We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“I expected more from a Ritz Carlton” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #27 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“I expected more from a Ritz Carlton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Building and location are spectacular. Right next to City Hall, public transportation and most sites are within easy walking distance. Front desk was what I'd expect from a Ritz Carlton property, cordial, welcoming, lots of smiles, and professional. I was put on a high floor in a corner room with very nice views. But the room was rather small, which was echoed in several other reviews about the rooms. The bathroom was nice with a separate deep tub and shower.

Upon arriving in my room I received a call from the front desk clerk who asked if I liked the room and was there anything I needed. I asked for a pair of slippers. They never came. When I think of the Ritz Carlton brand, I think of top notch service. I think of staff going above and beyond and I never got that during my stay at this property. The bed shams were stained roughly arranged. The corners of the beds were sloppily made and even the chocolates (milk, tasted a bit stale) placed on the night table were not neatly arranged but appeared to be strewn.

When I called for room service or someone to help me with the bath tap, the people who answered were nice enough, but they always said "bye" a little too quickly and hung up rather loudly. No one was outwardly rude but these are the small details that I would have expected a Ritz Carlton property to handle with more finesse.

The room came with a bathrobe for each person. On one morning, I was in a rush to leave and I threw the bathrobe on the bathroom floor, with one sleeve turned inside out. When I returned later that night, I noticed the bathrobe was hung up on a hook still with the sleeve inside out. Other luxury hotels will hang the robes up for you but arrange it in a tidy way. It's as if the maid just picked it up and threw it on the hook. Furthermore, there was this weird dried up soap foam that had dribbled down the front of the sink. It was gross and I noticed it right away. I touched it to see if it was a permanent mark, and it wasn't. The next day after the room had been serviced, it still wasn't wiped off.

At the restaurant, we arrived at 7:30 for dinner. The room wasn't empty but it wasn't packed either. The waitress was friendly and smiled a lot. We reviewed the drinks menu and no bread arrived. Our drink order was taken and during the time we were deciding on our meal, still no bread. After the waitress took our dinner order, she mentioned she'll send someone with bread. When the food runner arrived with our first course, I asked him if we get any bread. He simply said, "No bread?" and walked away. The waitress later rushed over with bread and butter and commented that she didn't expect the first course to come out so quickly. That's not the point. Service standard should dictate that the bread should be served at some point between seating and ordering. And wasn't it obvious our table had no bread? Again, I expect a lot more from the Ritz Carlton. I expect staff to quietly and keenly observe guest needs and carry out high service standards. This incident, while not egregious or horrible, could have happened at any busy restaurant. But the Ritz Carlton should be better than that.

On ordering room service, the server wheeled in the trolley and uncovered all the plates, pointing out what was what. That was OK, but in all my room service experience, the server always props up the side leaves of the table. She didn't do this and just walked out after I signed the check. Again, little things matter. And when I stay at a Ritz Carlton, I expect these little things.

On my final day, I dropped off 3 bags after checkout to pick up hours later. When I gave the bellman my ticket, he could only find 1. After some searching he found the second. When I gave him the description of the last bag a third time, he asked me to come into the room and look for it myself. I found it in a corner, upside down (the bag was a tote, with no closure).

Had this been a mid level Marriot or Hilton, I would give this hotel 4 stars. But I expected more from a Ritz Carlton. My suggestion to the GM is that all staff receive more specific training on what gold/platinum/diamond service standards are and what they always need to perform to execute.

Room Tip: Away from the elevator because you can hear people laughing as they wait in the hallway. A corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dgfvsxz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    351
    197
    97
    55
See reviews for
240
397
64
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
351 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

The lobby is the former Girard Bank building and is an impressive piece of architecture with wide open dome. The lobby holds the bar and Eric Ripert's bistro. During the evening, loud music is played and destroys the experience. Annoying acoustics, sports projected on the marbled wall and nightclub atmosphere made me almost run though this area do not to be subjected to this aural & visual assault. Because of this, we did not dine here.
The rooms are small but bed is fantastic. The plumbing is horrible as the pipes rattle and shake when the proper mixture if hot & cold is adjusted in the shower. This noise was not Jist a phenomena in my room as I could always tell when other guest were showering as the turned the knobs between too hot or too cold to stop the pipe rattle. Should have stated at the Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenkintown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2012

I've probably stayed at this hotel more than any other even though I live relatively locally near Philadelphia. So you may be asking, why? Well I've used the facilities to hold Board Meetings, I use the suites (including the Presidential) for weekend 'escapes' from our many wonderful but demanding kids and my wife and I used the hotel to get married in 2008!!

What I love about this hotel is its classy elegance and second to none service. From the check in (usually with a complimentary glass of champagne) to the outstanding bar - good to meet friends in or just people watch, to the restaurant and the great views of Broad Street and City Hall from the accommodations. I also like the location which is a quick walk to great restaurants - The Capital Grille is basically opposite.

What more could you ask for?? I (we - that's my wife too) fully recommend it!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor with a City Hall view. You may go to sleep with Ben Franklin looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Willowtree123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel has high price rates and excellent service but is hardly a good value. The rooms are nice but not spectacular. Serive is great from the moment you approach the front door you are reeeted tim and time again. A welcome drink is offered at check in. NO extra fee for in room bottled water.

Food quality is average at best. The eggs at the brunch were tasteless and seemed like they were powdered. Breads were decent but nothing special. Service was adequate. Perhaps one had greater expectations from such a hotel but this one provided medicore food.

A note to management about meal service was never acknowledged.

In shrt stay here for great hotle service but eat somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank njgramps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights for our daughter's graduation. The overall service was amazing - from the personalized check in, to the excellent bell boy service from Jimmy - who was cheerful and helpful always and most surprisingly a hotel painter/ handyman who we met in the lift - who asked us how our stay was going. When we said that it was going well - he actually said " what can we do to make it better !" It really was the best start to our day....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inthecompanyoffriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,136 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): $446 - $802
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing