We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (687)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
174
188
126
106
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
188
126
106
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews evening reception free happy hour omelette station separate bedroom benjamin franklin parkway logan square center city living area art museum hotel is in a great location great view of the city higher floor rooms are large complimentary breakfast business trip yogurt shaban
Filter
Updating list...
230 - 235 of 688 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018

This was a great location for us, but of all my many hotel stays this was definitely the worst experience I have ever had. To start with we had to wait over 2 hours for them to get a room ready for us. Then we had to wait 30 minutes for the elevator (you would have to visit this place to believe the elevator issues). When we got to the room, the deadbolt was broken, the latch on the bathroom door was broken so that the door wouldn’t stay shut, the phone didn’t work, some of the electrical outlets didn’t work and there was no Kleenex in the room. After calling the front desk, the did promptly send up Kleenex and a mechanic. The mechanic got the phone and outlets working (wires were’t connected) but could fix the bathroom latch or the deadbolt stating that they didn’t have the parts and would have to order them. Come on. How many of these identical doors do they have and they don’t have parts for them! They did provide a complementary happy hour which was nice, but when we tried to go over to the restaurant both doors were locked even though it was open. Fortunately an employee passing us let us in. The restaurant was a TGIF which I enjoy. The food was good, but the service was excruciatingly slow even with the place mostly empty. The waitress kept saying I’ll be right back and not return for 30 minutes. Yes it did take her 30 minutes to return with our drinks and the salads didn’t come until she delivered our meals. She did manage to refill our drinks once in the over two hour ordeal. I’ll provide an update if they truly try to make amend, but I would think two or three times before making this a choice for your time and money? Yes, the rooms were clean.

Room tip: Get a room on the lower floors. Th elevators can honestly take 20 to 30 minutes. I’m not exaggerating.
Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank thebrendlespublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha W, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for posting your feedback from your visit with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences you experienced due to our elevator improvement project, and the maintenance issues in your room. We are also sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the restaurant. However, we are glad that other aspects of your stay were positive, such as the cleanliness of your room and the complementary happy hour. Your feedback is very important to us, and I can assure you that we shared your comments with our operational teams for their review and have addressed the issues you kindly brought to our attention. We hope you will give us another opportunity to gain your trust and show you the outstanding service we normally provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

The list of complaints is significant, so I'll start with the positives
The property is very nice, as are the rooms.Very clean, not much to say but very nice. Everything you come to expect from an Embassy Suite, manager's happy hour, and free breakfast in the am.
The problems were very long waiting periods to check in ( and out). Waited 30 minutes for a Valet to park the car- wow! Then a long line at check in- another 30 minutes. If that wasn't enough, only one elevator was working and the lines were extraordinary. Whether going up or down, it was a VERY lengthy wait. And being on the 18th, the stairs were not an option. In general , not an easy hotel to navigate.

Also, TGIFridays was next door for some late night food, you had to go outside the hotel to get to it, not awful but not comfortably convenient either.

Too much hassle to stay here, by the way this was a MONDAY night, so staying here on a weekend would be a much worse experience

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmethart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha W, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your accommodations, happy hour, and breakfast. We always want to ensure that our guest experience is top-notch. Unfortunately, we are aware that the elevator improvement project has caused some delays that are affecting our guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. We are all very much looking forward to the completion of the elevator improvements. We also apologize for the delays you experienced with the valet. I will pass along your concerns to the appropriate teams. We hope that you’ll give us a second chance in the future to make up for the trouble you unfortunately experienced during your stay this time around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for one night (March 31-April 1) and I don't know where to start. Upon arriving it took over 15 minutes to even get into the valet. The valet was so backed up that cars were parked at the front of the hotel and everyone else was stuck waiting in the street until the one valet that was working could move all of the cars. Check-in was easy once we arrived at the hotel, however the elevators in the hotel completely ruined our trip. We were given rooms on the 9th floor but upon checking in soon learned that the only 2 elevators in the hotel were under renovation and it took 20 minutes in line with other very irritated hotel guests to get an elevator. This was the last elevator we were able to get during our stay. We waited for 28 minutes on our floor for an elevator only to have one never arrive. Being 8 months pregnant and having to take the stairs all day over our stay was not only infuriating but unacceptable. The excuse we were given when we complained was that a volleyball team was staying at the hotel and the elevators were slower than normal. On several occasions we were the only people waiting for an elevator and still were unable to get one from the lobby in under 10 minutes and were never able to get one from the 9th floor. We had to carry all luggage down the narrow stairs upon checking out. We spoke to several people including workers at the hotel who all said that this hotel has been having this issue for a long time (despite the front desk saying it was a new system that was only a week old). The rooms themselves were nice, however, the elevator issue and rudeness of the hotel manager when we complained made it an easy choice for us to never stay at this hotel again.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Discover764620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha W, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you very much for providing feedback after your recent stay. We apologize for the difficulties you encountered with the valet service. This is not typical at our hotel, and I will relay your comments to the valet team immediately. I also apologize for the elevator frustrations you experienced. We are undergoing an elevator modification that has caused some hiccups. Once that is complete, our elevators will be more efficient and quicker which will be greatly enhance our guest experience. We are all very much looking forward to the completion of this project. We never like hearing that our guests won’t be back, and I do hope that you will give us another chance once this improvement project is complete. Thank you again for sharing your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Do NOT stay here. One of their elevators was broken the entire weekend. Another broke on Easter Sunday. Because of the elevators my mother had to walk down 8 flights of stairs (better than those who had to walk down 26 flights), and was knocked over accidentally by a hotel employee who opened the door and knocked her over. We ended up spending 6 hours in the emergency room.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank suff2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha W, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2018

Thank you for leaving feedback on behalf of your mother regarding her recent stay with us. We were performing routine maintenance and enhancements to our elevators at the time of her stay. In an effort to prevent delays for our guests, we did leave two of our three elevators in operation. Unfortunately, one of the two in operation did unexpectedly go out of service and we sincerely regret the delays this may have caused some guests. I understand that there was an incident that occurred with an employee of the third-party valet company. Although our hotel team was not directly involved with the incident, our Director of Rooms was close by to assist with a sense of urgency, which your mother very kindly complimented our team for. It is my understanding that she has received satisfactory follow up with the valet company who has been in direct contact with her since the incident. Our Director of Rooms has also personally been in contact with you following your review. Should there be any additional ways we can assist, please do not hesitate to reach out to us directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

This place is undergoing renovation and is not ready to accept guests. One elevator out, all electronic and really creepy. Returned after an day out and one of the beds not made. We had reserved as 2 adults 1 child. They were not ready for. Three, even when i asked for three breakfast passes only got 2. The host at breakfast was kind enough to just record the room. I have never been in an Embassy Suite that did NOT have 2bathrooms. That is why I booked here and not at. Doubletree. I would suggest you wait and check to see if renovations are done and if they are adequately staffed and ready for guests. As a long time hilton honors member I am appalled

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank yysuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha W, Guest Relations Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Center City, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback and for your loyalty to the Hilton brand. We are truly sorry and disappointed to hear about the perception you are left with about our staff and accommodations. We take all feedback from guests very seriously, and I can assure you that we shared your complaints with our operational teams for their review and have addressed the issues you kindly brought to our attention. We hope you will consider giving us another chance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews