We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (425)
Filter reviews
425 results
Traveller rating
334
72
15
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
72
15
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blue parrot majestic suite cookies union hotel the lord nelson suite breakfast basket coffee cake turn down service full size fridge baked goods charming hotel within walking distance small kitchen each evening living area small hotel street noise
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 425 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018

This Union suite was cozy and perfect for 2. Sitting area had 2 chairs and a TV, small kitchenette with microwave and Refrigerator. They had a cute basket of homemade breads/muffins/fruit, OJ and milk in the refrigerator, coffee and tea that was replenished each day with something new. The bathroom was small but enough for us, shower refreshing. The only problem was the squeaky bed! Any move of the body caused a high pitched, loud squeak of the bed. The mattress could have been better as well. Unfortunately the bed is the most important part of the hotel stay, so this did cause some disappointment. If the bed would be fixed I would love to stay here again.

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L0veavacati0n75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review! We value your opinion. I will look into the bed in that suite. Next time you stay, you could try a different suite because they are not all the same. I'm happy you enjoyed your stay for the most part. When you want to stay again, just give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I stayed here in late September, and it was fantastic. The rooms are spacious and clean. The delivered breakfasts are a treat. The hotel is located in the center of town close to everything. The staff is ready and able to answer your questions, and offer suggestions for dining. There is ample parking provided behind the hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank goldfngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your great review! We do strive in making sure are guests are happy and comfortable. Just give us a call the next time you want to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

The rooms at this location are huge. The ensuite kitchen is nice, but we did not need it, so we could have booked a cheaper room. Will probably do that next trip. Conveniently located in downtown, most every good restaurant and bar is within walking distance, as is the Confederate Museum. Nice downtown shopping district. Staff is very helpful, but the printer station for hard copies of boarding passes is very difficult to use and takes a while to accomplish a simple pass print. Too many steps with some weird software program. Desk staff had to step in and help us. But we will definitely rebook for our next trip. Parking in lot behind hotel and very convenient.

Date of stay: May 2018
Thank alocalSummervilleSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you for your review. Our staff does strive to give the best service they can. And you can definately ask for a cheaper room next time you would like to stay with us. We do give our returning guests discounts. As for the printers, we do have issues with them from time to time. Please give us a call the next time you would like to stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018

Check in was fine, the hostess (her name is Tuesday) was very pleasant and helpful. The room was below par, esp. considering the price: carpet was dirty (filthy, actually), very cheap foam pillows, bed was old and rocky, furniture was very old and I'm sure filthy. I guess in a place like Gettysburg the tourism is so high that you don't need to strive for excellence it's ok to strive for maximizing profits and I'd say they met that goal. For the money I paid I expected the basics (cleanliness, med-high quality bed/pillows) to be a given but not so.

Date of stay: October 2018
1  Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel S, Manager at James Gettys Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

I'm sorry that you experience with us was not a good one Daniel. I can tell you our housekeepers strive themselves in the cleanliness of our rooms and the hotel. If we can make it up to you, please give us a call.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2018

We booked the James Getty Hotel to stay for the reenactment weekend in July of 2018. We absolutely loved this hotel. It has a B&B feel without the intrusiveness of a B&B. Very private, lovely suites that are exceptionally clean. They leave fresh cream, OJ and treats in the refrigerator at night for late night snacks or early morning goodies. It is on the main street heading into the square which makes it walkable to all of the local restaurants and bars. We loved the location and the staff at this hotel. It was our first stay and won't be our last. Our room had a separate sitting area with a small kitchenette to prepare food if you wish with a cooktop, microwave and apartment size refrigerator. Next time, we won't bring a cooler since the refrigerator is available. The first night street noise was loud, but the second night it was as quiet as a church. I assume Friday nights are party time in the area. It wasn't enough to complain about, but if you are a light sleeper, request a room away from the alley and street if possible. The biggest plus is the availability of a parking spot in the back. Parking is a challenge in downtown Gettysburg so this makes this hotel very appealing! I highly recommend the James Gettys Hotel!

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SoozDengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews