We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In this case "Boutique" just means small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2016 via mobile

This hotel is okay. But it's old, it feels cramped (that stifling kind of small) and is not really on Rittenhouse Square (it's in an alley) and it's steps from the actual, amazing, famous Rittenhouse Hotel - so there's no reason to stay here.

The staff is lovely and helpful ... cramming your family and it's luggage in the tiny elevator... and directing you to the "good" off street, not- free, pay parking garage 2 blocks away - because the surface lot right there in the alley is "unreliable."

Breakfast was quaint, in the basement. Beds were good. Bathrooms are wonderful. I didn't *not like it - just go in eyes wide open.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
1  Thank Meredith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715, Manager at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Meredith C, We really appreciate your writing a review about your stay. Yes, we will admit that we are small hotel comprised of ( 23) rooms with an average size of 325sf, however we do have larger suites 400-700sf if you prefer more space. We are located 50 feet from Rittenhouse square on a side street that once housed the carriages for the mansions on the square.

We do not have onsite parking, but you are able to pull up out front for 15 minutes to drop off your luggage and check-in. We recommend a secure indoor garage 2.5 blocks from the hotel for a fee of $23 per 24 hours.

Please reach out to me personally if you would like to give us another try.

Best regards,

Daniel Gioioso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2016

We found this for a quick romantic overnight in the city, on a quiet side street but a short walk from the park. Small boutique style with a continental breakfast in the basement, but the rooms were well appointed and front desk staff very attentive and nice. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The suite was not much more expensive and worth the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715, Manager at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Jim S, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your quick romantic get away, and your kind words about our rooms, breakfast and the staff.

Please come back again soon!

Best regards,

Daniel Gioioso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Rittenhouse 1715 is a very homey place for leisure travelers. The staff are very friendly and helpful! We met Daniel at the Reception and he offered to help us with parking since we were in a hurry for an event upon arrival - this really saved our day!! The cafe was nice and cozy, and me and my friend just love the decor and presentation of the breakfast! Lobby and room are cozy and clean. Highly recommend for leisure travelers. Only thing that is not convenient is the parking. The garage is about 2.5 blocks away, and will charge for whole day for each in & out.

Room Tip: There seems to be no elevators, so I guess lower floor will be easier for ppl with luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Wycee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715, Manager at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear Wycee, We appreciate your writing a five star review and you kind comments. I remember taking your car to the garage so you could attend a concert at the Curtis. Thank you for noticing our decor and finding the lobby and your room cozy.

Please contact me directly when you are ready to return!

Best regards,

Daniel Gioioso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Tucked away on a charming side street, this small hotel is perfect for a quiet stay. Very French in its ambience, the concierge was extremely helpful and professional. The room my husband and I shared was pretty and comfortable with a clean, nicely stocked bathroom.
For me, the bed was too soft and I ended up having to sleep, part of the night, on the floor. My husband, on the other hand, slept soundly and found the bed to be cozy and good. Oh well, I have a bad back!
Really, it was a great evening and a great room to return to. We would come back anytime!

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank scinoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715, Manager at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear scinoman, Thank you for taking the time to write a five star review, and your kind words about the staff and your room. I am so sorry to hear about the soft mattress not being to your liking. I have discussed this with ownership, so that we will have a solution moving forward with our renovations.

Please contact me directly upon your return.

Best regards,

Daniel Gioioso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2016 via mobile

This is our fifth visit. Well trained, warm staff. Cheery breakfast room with good continental breakfast, wine in the early evening, central location. Apple bread pudding on Thanksgiving morning. Our home away from home in Philly.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank EZtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1715, Manager at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2016

Dear EZtripping, Thank you for taking the time to write a review each time you stay. We appreciate the five star rating and your kind words. We all enjoy being your " home away from home in Philly"

The bread pudding was Ed's idea for Thanksgiving and it was A hit, so he is doing the same for Christmas.

We all want to say Congratulations on your son's wedding.

Best regards,

Daniel Gioioso
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#57 of 88 in Philadelphia
128 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#19 of 88 in Philadelphia
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $256 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TravelClick, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing