We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (853)
Filter reviews
853 results
Traveller rating
245
349
147
57
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
245
349
147
57
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfood courtoutlet mallatlantic citytable gamescarnegie delichop houseevent centernon smoking sectionirish pubself parkingbethlehem steelconcert venuesands casinoroom keygreat weekendbagelsstay overnight
Filter
Updating list...
801 - 806 of 853 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend stay at this casino hotel. The casino was first rate, with a large spacious smoke-free gaming section. As a blackjack player, I can confirm that the rules at the tables were the kind you want to see. Our hotel room was modern, clean and spacious, though could have taken better advantage of the space with a little more furniture. The shower was fantastic! We had a number of meals here, including an excellent dinner at Emeril’s Italian Kitchen (reviewed separately), and the free breakfast buffet was thoroughly adequate and enjoyable. Can’t wait to go back!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RuHuNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your positive experience with all of us at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem. There is no greater satisfaction than to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your weekend getaway with us. We would be honored to host you again in the very near future and we look forward to your return!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our stay. The room was nice the bed was great. The shower did need more power. Can't wait to stay again. Everyone at the front desks were very friendly. The continental breakfast is a great perk for a casino hotel.

Room Tip: we were on the 15th floor
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notseasick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

On behalf of Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem, thank you for spending your birthday with us! We are pleased to hear that your stay was a success and that you enjoyed the friendly staff and complimentary continental breakfast. I just wanted to clarify that Hotel Management is aware of the water pressure issue, so they already started to fix the problem. We would like to extend an invitation to you to stay with us again in the near future and we look forward to your next visit!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

enjoyed our stay,room was clean ,bed was comfy,casino was quiet on a weekend mostly couples no large crowds of young kids .rate was reasonable for a weekend me and my wife had a enjoyable weekend thank you sands.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience with us at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! We enjoy having you as our guest and I am confident that each department will delight in knowing that they contributed to the enjoyment of your stay. We invite you to stay with us again soon and we all look forward to your return visit!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

For the most part, our stay at the Sands was awesome. Every single staff member - the greeters and front desk workers, Casino security guards, wait staff at restaurants, Shoppes employees and housekeeping staff - was friendly and helpful, some going above and beyond.

+ Rooms: Clean and spacious, nice furniture, fridge and safe, free bottled water replenished daily, still has that "new car smell", great view of the Steel Factory.

- Rooms: VERY low water pressure in the shower, no bath tub, sink outside the toilet area for washing your hands.

Overall: Other than the low water pressure, I thoroughly enjoyed our room.

+ Restaurants: We ate at Emeril's Italian Table and loved every second of it. Kristen J, our server, and Jeff our pizza maker were more than friendly without being intrusive on our meal. Food was amazing, portions were huge, price was fantastic, ambiance was perfect.
We also ate at St James Gate and also enjoyed our meal. While our server here was the least pleasant of all employees we encountered, she was still good. We both had Bangers and Mash, and dessert, and enjoyed every bite.
The Market Gourmet Express also had a great selection of food for reasonable prices. The Sandwiches at The Market were fresh and full, and the ice cream portions were large.

- Restaurants: You need to walk through the smoking section to get to 2 of the restaurants (Emeril's Burgers and Carnegie Deli). Twice we went to eat at a restaurant, and when we got there there was a sign posted saying they were closed, sorry for the inconvenience. Having a sign posted at the entrance to the casino would have helped, so we could have avoided the smoking section and chosen a different restaurant.

Overall: Really no complaints about the quality and prices of the food here at Sands - thoroughly enjoyed every bite, and appreciated the variety offered.

+ Casino: Very large non-smoking section that was well ventilated and easily accessible.

- Casino: Payouts at slots weren't great.

Overall: I'm not a big casino person, but enjoyed the little time I spent in there.

Decor:All the decor was positive. They really showed respect to the former Bethlehem Steel Factory by incorporating a lot of ideas into their design - from the "spark" lights in the lobby, to the brick walls and concrete floors; from the statues of the steel workers, to the photos of workers and the factory buildings that lined the hotel hallways. I was very impressed, and appreciated the effort that went into showing what this town was built on.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ABoitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback on the Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! We appreciate your thorough review and we are pleased to hear that your overall experience and hotel stay was a success. I just wanted to clarify that the issues with the water pressure have been acknowledged and the appropriate measures are being taken to fix the problem. And although we do not own or manage St. James Gate, I will forward this message to their Management team so they are able to correct the issues. If you wish to see which restaurants are open and closed for lunch/dinner on certain days, please visit http://www.pasands.com/pennsylvania-casino/restaurants/ or download the free app from the app store called: Sands Bethlehem.

Again, thank you for your detailed report of Sands Bethlehem and we invite you to stay with us again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We booked a room to come to PA and celebrate our anniversary. When we arrived we were greeted by Gary in the lobby. We checked in and he was very thorough about going over the amenities and the security at the hotel. He then, to our surprise and pleasure, wished us a happy anniversary. I must of mentioned it during the booking of the room but, what a wonderful thing to note this and have a personal greeting for us. It really made us feel special.

The room was very well kept, spacious and very clean. We had a nice view of the river and the town. We were disappointed to find there was not an extra blanket in the closet (as we grown accustomed to finding in most rooms we've stayed).

The service and the staff in the hotel and at Emeril's restaurants were top shelf. I would highly recommend both the chop house and the Italian restaurants.

We had a disappointing encounter in The St James Gate Irish Pub on the night of our anniversary. We stopped and left our name at the hostess station telling them it was our anniversary. When we were seated we were seated in a very noisy bar. I asked to be moved and got a very aloof "you'll have to wait 30 minutes". We left in disgust.

The area near the hotel is being reclaimed for commercial use. It was at one time all steel works. There are beautiful old buildings and an impressive old power generating plant. We walked through this area and loved it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTTravelers_too
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SandsGuestServicesPA, Public Relations Manager at Sands Casino Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for allowing us to host you during your anniversary and for taking the time to share your experience with us at Sands Casino Resort Bethlehem! I am humbled to have received such thoughtful comments from a valued guest, such as yourself, and I am especially pleased to hear that you received excellent customer service from our staff. Although we do not own and operate St. James Gate, I will forward your comments to their Management team to handle the customer service issue. Again, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your special day with us and we invite you to stay with us again soon!

Kindest Regards,
Kellie S.
Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews