We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burrito in CA”
Review of Base Camp Cafe

Base Camp Cafe
Ranked #39 of 99 Restaurants in Mammoth Lakes
Price range: USD 5 - USD 10
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Reviewed 3 September 2015

This is a tiny little cafe with indoor & outdoor seating. It was quite busy (which is usually a good indicator of pretty good food). I ordered the California Burrito- It was the best burrito I've had in CA. Fresh tomatoes, onions, avocado , perfectly grilled steak, black beans & rice all perfectly wrapped in a big tortilla. It was the special & it cost 9.95. I would definitely recommend this cafe for fresh good food. My husband was ticked after he went to pay because the waitress added her own tip onto the ticket.
We have always been good tippers- but he was dissatisfied with how the tipping is handled.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tonna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Guest Relations Manager at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Thanks for the kind words and for pointing out the tip thing. That is not the way we roll. You were very kind but we appreciate you also mentioning so we can correct the mistake in judgment. Safe travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 46 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2015

We stopped in for breakfast, what a nice little place. The staff was welcoming, and the place was clean. The Breakfasts we had were all excellent. The eggs, and pancakes, as well as the French Toast were prepared correctly, and tasted great. This will be our new breakfast stop in Mammoth.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NoHoMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Guest Relations Manager at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Thanks! So glad you had a nice time!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2015 via mobile

The server was slow and rude the Bloody Mary was the worst ever and the food wasn't worth returning for. The only think keeping this business open is the tourists.

Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Guest Relations Manager at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Ouch. We get so many wonderful return guests. So sorry we disappointed you. We can understand if a food items isn't to someones liking as obviously tastes are very personal. But the service thing bummed us out. Our apology for the off day he or she had!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015 via mobile

There's more to a great breakfast then just fresh eggs and French toast. This place has it all great food super omelettes kinky atmosphere and very happy and attentive staff.

Thank Cosmopolitan803422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Guest Relations Manager at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

Ahhh, thanks! We blushed a bit at our "kinky atmosphere" but liked it! :) Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2015

Well made breakfast with great service. I had the eggs Benedict. Loved it. Down side is it is a small place. You may want to eat there during off peak times to avoid waiting for a table.

Thank tenchains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GomezsMammoth, Guest Relations Manager at Base Camp Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2015

We are small!!! Wish we had a little more room. So glad you liked the eggs benny. New for us and has been really well received! Safe travels...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Base Camp Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Base Camp Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing