We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not recommend it! Terrible night sleep, pathetic breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Will not recommend it! Terrible night sleep, pathetic breakfast!”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I stayed in this B&B with my family last October. We chose to stay in a B&B instead of a hotel thinking of having a welcoming place and a nice breakfast! The prices we paid for each of the rooms was about $200 so I do not consider this a bargain considering you can stay at nicer place (hotels) for less. The owners did not offer much advice on recommendations on what to do on a Sunday afternoon. We all had a terrible night sleep thanks to a combination of: (i) sleeping in an old building where you can hear every noise possible made by other guests, and (ii) the location of the hotel. I was at the point of laughing when having breakfast... Other than a miniscule portion of fruit served in a cordial glass, there were old cereal bars and regular cereal.
Finally, we left my daughter's tiny pillow in the B&B and requested the owners to mail it to us. This was a month ago, no news yet...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moniwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris S, Owner at Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 November 2011
We appreciate the observations and opinions expressed by this guest concerning the Cornerstone and will keep them in mind as we continue to work to improve the experience of future guests.
Our continental style breakfast is available weekdays because the majority of our guests have indicated that this style best suits their requirements. Our offering includes; fresh brewed coffee and a selection of teas; fresh fruit; yogurts, orange and cran-raspberry juices; a fresh baked good or pastry (scone, muffin, etc.); and a selection of cold cereals. In addition, several varieties of breakfast bars as well as biscotti are available. These are restocked on a regular basis.
Both our website and in room concierge booklet contain a listing of a number of attractions near the Cornerstone. The Philadelphia Art Museum, the Philadelphia Zoo, the Liberty Bell, Constitution Hall, Center City Philadelphia, Boat House Row, are simply a sampling of the offerings in close proximity of the Cornerstone.
We do apologize for the delay in sending back the small pillow. We had misplaced the name of the party that had left this item behind. Once we identified the family, we sent it back to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    47
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
74
97
29
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summit Station, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

My now fiance and I had a very romantic stay at Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast. Not only was the family who owned the B&B warm and welcoming, but the entire mansion was beautiful. Everything was so clean and well kept. We stayed on a Sunday night, so we had a lovely continental breakfast of fruit with egg custard served in long stemmed wine goblets, homemade muffins that were out of this world, and a mix of cereals and breakfast bars, juice, tea, milk and coffee. Our room had it's own bathroom and shower, and was beautifully decorated. We also received two fee passes to visit the Eastern State Pennitentiary for a daytime tour, which is an interesting part of Philadelphia history. Close to major universities, the Franklin Institute and so much more, it was an experience that neither of us will soon forget... besides the fact that we became engaged that night. We will most definitelly recommend this B&B to everyone we know, and will be back hopefully more than once.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2011

We chose Cornerstone because we have stayed in B&B's in the US before and found them to be very good standard and very welcoming. We were not disappointed at the Cornerstone B&B - Dennis and Liz were wonderful hosts and did everything possible to make our stay as comfortable and easy as possible, even driving us to the station for an early start one morning. We have had difficulties finding B&B's in the US that have twin bedded rooms and the Cornerstone had a lovely twin bedded room with all the facilities that you could wish for. We would recommend this property to anyone considering staying in Philadelphia and it is close to the station and other ameneties.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We stayed in Philadelphian at Cornerstone with my husband last November. We were lucky, since if the city were not full-booked because of two conferences at that time, we would stay somewhere downtown and missed the opportunity to stay here.
The building was like a fairy tale house. The interior and exterior was very tastefully decorated. The room and the common areas were very clean and tidy. Chris was a wonderful host. The continental breakfast was wonderful with fresh fruit salad and homemade muffins.
Our room was very comfortable and quiet altough it was on the first floor just opposite the main entrance and everything we needed was available.
Very close to the Philadelphia train station, Drexel University and UPenn. Easy access to downtown by subway. Nice neighborhood. Not cheap but worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zuzzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

I picked Cornerstone because it was the closest and cheapest option for my USMLE Step 2 CS exam. However, I didn't notice how much I lucked out when I managed to get a reservation because I was in for quite a treat! The propery is very well maintained and the rooms exactly like the pictures posted on the website. Also, since so many students for CS pass through they are pretty knowledgeable about the exam. I was provided a very clear map with directions on how to get to the exam center which is lierally a 10 minute walk down the street. The "Continental Breakfast" was the best continental breakfast I've ever seen (homemade scones, homemade muffins, fresh strawberries, blueberries and kiwis!) and I'm interested in what their "Full Breakfast" on the weekend is like. I stayed in Franklin which has a separate private bathroom down the hall. It wasn't too inconvenient to walk there to use the bathroom. If I had to reach for a complaint - it would be that there isn't very much lighting in the room. I like my room bright for studying and I had to move one of the lamps closer for me to sit at the desk and read. But seriously, this is very minor and overall my experience was great. I will try to stay there again if I interview in Philly - even if it's not the cheapest or closest because Cornerstone was that great!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DrBonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Hilton Inn at Penn
Hilton Inn at Penn
#3 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,367 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,347 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast

Property: Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3300 Baring St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-2529
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): $277 - $343
Hotel Class:3 star — Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Philadelphia's Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast, an elegant and cozy urban inn located within walking distance to the University of Pennsylvania, Drexel University, and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Cornerstone offers a unique opportunity to enjoy Philadelphia with Center City only minutes away and easily accessible by public transportation. The Cornerstone offers the following amenities at no additional charge: *Wifi * Breakfast * Zoo Package *Eastern State Package * Street Parking * Toiletries The Cornerstone Bed and Breakfast is a family owned and operated business. We look forward to making your visit a memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornerstone Hotel Philadelphia
Cornerstone Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing