We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,293)
Filter reviews
1,293 results
Traveller rating
625
413
178
50
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
625
413
178
50
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews parking garage junior suite rooftop pool traffic circle per day lincoln square middle of town within walking distance gettysburg college shops and restaurants beautiful hotel jacuzzi tub perfect location front desk staff hotel restaurant gas fireplace bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 1,293 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Gettysburg was our final stop on a civil war driving tour which to be honest was not what we had hoped with many of the hotels being a disappointment or the service being less than average. We had high hopes for our last hotel and as the weather was due to be good we were looking forward to some lazy days by the pool.

The hotel itself is commanding in a very prominent position in the centre of Gettysburg and it is without question in a great location for many attractions, restaurants and pubs. The hotel itself is old but reasonably well maintained. Staff were efficient if a little cool. The public areas were fine with a bar and a restaurant. We didn’t eat in the restaurant much preferring the great welcome and food in the pub directly opposite the hotel.

Rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Didn’t see a room service menu although it may have been somewhere.

The hotel didn’t have parking and you have to park in a multi storey and the hotel doenot cover the costs - it would be a nice touch for them to cover costs of parking and to be honest guests wouldn’t notice if the price of the room was slightly higher but they do notice having to pay parking. Maybe something to think about.

The hotel is quirky in that the floors slope so you may stagger a little as you navigate the corridors.

The biggest disappointment was the fact the pool was closed. It may seem small but this really spoiled the last 3 days of our holiday. We were told on check in the pool would be opened the following day when this infact it was incorrect. Had I known I was not going to be able to enjoy the sunshine by a pool - as the hotel does not have any other outdoor space to sit and enjoy the sunshine - we would have immediately gone to another hotel in Gettysburg. Staff were disinterested and there was no compensation for the lack of facilities or for the fact we were given the wrong information. It might not seem much to the hotel staff but when you have waited all year for a holiday and looked forward to it and then it is spoiled in this way it is actually a big deal.

We absolutely loved Gettysburg but would not use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Junior suite is roomy
Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share the candid feedback on your recent stay. We truly value and greatly appreciate all guest feedback, for it lets us know what we are doing right and what we can improve upon to make sure our guests have an extraordinary trip. We're glad that the accommodations were clean and could meet you and your parties needs. We sincerely apologize about the delay in our pool opening; due to weather and scheduling, circumstances out of our control, we had to hold off on opening in order to ensure it was suitable for our guests. We hope in the future, to be given another chance to host your travels, and make your experience in Gettysburg one worth remembering.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Stevenson
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018

Great central location but still living in the 70s with no apparent desire to be more. Rather like a National Park lodge, rather than a hotel. Furniture is beat-up, carpet is grimy, and rooms tiny. We were in a junior suite and had to refuse the first one offered, it was so tight. Seen better days? Maybe not but the time has come to make this place shine.

Room Tip: Rooms that are not on the street overlook the roof, quiet but ugly.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYorkWendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share the candid feedback. It's unfortunate our level of service and cleanliness of rooms didn't leave a positive impression on you, and while there isn't much we can do to change the size of our accommodations, we are looking forward to a full refresh of the property in the coming years. With those updates, we hope to meet and exceed the expectations of all incoming visitors, for a truly enjoyable experience in the Gettysburg area.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Stevenson
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018

Gettysburg town center is a charming little area. This historic hotel is walking distance from several restaurants and coffee spots. Parking is in a covered parking garage to the rear. We tried the little bar inside and had some interesting appetizers and drinks. Alcoholic Rootbeer...yes! But unfortunately our experience was well short of such a historic destination. Arrived to find zero toilet paper in the place. The housekeeper thought we were fibbing. Nope, no wipes And note to all: DO NOT get a room to the front of the hotel! The Harleys and tractor trailers traveling through the roundabout will keep you up all night. Not to mention, the loud talkers on the front patio all night and early morning. If it wasn't for the amazing Civil War sites we would not return.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLCascade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We will certainly share your thoughts with our housekeeping team to make sure that all of our rooms are as properly stocked as they should be. We're glad that accommodations were cleanly and the service was great, and you'll be happy to know we have rooms higher up and on the rear of the hotel so that our guests can enjoy a well deserved night of quiet slumber. We appreciate you sharing, and look forward to being able to have you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
Andrew Stevenson
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Hotel was exceptional the staff was very helpful and friendly would definitely stay here again.would highly recommend this hotel rooms were very comfy and clean and a very convenient location right in the middle of town

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pschifando0725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share about your recent stay. We're glad you had a great experience, and our accommodations and service were able to meet your needs and exceed your expectations. We're thankful for the kind feedback, and we look forward to being able to host future travels to the Gettysburg area.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Stevenson
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Hotel was lovely...staff was attentive. Perfect location..right in the heart of the city(the city circle). If I ever come back definitely staying here again. Has a parking garage right behind the hotel. And bar and restaurant in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynthiadrazek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GettysburgHotelMgr, Manager at Gettysburg Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2018

Thank you so much for the positive feedback. We're glad you stayed with us during this quick getaway, and we hope to have you stay with us again in the future on extended adventures to the Gettysburg area.

Warm Regards,
Andrew Stevenson
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews