We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Lunch”
Review of City Tavern

City Tavern
Reserve with OpenTable
City Tavern is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 5,110 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 8 - USD 50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: City Centre East
Cross street: 2 nd & Walnut Streets
Transit: The Market-Frankford "El" has a stop at 2nd and Market Streets as well as the 21 & 42 bus lines drops at our door
Description: Once called "the most genteel tavern in America" by John Adams and the first unofficial "White House," Chef Walter Staib's City Tavern has boasted the finest celebrations since 1773. With over 230 years of hospitality, City Tavern has been the centerpiece of affairs now immortalized in history. An evening at City Tavern is certain to be remembered. Just imagine sampling specialties, such as pepperpot soup, colonial turkey pot pie, roast duckling, Thomas Jefferson's sweet potato biscuits paired with ales the ales of the revolution made from George Washington & Benjamin Franklin's recipes -- all served by costumed wait staff. Watch an episode of A Taste of History on PBS, our Chef Proprietor Walter Staib will give you glimpse of what we do here at City Tavern.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Wonderful old world charm. Great location, service, food, ambiance and history. If you can make sure you order pot roast and desserts. Each entree is authentic.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jjmtexasjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 31 of 3,963 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Wonderful menu including wine and beer. The staff was very friendly and we loved that they dressed in the clothing from the era. It has 3 floors so if you cannot do stairs tell them when making your reservation. Our party of 8 tried menu appetizers and entrees and loved them all. Be sure to ask the wait staff for their recommendations.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank gaileyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

People should understand that this place is trying to replicate the feel of the way it was 250 years ago. The “bar” area isn’t what we would expect because it wasn’t that way then. Same with the benches and the drinks and the food. But once you get that, you can appreciate the beauty and wonder of the place. The period costumes of the staff help the feeling. I really loved the 4 “period” beers they had and recommend the sampler. And the food is unique and wonderful. A great place for anyone with the slightest love of history.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank joefromcincy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

From the minute we walked into this beautiful restaurant to the completion of our desert...it was a wonderful experience. The food was top-notch and the service was just as superb! Thank you, Alyssa....for an unforgettable experience. Will be back and I have already told the couple we stayed with about this restaurant and suggested they should go!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a quaint, charming delicious step back into colonial times! All staff wore colonial clothing and the furnishings looked like antiques. Tables were set with Pewter cups. Very unique dishes on the menu from rabbit to my choice, roast duckling. We chose Ales of the Revolution microbrew beers that claim to be the original recipes brewed by Hamilton, Jefferson, etc. Very tasty. The bread board was a sampling of all homemade breads. The molasses was our favorite. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the French Onion soup while I ate every bite of my duck. It was perfectly moist and flavorful and plentiful! Make sure you are hungry! The pot pie delivered to another table looked delicious, too. I noticed that neither customer was able to finish the dish so it might be a good one to share. I would definitely visit City Tavern as part of a sightseeing trip to Philadelphia.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chickelbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Tavern also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to City Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing