We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavy Metal Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Casino Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Bethlehem
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Great Casino/ Hotel. THe only draw back is it is built right along side the Bethlehem Steel Corp that is abandoned. The hotel is nice but the surroundings are Heavy Metal. It would make a great Album cover for a Pink Floyd album. Reataurants were great, staff was friendly, beer selection was great, and I loved the shops. Highyl suggest checking it out. I used to love Sands at the Atlantic City Location but they demolished it so this is a great alternative and I can't wait to go Back.!!!

Room Tip: The suites are just a few bucks more but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flextime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you very much for spending your time with us at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem - We appreciate hearing from loyal guests, such as yourself! It's also great to hear that you were a fan of the Sands in Atlantic City and that we're an excellent alternative to that Casino. We invite you to stay with us again in the near future and we look forward to your return!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 738 of 784 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at this casino hotel. The casino was first rate, with a large spacious smoke-free gaming section. As a blackjack player, I can confirm that the rules at the tables were the kind you want to see. Our hotel room was modern, clean and spacious, though could have taken better advantage of the space with a little more furniture. The shower was fantastic! We had a number of meals here, including an excellent dinner at Emeril’s Italian Kitchen (reviewed separately), and the free breakfast buffet was thoroughly adequate and enjoyable. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuHuNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with all of us at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. There is no greater satisfaction than to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend getaway with us. We would be honored to host you again in the very near future and we look forward to your return!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The room was nice the bed was great. The shower did need more power. Can't wait to stay again. Everyone at the front desks were very friendly. The continental breakfast is a great perk for a casino hotel.

Room Tip: we were on the 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notseasick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

On behalf of Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, thank you for spending your birthday with us! We are pleased to hear that your stay was a success and that you enjoyed the friendly staff and complimentary continental breakfast. I just wanted to clarify that Hotel Management is aware of the water pressure issue, so they already started to fix the problem. We would like to extend an invitation to you to stay with us again in the near future and we look forward to your next visit!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

enjoyed our stay,room was clean ,bed was comfy,casino was quiet on a weekend mostly couples no large crowds of young kids .rate was reasonable for a weekend me and my wife had a enjoyable weekend thank you sands.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! We enjoy having you as our guest and I am confident that each department will delight in knowing that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. We invite you to stay with us again soon and we all look forward to your return visit!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

For the most part, our stay at the Sands was awesome. Every single staff member - the greeters and front desk workers, Casino security guards, wait staff at restaurants, Shoppes employees and housekeeping staff - was friendly and helpful, some going above and beyond.

+ Rooms: Clean and spacious, nice furniture, fridge and safe, free bottled water replenished daily, still has that "new car smell", great view of the Steel Factory.

- Rooms: VERY low water pressure in the shower, no bath tub, sink outside the toilet area for washing your hands.

Overall: Other than the low water pressure, I thoroughly enjoyed our room.

+ Restaurants: We ate at Emeril's Italian Table and loved every second of it. Kristen J, our server, and Jeff our pizza maker were more than friendly without being intrusive on our meal. Food was amazing, portions were huge, price was fantastic, ambiance was perfect.
We also ate at St James Gate and also enjoyed our meal. While our server here was the least pleasant of all employees we encountered, she was still good. We both had Bangers and Mash, and dessert, and enjoyed every bite.
The Market Gourmet Express also had a great selection of food for reasonable prices. The Sandwiches at The Market were fresh and full, and the ice cream portions were large.

- Restaurants: You need to walk through the smoking section to get to 2 of the restaurants (Emeril's Burgers and Carnegie Deli). Twice we went to eat at a restaurant, and when we got there there was a sign posted saying they were closed, sorry for the inconvenience. Having a sign posted at the entrance to the casino would have helped, so we could have avoided the smoking section and chosen a different restaurant.

Overall: Really no complaints about the quality and prices of the food here at Sands - thoroughly enjoyed every bite, and appreciated the variety offered.

+ Casino: Very large non-smoking section that was well ventilated and easily accessible.

- Casino: Payouts at slots weren't great.

Overall: I'm not a big casino person, but enjoyed the little time I spent in there.

Decor:All the decor was positive. They really showed respect to the former Bethlehem Steel Factory by incorporating a lot of ideas into their design - from the "spark" lights in the lobby, to the brick walls and concrete floors; from the statues of the steel workers, to the photos of workers and the factory buildings that lined the hotel hallways. I was very impressed, and appreciated the effort that went into showing what this town was built on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABoitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! We appreciate your thorough review and we are pleased to hear that your overall experience and hotel stay was a success. I just wanted to clarify that the issues with the water pressure have been acknowledged and the appropriate measures are being taken to fix the problem. And although we do not own or manage St. James Gate, I will forward this message to their Management team so they are able to correct the issues. If you wish to see which restaurants are open and closed for lunch/dinner on certain days, please visit http://www.pasands.com/pennsylvania-casino/restaurants/ or download the free app from the app store called: Sands Bethlehem.

Again, thank you for your detailed report of Sands Bethlehem and we invite you to stay with us again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bethlehem hotels
3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Bethlehem
2 km away
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
Hyatt Place Bethlehem
#4 of 14 in Bethlehem
936 reviews
2 km away
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
Historic Hotel Bethlehem
#1 of 14 in Bethlehem
1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Comfort Suites University
Comfort Suites University
#13 of 14 in Bethlehem
251 reviews
6 km away
Hampton Inn and Suites Bethlehem
5.9 km away
Best Western Lehigh Valley Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Casino Resort

Address: 77 Sands Blvd, Bethlehem, PA 18015-7705
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Pennsylvania > Bethlehem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Bethlehem
Price Range: $180 - $489 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sands Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem designed its hotel to set a new standard for luxury and style. Complimentary Continental Breakfast and Wireless Internet are included. The 302 rooms include 16 Executive Suites and 6 Presidential Suites, each of which has the latest in modern amenities like wireless internet, media-hubs and high-definition flat-screen televisions. When you select the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem you are assured an extraordinary experience. Each of the resort's spacious guest rooms is elegantly decorated in a stylish combination of rich dark woods and neutral tones - the perfect choice for a weekend escape or business retreat. Luxury, Style and Class come together to create an unparalleled hotel in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. The Sands offers a wide array of dining from casual to upscale at five distinct locations and the convenience of a food court. Savor a tender cut of prime steak or fresh seafood at Emeril's Chop House. Visit Chef Emeril Lagasse's newest restaurant, Emeril's Italian Table, with its rustic Italian-inspired fare including antipasti, cured meats and artisanal cheeses, fresh made pastas and more. Enjoy a distinctive twist on all-American favorites at Burgers And More by Emeril. Stop by St. James Gate Irish Pub and Carvery for an authentic Irish meal. The Sands is home to a New York City iconic eatery, Carnegie Deli - the perfect stop for something quick and delicious. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sands Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem Hotel Bethlehem

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing