We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“wow” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 Gettysburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Super 8 Gettysburg
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Gettysburg
Bruce Peninsula, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stopped here on the way to Washington and were so taken with the amenities we booked two more nights on the way back from Washington. Indoor pool, spa, and breakfast for less than $50.00 unbelievable. People at the front desk were more than helpful with tours and what and where to find things. Rooms were clean, large and had free internet. We realize this was off season but even if the price was double it would be good value. Close to shopping, restaurants and the centre of Gettysburg. Front desk staff were exceptional for us as Seniors very helpful and resourceful. Mattresses were a little to soft for our liking but still had a restful sleep. Hall ways need to be ventilated to reduce the stale smell.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagwood-Blondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
The staff at Super 8 are so thankful for your review. All our staff strive to make each and every guests' stay as comfortable as possible. We are glad your took advantage of all the many amenities we offer. If you happen to come through the Gettysburg area feel free to stop in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    328
    361
    198
    82
    39
See reviews for
478
304
82
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

It was my husband's turn to pick were we would be staying. When he said he found a great place for only 50 something a night I was a little worried. However, when we got there and opened the door all I kept saying was WOW! I could not believe how big and clean the room was. Plus, there was free internet and breakfast. Have stayed at many hotels in Gettysburg but for the money this place was the best.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank whiskers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We thank you for such a wonderful review. We are glad that your expectations were exceeded. If you need any other lodging in the Gettysburg area please feel free to contact us directly!

Thanks Again!
Amy Riffey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel was a great price for two nights in Gettysburg, but as expected you get what you pay for.

The pros: price, beds were comfy, not far away from downtown, front desk person greeting was nice, and free continental breakfast.

The cons: Ventilation on the second floor hallway would be helpful since it smells like cigarette smoke, clock was broken in the room, no "Do Not Disturb" sign and they never cleaned our room. As stated above we had no DND sign so they should have come and even after a phone call to the front desk who said they'd take care of it, no one ever came.

Overall I'd probably give it another chance if I was ever in Gettysburg again because it was so cheap, but even an inexpensive hotel should do the basics like service/clean the room.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTNYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for your review. I do apologize about the housekeeping services that you did not receive. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel to discuss this situation.

Thank you,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
101 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

This was previously a Holiday Inn Express. They have updated the place post take-over and its just too cheap a rate for what they offer. I work for a hotel and am very picky. Many times when a hotel loses its franchise, it is because of lack of keeping the place up and running well. It may not be what the new Express hotels are like, but it is definately more than your average Super 8. You cannot get such a nice place for such a great price anymore. I have stayed here a few times, and have never had a complaint. I could mention the whole hot breakfast ordeal with some more variety, butt then I would sound like the typical whiner on this website. Lets face it, for the money you save, you can buy Perkins itself. I look forward to a weekend whirlpool room with the family visit in mid January.

Mike G

Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank gburn07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, 3 January 2012
Thank you for such a nice review. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

My only complaint was that noone cleaned my room, and I was there for 3 nights. Other than that, it's a great room for the price, and everyone was nice. Also, a man just entered my room without knocking, wanting to touch up with some paint. I wasn't dressed when he came in. I would have complained when I checked out but noone was at the desk. Not sure if I'd stay here again, I would need some reassurance that my room would be cleaned

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darrin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amy R, General Manager at Super 8 Gettysburg, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
I do apologize for what you encountered during your stay. Did you bring it to the Front Desk Agents attention that your room had not been cleaned? I wish we could have gotten that taken care of during your stay as we do attempt to clean all of our guests room unless the DND sign is on.
As for the man attempting to paint your room, I do apologize on his bahalf, I am not sure if he thought you left for the day or was already checked out. I will speak with him to make sure he checks with the desk first.
Our Front Desk Agents also take care of the breakfast and lobby area during their shifts so I assure they were just busy at the moment when you came down to check out. At any point you are more than welcome to use the phone located at the desk to dial "0" as instructed to speack with an associate.
I hope you give us a chance to prove our selves to you and if you need any further feelf ree to contact me.

Thank you,
Amy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Gettysburg hotels
2.7 km away
Quality Inn Gettysburg Battlefield
2.5 km away
Sleep Inn and Suites
Sleep Inn and Suites
#2 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
1.7 km away
Wyndham Gettysburg
Wyndham Gettysburg
#6 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Quality Inn & Suites in Gettysburg
1.2 km away
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
Hampton Inn Gettysburg
#4 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
2.4 km away
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
Comfort Suites Gettysburg
#8 of 26 in Gettysburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Gettysburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Gettysburg

Property: Super 8 Gettysburg
Address: 869 York Rd, Gettysburg, PA 17325
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Gettysburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Gettysburg
#14 Romantic Hotel in Gettysburg
Price range (per night): $55 - $195
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 Gettysburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gettysburg, PA. We are conveniently located exactly one mile from the center of Gettysburg and two miles from the battlefields and the related attractions. We are positioned closely to the crossroads of US Rt 30 and US Rt 15, directly behind Perkins Restuarant. On your next visit to Gettysburg, please come stay with the Super 8 and enjoy our SuperStart breakfast, free wireless internet, and indoor pool/spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Super 8 Gettysburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Gettysburg Hotel Gettysburg
Holiday Inn Gettysburg
Super Eight Gettysburg
Gettysburg Holiday Inn Express
Gettysburg Super Eight
Gettysburg Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing