We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant...Love the decor”
Review of Wyndham Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Gettysburg
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Gettysburg
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Elegant...Love the decor”
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I would love to come back to this hotel. The room was beautiful, the pool was clean, and the fitness center was big compared to other hotels. The staff was very friendly. The only downside would be the fact that there is no mini fridge or microwave in the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manurepile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    799
    236
    76
    28
See reviews for
889
703
81
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We have stayed in many Wyndham hotels before including NYC. Check in was a breeze. The hotel lobby as well as the rest of the hotel public areas, are very clean and inviting. We stayed in a 1 bedroom suite. The bathroom area was huge and the walk in shower was amazing. We travel quite a bit and even with staying in resorts, this was one of the largest bathrooms he have had.
After check in, that is were the nice, RELAXING weekend ended. I booked this hotel knowing there was a large indoor pool and hot tub. When I went to to the pool area, I could not believe what I saw. At least 50-75 kids in the pool with only 3 adults watching. I went to the hot tub first and 6 kids were in the hot tub and at least 3 were under 8 yrss. old swimming under water, kicking and screaming. I got out decided to try and take a swim in the pool, but the same thing. It was terrible. No adult supervision at all. I went right to the front desk made the staff aware and they were just relaxed and said thank you. Found out there was a 4H, cow convention going on that weekend. Dinner at the 1863 Rest. in the hotel was NOT what we thought. I made reservations for dinner the week before Valentines Day and was NEVER told there would be a special menu with only choice sellections for the weekend. The service was terrible, Only saw our waiter once. The mgr. gave us the check, I even noted on the check about our dinner and NO response.
This is not the Wyndham Corperation I know.

Room Tip: Check out Dunlapps Family Rest. only a 5 minute drive away for breakfast. Home cooked food and fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brian03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtonville NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

Halls were filled with middle schoolers bursting from rooms to conference in halls blocking hallways and filling them with noise. Four lung tens came rom a room excited about "cuddling" and wanting to switch partners when they returned! Only adult supervision I saw was as loud as the youth.

The Wi-Fi on 5th floor center was nearly nonexistent! Downloads, if they completed, took minutes! Room change was provided but same problems were on that floor as well. Kids were running and screaming throughout the hotel for two days. Last night was quiet.

Had to stay because only way to reach "Easytobook.com" was by an international number. Last use of them as well! Don't use that site!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Harmon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We just spent two nights (Sun thru Tues) at the Wyndham in Gettysburg, a great deal from Hotwire.

In the Wyndham style, it is quite elegant from the exquisitely appointed lobby (including a black baby grand piano, wingback leather chairs, fine sofa settees and an internet alcove -- to the in-house restaurant with white cloth service -- 1863 House -- whose menu is lovely and, yes, pricey (hey, you are not going to get rack of lamb and filet mignon under $20 anywhere). We were eating cheap this weekend so did not try the fare nor at breakfast, but Yelp reviews give it high stars. The tavern is also exquisitely appointed with a grand wood-carved bar and lounge area.

The hotel has a "presidential" theme overall: there is an authentic cannon used in a Civil War battle off the lobby; and the carpets are all stars and stripes and presidential seals keeping with the Gettysburg theme. They fairly display portraits of both the Union and Confederate leaders (Lincoln and Davis) as well as other interesting artwork of other presidents. USA Today and the Wallstreet Journal are complimentary daily, and there is an ATM machine. The gift shop was closed until Thursday (winter hours).

The room was small but also well-appointed. I love the red and wheat colored theme of the rooms (strangely and am just realizing this as I write, it represents the blood in the fields of the Battle of Gettysburg -- this is not meant to sound creepy, it is classically done). I agree with previous posters that the elevator chime is obnoxious with this recorded "Yoo Hoo" sound. Thankfully we were not put near them.

We inquired about a room with a jacuzzi tub, there are none but there is a great pool and hottub. There is also no refrigerator in the room. I have to say, the bathroom shower design is nonsensical with the half-door shower. Don't they realize that the splashing water out of the open end is degrading the bathroom door? The right lower edge of the door and the hinge are swelling and chipping from the moisture and of course the floor gets soaked. The tempered glass shower wall is probably dangerous as it does wobble and could break with an unlucky person who may slip and fall into it. The King bed was luxurious, soft like a cloud. Not a single sign of bedbug activity.
We also had good Wi-Fi reception for our I-phones if needed but there is a laptop connector.

The reasons I chose to rate it Excellent, albeit we were there in the dead of winter -- a great time to explore the battlefields without crowds, but it was mighty cold the first day -- and were maybe one of perhaps 6 rooms occupied in the entire hotel (it was very quiet -- "Come play with us Danny"):
-- the rooms and bathroom are completely and utterly clean.
-- the windows open.
-- the TV had excellent reception and a full band of channels.
-- extra pillows without having to ask, and an extra blanket in the closet.
-- the guest laundry is complimentary, -- detergent ($0.75)
-- the front desk was top-notch accommodating.
-- the gym is open 24 hours (nicely equipped with treadmills, stairsteppers, free weights and a TV)
-- My big one: the POOL and hottub are OPEN UNTIL 11pm !!!

This is a big plus for me who usually looks for a pool/ hottub at a hotel but they always close too early. The only thing I loathe about pools and hot tubs at hotels are the kids -- there should be a cut off time. When we excitedly went to the pool, at around 9pm, just my luck (despite the hotel being relatively unbooked), there they were: two screaming kids jumping from the pool to the hottub, their parents aloof as usual. Sigh.
So we had to wait until they left to enjoy the hottub but it is large and relaxing. NOTE: The pool area is very slippery, the water is not heated to the point of a warm bath, but it is manageable. They also have a handicap lift for in and out of the pool -- a very nice accommodation for those who may need it.
We had extra towels deliverd promptly to the room when we called for them.
Being winter the other restaurants in the complex (Gribaldis -- which is for special events only anyway-- and the Old Eagle) were not operating, but we had no problem driving into town. (We ate in town at GarryOwens Pub, Tommies Pizza, La Bella and the old Lincoln Diner -- separate reviews)
The movie theater (multiplex with I believe 8 screens) is also just across the parking lot.

Will definitely stay at Wyndham again when going back to Gettysburg.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJDRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Disappointing...restaurants out front were closed so only in hotel restaurant nearby. Tray full of dirty dishes in front of our room when we checked in...after roll away was delivered, they didn't bother to take away the tray, requiring another call to the front desk...room smelled like cigarettes although it was a non smoking room..."Deluxe Suite" lacked a fridge or microwave, lots of wasted space in the room. Conveniently located to downtown and skiing at Liberty Mountain. Deserted this time of year...we had most of the hotel to ourselves. Nice pool and gym facilities.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5Rookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
0.1 km away
Courtyard Gettysburg
Courtyard Gettysburg
#16 of 27 in Gettysburg
567 reviews
3.5 km away
Gettysburg Hotel
Gettysburg Hotel
#12 of 27 in Gettysburg
1,045 reviews
4.4 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#3 of 27 in Gettysburg
558 reviews
5.0 km away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Gettysburg
0.8 km away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 27 in Gettysburg
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Gettysburg

Property: Wyndham Gettysburg
Address: 95 Presidential Cir, Gettysburg, PA 17325-8397
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gettysburg
#6 Family Hotel in Gettysburg
#8 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): $139 - $279
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Gettysburg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by historic landmarks, Civil War-era charm, and stunning natural landscape, Gettysburg is a South Central Pennsylvania destination unlike any other. Situated just outside downtown Gettysburg, on the 100-acre Gateway Gettysburg campus, discover modern amenities, world-class dining, and a spectacular onsite theater just minutes from Gettysburg's most popular attractions. Guests of this centrally-located Gettysburg hotel are welcomed to this Federal-styled property by a dedicated and friendly hotel staff. After getting settled, take a refreshing dip in the indoor swimming pool, or enjoy a workout at the state-of-the-art fitness center. Two onsite restaurants dish up exceptional fare in a casual setting. Other exceptional guest services include shuttle services to local attractions and businesses, daily newspapers and complimentary WiFi. The Wyndham Gettysburg offers a modern escape for business and leisure travelers with 248 stylish guest rooms and convenient services that make life that much easier. Stylish furnishings and incredible comfort await at the well-appointed guest rooms and suites at the Wyndham Gettysburg. Whether traveling for business or leisure, guests will appreciate unwinding in the plush bedding surrounded by scarlet walls and presidential blue carpeting. Enjoy flat screen TVs, complimentary WiFi, coffee and tea maker, and upscale bath amenities. The gorgeous Deluxe Suites offer a distinguished ambiance, and separate living and dining room space. For convenience, impeccable room service is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Gettysburg Wyndham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing