We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good value in a great city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Good value in a great city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

I stayed here for one night recently and was pleasantly surprised.

We were checked in by a polite and helpful member of staff and my room was excellent. It was clean, warm, well-furnished and in a great location near the centre of the city.

We were able to walk to a decent restaurant for dinner but can't comment on breakfast as we had to leave too early.

The only downside is the parking; we parked outside upon the advice of the receptionist, bought a ticket yet still got a parking violation fine!

Apart from this I'd recommend this Travelodge.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    168
    219
    152
    121
See reviews for
123
147
93
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

This hotel has to be the worst setup in all of Philadelphia. Surrounded entirely by one-way streets, complete with no stopping signs everywhere (parking wars anyone?), this hotel is wedged between buildings on either side and does not have four walls to call its own. Situated in China Town the streets are bustling at all times of the day. I drove around the hotel's location three times before calling them...since I couldn't pull to the curb...and cancelling my reservation. I booked through expedia who put me on hold for twenty minutes at $2.00/minute roaming charge to complete the transaction. Thank god for the Mariott Courtyard which was a few blocks away and a whole different ball game. Travelodge does NOT have on site parking. They expected me to park two blocks away, walk through the streets with my luggage/ small children and not to worry. Crackheads are literally everywhere. The homeless are a serious problem in this area of town. I could go on and on...do not stay here.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank IAMCanadian85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

This property is the only place I know if where you can get a room at a name brand hotel in Center City Philadelphia for under $100.00.

The good: As I said, you can't beat the price. The rooms are clean and the staff is friendly.

The not so good: The BIG thing for me at least is, I estimate about 60% of the rooms lack a window to the outside. This really makes the room, which is small, seem downright claustrophobic. I've stayed at motels with views of parking lots, dumpsters, and oil refineries. I'd take any of that over no view at all. All the rooms are entered from a four floor open atrium with a skylight above. This sort of acts as an echo chamber, and you can hear activity from less then considerate guests making their way around at all hours. The design sort of reminds me of the way a prison cell block might be set up. Parking is about a block away. The breakfast is the bear basics in a gloomy basement setting.

Room Tip: Not so bad if you can get a window room which I did have on an earlier visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pennsypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macau, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my female friend on 15Nov for just a night. As there aren't many value hotels with free breakfast and free high speed Internet to choose from, we looked this hotel up through trip advisor. The homeless shelter next to the hotel made us worried before we got there, but things turned out better than we expected.
First thing, location. This hotel is right next to the Philadelphia Convention Center and just a block from Reading Terminal Market. It was so easy to find! We just used the city map provided by the information desk at 30th street station and things worked out great. This hotel is also close to other landmarks like the Liberty Bell and Chinatown, all within walking distance. Right next to the hotel, there is a small convenience store that sells snacks and other amenities. This hotel is not far from the SEPTA station and it took us just 5 mins to get to 30th Street station. Really conveninent!
Price and service come next. Staying at main hotel brands doesn't fit into our budget, this hotel provided a nice, comfortable place for us to spend the night in the city. Though the room was a little dark when all lights were on, we did not care much since we spent most of our time outside anyway. The bed was comfortable and the restroom and shower were clean. The signals of the wifi were really strong that my friend and I were able to upload photos to our blogs instantly. There are not many varieities for breakfast items though, they only had bagels, muffins, yogurt, and cereals. But the toaster made my bagels alright. One thing I have to pick about the free breakfast is, their coffee is tasteless. If you are a coffee lover, I recommend that you go pick up a starbucks instead. Check out was quick and the staff was friendly. My friend and I were not even paying attention to that homeless shelter at all, the people did not bother us and our trip ended up great.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

I needed to stay in Philly one night for the marathon and the Travelodge was one of the most affordable and very convenient to where I needed to be all weekend (Convention Center and the Eakins Oval). I was a bit nervous about what I would find, but it was just fine. Better than I expected and the staff was very nice. Don't have high expectations for a luxurious stay, but as a place basically just to sleep that's affordable, I would say this is fine. Clean. Nothing fancy. One warning: I asked for a wake up call that never came. Have a back up.

Room Tip: I was on the ground floor with a window that opened on to an alley. Probably good to ask for a non g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMMgo2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Chinatown
Sleep Inn Center City
Sleep Inn Center City
#48 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
City Center East
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia City Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Rodeway Inn Center City
#47 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center

Property: Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center
Address: 1227 Race St, Philadelphia, PA 19107-1618 (Formerly Travelodge Philadelphia Convention Center)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price range (per night): $114 - $399
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Philadelphia hotel has an ideal location, directly across the street from the Philadelphia Convention Center, and walking distance to many of the city's historic attractions. Our 100% smoke-free hotel in Philadelphia is ideal for business or pleasure travel, and you'll enjoy our sunny hospitality from our multilingual staff. Our comfortable guest rooms are equipped with coffee/tea maker, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, and 32 inch flat screen HD televisions with premium cable channels. Local calls, Internet access, dry cleaning service and bottled water are complimentary for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Philadelphia Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Travelodge Hotel Philadelphia
Travel Lodge Philadelphia
Philadelphia Travelodge
Philadelphia Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing