We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Still a top Contender” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #28 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
245 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Still a top Contender”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

This was my second weekend stay at the Ritz in a years time. Service once again, tops, room value perfect, however this time the banquet food was just.... ok. Philly is known some great food, but the Ritz banquet/event food just doesn't hold water. If you are at the hotel for a catered affair, eat first and keep expectations on the average side. But aside from that, quality top to bottom!

Room Tip: Great food at the bar!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monmouthprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    567
    350
    196
    96
    55
See reviews for
236
391
64
374
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Beautiful old bank lobby concerted to the Ritz...beautiful....everything you expect from a Ritz hotel....I caught a special rate...could not hurt to ask about specials....room was large with a nice view...very clean...service as you expect....went there to see a concert in Phila. and the band was staying there!!!! enjoy...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjveltri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was my second time staying here. And all be said about hotels. Nothing beats a ritz. I stayed on the club floor in a one bedroom suite. It was clean and beautiful. I felt like like I could do this every day of my life and not get bored. The service was exceptional. I ate at the restaurant in the lobby. Im not really a fan of hotel restaurants and I didn't enjoy it. I found the selections to be very limited. If you go to Philadelphia, stay here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
266 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

I will start off by saying I've never stayed at a Ritz Carlton before and this is name wise the nicest hotel I've been in. That being said the standard room was just that. Very standard. The carpets were dingy, the arm chair worn out, and the pipes in the room were loud when you used any water. I will say I enjoyed the champagne welcome, the view of City Hall from the room and the breakfast we had the next morning at 10Arts which was included in our stay. In fact it is the best breakfast I've ever had at any hotel! If you are looking for a comfortable place to sleep with a great location in Philly this is for you. If you are looking for frills try somewhere else.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hugs4tree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

The original design of the bank building which now houses the Ritz Carlton is exceptional. Unfortunately, the hotel's current decoration and finishes are in serious need of improvement. It seems that this hotel can't decide whether it is a W or a classic Ritz. Either way, the carpet, wallpaper, trim, furniture and linens were all showing definite signs of wear and age which were unacceptable for a "5-Star" hotel, and should be replaced / upgraded / repaired as soon as possible.

Service was very friendly and prompt to reply to any of our needs. Unfortunately, like many Ritz properties, we had to request Bulgari bath products, slippers, an extra robe and towels, but they were happy to deliver them once we did.

I should also add that the location is great (right next to City Hall) and the bar has a buzzy happy hour every evening.

Over all, not horrible, but not the best either. I would definitely try the city's other 5-Star hotel before I returned to this one.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room for views of City Hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HRH2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,131 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): $444 - $776
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing