We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,698)
Filter reviews
1,698 results
Traveller rating
926
483
161
80
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
926
483
161
80
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsart barruth's chrisfront deskrooftop poolrittenhouse squarecity hallroom servicemarket streetwithin walking distancesuburban stationcity viewthe club loungewould highly recommend this hotelbed was comfortablebusiness triphotel is in a great locationhotel staff
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 1,698 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed in town for a business trip and the Sonesta was the closest hotel. I was in a suite on the 24th floor and surprised that the street noise was so loud. Also had some issues with customer service one night. I stopped by the front desk for extra bedding. Called an hour later. Waited another hour. Was put on hold for 15 minutes. Asked again for the bedding. Around 10pm I gave up. There is a great Ruth Chris steakhouse in the lobby.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled on business
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Jennifer L,

Thanks for your review. We are happy that you stayed with us but disappointed to read of your experiences. Our goal is meet or exceed our guest expectations. In regards to your stay, this should've been easy for us to deliver the services you wanted. Unfortunately, we came up short and truly apologize for our mistakes.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity. Please be sure to reach out the next time you return to Philadelphia.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018

We currently stay @ the facility. Great location as it is near all the facilities and sites one would wish to see in Philadelphia. We have a friend who is a manager @ another Sonesta facility and recommended us to stay at one of their locations (we are a life time platinum elite with Marriott and similar @ Hilton). We decided to stay here this time to explore.... Well, the facility is average - room is of average size, free internet, small lobby, average restaurant and bar... The big issue is service. We asked the staff to have our room cleaned by noon and we requested that @ 9:30 AM. Upon returning to our room around 1:15 PM, the room was not cleaned. We called the desk and requested again... Nothing happened for another 40 minutes... we then called again and only 30 minutes later, a member of the cleaning staff came and cleaned our room - while we were in the room. The cleaning staff was courteous but since we were in the room, we just asked her to do the minimum cleaning. Quite disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank _tomnguyen001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear of your experiences during your stay. We truly understand the importance of a clean room all the time and when you want your room service. It's unfortunate that we didn't live up to those expectations and you can rest assured that we will make adjustments to our processes to better service our future guests.

We understand that we can't change the past and would very much like the opportunity to improve the future. If you travel to Philadelphia again, please be sure to contact us. We would like to show to you that your experiences were more the exception than the rule.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018

Everything was fantastic about this property - the staff was so friendly and professional, rooms were immaculate and well appointed and the location is great. Can't wait to go back again as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear Christina W,

Thanks for your review. We are so pleased to read about your experiences especially those that involved our staff. We pride ourselves on providing the best hospitality to all guests, one at a time. We hope you will share your experiences with others, so they too can see what the Sonesta Philadelphia offers.

We hope to see you in the near future. Don't forget to make your reservations at Sonesta.com

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

From the time we got to the valet parking until the time we checked out everyone was extremely friendly & helpful. The hotel was very clean and we tried finding dirty areas in our room. We are proud to say we didn't find anything not only in our room but throughout the entire hotel. Definitely recommend this hotel. And if we ever get back to Philly, we will stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sonesta
1  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are pleased to read your comments about your stay. We pride ourselves on providing a "spotlessly clean and well maintained" hotel and glad to see that we delivered on this promise.

We look forward to your next stay when travel brings you to Philadelphia. Please make your reservations at Sonesta.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018 via mobile

Hotel very elegant and comfortable. Location very convenient, five minutes from town hall in commercial area. Rooms spacious and very well equipped. Parking in the hotel. Exterior pool. Many food options in the hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank mcenroute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob C, General Manager at Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are pleased to read of your experiences while staying at our hotel. Our hotel is proud of the services and location that we have to offer. It's great to read that you had the opportunity to experience the hotel and area.

We look forward to your stay with us. Please make your reservations at Sonesta.com

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews