliclover101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear garliclover101,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We are glad you liked the location of our hotel as well as your room accommodations. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews