We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mammoth Midweek Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Mammoth Lakes
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Mammoth Midweek Stay”
Reviewed 21 April 2016

My first time on the snow in the USA and all I can say is WOW! The team at the Westin, my compadres and the other revellers on the snow made this weekend a wonderfilled memory.
The Westin Monach Resort was simply perfect! Couldn't fault a single thing!! The room had a brilliant view out over the hill, was amply equipped and a fantastic place to crash after a long day getting very physical. The team at the Westin was standout, nothing was too hard and everything was followed by a genuine smile. THANK YOU!!

  • Stayed January 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelcourtenay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Thank you for your review and I appreciate you giving us the opportunity! I am happy you recognized the staff. They are very dedicated and care deeply about our guests experience. Our goal is to ensure you leave feeling better than when you arrived; it would read that we were successful. Please come and visit with us again!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    608
    330
    104
    53
    38
See reviews for
508
424
20
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2016

The Westin Resort in Mammoth was great for a recent 3 day stay. The service is good. The Bell men are quick to assist with lots of luggage including ski gear. The check-in was fast and easy and we were greeted with a glass of champagne or hot chocolate. Our 2 bedroom suite was very nice with great views from our living room and 2 balconies. The one touch gas fireplace is welcome after skiing in snowy conditions all day. The rooms were very clean, well appointed and in good condition. The kitchen was well stocked if you wanted to cook. The pool area is very nice with a heated pool and 2 Jacuzzi's. The beds of course were "heavenly" and we slept very well. The location is perfect and very easy to get to the village and gondola if you don't mind the steps. If steps are difficult the staff is more than happy to take you down the hill (or up) and also anywhere in the town. I would definitely recommend the Westin and we plan to stay there again next season!

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridesMom2AJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Thak you for the recommendation and we look forward to your next visit! I appreciate you giving us the opportunity and I am happy to read you enjoyed all the amenities of the property.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sausalito, California
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Hotel struggled with some in room climate control issues during the March 30 - April 3 time frame and it was uncomfortable at times.
With children I expected there to be more menu choices. There are plenty of kids all over the hotel but all of your typical favorites are not on the children's menu.
Due to the elevation I would bring a humidifier to help with the dry air at 9K+ ft at the hotel.
Otherwise the hotel is generally well maintained, clean, safe and staff are very personable.

Room Tip: Book via a Starwood site as an SPG Member and receive complimentary in room wifi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charliebugs_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Thank you for the feedback, bringing a humidifier is an excellent suggestion. We do have several we lend out to guests but depending on demand we can run out. Our kids menu is a brand standard. However, the brand has recognized parent are looking for certain food items while on vacation and they are in the process of adding additional items. Also, it doesn't say on the menu but we will make typical kid food items upon request. Thank you for staying at the Westin Monache. I hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2016 via mobile

The Westin was amazing. The facility and staff were very nice. Free coffee in the morning and hot chocolate and/or champagne in the afternoon. Spacious rooms for an all suite hotel. Some of the staff were not too knowledgable on restaurant recommendations but all in all a great resort and would go back. Only gave it 4/5 because there are many steps to climb after a long day.

Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank HillaryLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Thank you for the feedback and choosing the Westin. I have provided your restaurant comment to the front desk and concierge. The concierge is well versed in all F&B operations throughout Mammoth Lakes; I am thinking you may have spoken to a FD agent. We will retrain on our agents on all available options and tastes. The stairs are rough at the end of the day, that is why we offer a shuttle service to and from the gondola. If you are tired,please just give us a call and we will be down in minutes. Most folks will call us half way through their gondola ride and we will be waiting when they arrive.

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2016

Although the rooms are again and will be in need of upgrades soon (especially the kitchens and furniture in room), this hotel still remains the premier property in the area. With close access to the village and the gondola to the mountain, it is a great place as base camp for winter activities. Free shuttle service throughout town and to/from the airport is very helpful. Service was mostly good, but it seemed like forced smiles and good service. Possibly staff is just ready for a break after a busy winter season. Restaurant breakfast was excellent. Staff made dinner a real downer. The small bar in the hotel gets crowded and service is compromised; I preferred one of any number of places in the village for evening cocktails. Pool and spa were great after a day on the slopes. Fitness room is very small and too much of an afterthought- although with so many outdoor activities to do, someone rightly determined it would see little use. Beds were comfortable- as usual. Good amount of plugs for electronics throughout the room. Good lighting in the rooms and bathroom. Rain showerhead which I don't prefer, but some find appealing. Pets abound and they seem to be lax on the weight limit policy as I saw all sorts and sizes of dogs....which is fine with me. Housekeeping did quality work. All and all a great place to stay, but quality and location does not come cheap!

Room Tip: Not enough elevators for a busy hotel. Higher the room, the longer the elevator wait!
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycling bins in each room and in the lobby and at the pool
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Latitudes_Dancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick D, General Manager at Westin Monache Resort Mammoth, responded to this review, 28 April 2016
Thank you for the review; I appreciate how detailed. We are just beginning the process of renovation. We will be in line for a full renovation end of 2017. I thank you for all the great feedback and I look forward to your next visit!

Be Well!
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mammoth Lakes hotels
0.2 km away
The Village Lodge
The Village Lodge
#1 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
817 reviews
4.6 km away
Mammoth Mountain Inn
Mammoth Mountain Inn
#7 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
1,382 reviews
1.8 km away
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
Sierra Nevada Resort & Spa
#6 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Best Western Plus High Sierra Hotel
2.3 km away
Mammoth Creek Inn
Mammoth Creek Inn
#10 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
513 reviews
1.0 km away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#11 of 31 in Mammoth Lakes
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Mammoth Lakes

Been to Westin Monache Resort Mammoth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Monache Resort Mammoth

Property: Westin Monache Resort Mammoth
Address: 50 Hillside Drive, PO Box 388, Mammoth Lakes, CA 93546
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Mammoth Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Family Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
#4 Business Hotel in Mammoth Lakes
Price range (per night): $281 - $599
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Monache Resort Mammoth 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the spectacular Eastern Sierras, The Westin Monache Resort, Mammoth enjoys a prime location with stunning panoramic views of the mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Agoda, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Monache Resort Mammoth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Monache Resort Mammoth Hotel Mammoth Lakes
Westin Monache Hotel Mammoth
Westin Mammoth Lakes
Mammoth Lakes Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing