We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, close to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Ranked #31 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Aiea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location, close to everything!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Typical Holiday Inn Express experience. The staff was very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The room was very clean and comfortable. No noise from neighbors. THe bathroom was a bit small, but very clean, modern and functional. The complimentary breakfast was a great start to the day. Hot and cold items. Wireless internet to plan your day! Parking is a little confusing if you drive. When you first arrive, you can park inside the parking garage to the left of the main entrance to check in and get your bags. You can pay for parking at the front desk at check-in ($21 a day). You'll get a card which gives you unlimited drive in/out privileges. The actual parking is a bit crazy...the cars are meant to be double parked. We parked ours close to the wall about a car length ahead of the car behind us so no one was blocked. You are central to everything at this hotel. The tourist attractions are a short walk in every direction, shops, restaurants, cafes, shopping all within walking distance. We did not use our car at all once we parked it. There is a pool on the 7th floor. The lobby also has a computer for guest use. The price was a bit high, but I suppose this is what you would pay to get such a great location. The amenities this hotel offered were better or comparable to others in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jpratt72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    469
    145
    45
    17
See reviews for
278
222
67
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
303 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

Arrived on a Friday afternoon. The receptionist made me feel welcome to include providing a Gift Bag with Goodies for being a Priority Club member which came in handy later on during the day. The hotel is in a great location. Quick walk to City Hall, Reading Market, Independence Hall, Metro and easy walk to other tourist locations. Hotel is on Walnut street, which offers good alternatives for food and dining and pubs near-by. Although a long walk, was able to walk back and forth to the Art Museum. Walked to Independence Hall on a Sunday morning which took about 10 minutes. Also went to a Phillies game, which was a quick hop on the Metro. The breakfast was ok, not great, but ok for being free. The room in general was large and fine. Only complaint was the thin walls. I could hear people in both sides of my room, but when I turned on the room AC fan, the white noise took care of the that. Hotel has free wi-fi which was great for iPhone and iPad devices.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodyDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Point Pleasant Beach, New Jersey
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Nice location on Walnut Street in Philly. My daughter and her friend had a great weekend shopping and dining in Philly while staying at the Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown. I used my priority rewards points so room was free. Clean, personable staff would recommend as a place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 28 August 2012
Dear Gary S,

Thank you for telling us about your daughter's stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments about the hotel. We appreciate these comments and will pass them on to our staff. They always appreciate when they are doing a good job. Thank you so much for your stay. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Takoma Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

We use priority reward for 1 night and paid only $25 parking a night, in and out free.
Short walk to McGillin's Ale House and Sampan Philly (great food) so we are very happy.
Said hotel in renovation but it was truly quiet. Nice breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taisansanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementTeamGM, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown, responded to this review, 24 August 2012
Dear taisansanee,

Thank you for telling us about your stay with us. We appreciate all of your comments. Thank you for bearing with us during our much needed renovation. Thank you for staying with us. We hope that you will stay with us again in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

Conveniently located off of 13th Street close to theatres, shopping, cafes/restaurants and transportation. However, this place can't handle crowds. I had requested a Queen/King bed and got twin beds and when I called the front desk all I got was "Sorry, we're full" The bed was comfortable and the room was okay, but nothing spectacular; just average.

The breakfast buffet was a nightmare with people climbing over one another to get what was mostly pastries and pre-made items. The staff was trying hard to keep up with the crowds but not doing it very successfully. I grabbed a couple of muffins and a cup of coffee and headed up to my room (all the tables were taken and a lot of people still milling about looking for something to eat from the buffet).

For location, this place works. But if you want some better properties in the vicinity, there are plenty of choices that cost a little more.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richiedix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Rodeway Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown

Property: Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown
Address: 1305 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-4566
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#32 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): $222 - $482
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover all that Downtown Philadelphia has to offer at the convenient, clean and comfortable Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia. In the heart of Center City, you will have access to shopping, dining, entertainment and the arts. Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown is within walking distance to various historic sites including: Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and the Betsy Ross House. Our hotel is convenient to many other attractions including the Pennsylvania Convention Center, the Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia's Restaurant Row, Penn's Landing, Philadelphia Zoo and Museum area. A short subway ride away are professional sports venues: Lincoln Financial Field, Wachovia Center, and Citizens Ball park. Getting there is fast and convenient. Easy access to all major highways and only 8 miles from the Philadelphia International Airport, you ll spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Philadelphia to do. Whether you re coming to Philadelphia for business or pleasure, rest assured your room at the Holiday Inn Express Midtown Philadelphia is your personal retreat. Relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as free High-Speed Wireless Internet throughout the hotel, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Bar, Outdoor Pool, 32 LCD/HD TV s and comfortable bedding means every night is a great night and every day starts right. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, IHG, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia-Midtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia Midtown Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing